Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant- best buy for science students
This book is fantastic. It covers not just the basic three science subjects but has geology, geography, medicine, botony, meteorology and loads others. I would recommend this book for A-level and degree students of all science disciplines.
Published on 17 April 2010 by iwishiwasaweasley

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars print too small
Good general book, hand for my 14 year son do done his GCSE with, not that good for me doing A level studies.
Published 14 months ago by fibbyspin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant- best buy for science students, 17 April 2010
This review is from: A Dictionary of Science (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
This book is fantastic. It covers not just the basic three science subjects but has geology, geography, medicine, botony, meteorology and loads others. I would recommend this book for A-level and degree students of all science disciplines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful student aid., 4 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Science (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
This is a handy little assistant for any science student. I found it useful when doing an OU science module and I think it would be essential kit for any child going into senior school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought because it was cheap, but worth far more, 28 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Science (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
(I have the 2005 edition - I believe an updated one has been released since then.)

----What is it?----
I bought this out of curiosity, because it was cheap, and because I love science in general but have never had the time to read over much of it!

Having just received this I cannot give a full review (and being near 1000 pages it will be a long time until I can) but from what I've seen so far it seems excellent.

Personally, I'm convinced I will love this book. It's like a mini-Wikipedia full of things I'm interested in, but rather than each article being the length of a dozen pages of A4, each is small, concise, easy to understand, and to the point.

As others have stated, the cross-referencing is excellent. It's perfectly possible to jump into this book to find out about quantum mechanics, and come out very clued up on the Triassic period!

Finally, I've never bought a dictionary like this before, but this seems to take the word "dictionary" to an odd place. I'd say "Concise Encyclopaedia" would be better!

----Who's it for?----
Probably A-level or undergrad students, especially those interested in sciences they are not directly studying. Much of this content would be found on an undergrad course. This is not an A-level textbook, but would be approachable from A-level.

(This means that, to an average person, the first definition they seek could well be impenetrable without a few other definitions first... but then they find each of these just as impenetrable!)

And yes, some of the definitions, especially those in Physics, can get mathematical. This is to be expected: you can't publish a book aimed at students and sciencey people and neglect to mention the actual forms of Maxwell's equations, for instance. The publishers did the right thing, but I mention it because this may be intimidating for some people.

(I'll revise this review if and when I have used this product sufficiently, and if and when I remember.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great science dictionary., 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Science (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
I am really pleased with this book. I teache science and was looking for something to keep in my classroom, this is great for that job. It arrived promptly and is perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Science Dictonary, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Science (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
Very useful for my son at university, however later discovered this exact book much cheaper copies at uni book shop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Science (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
Not as good as the smaller, Penguin version of the 1970
But I suppose it has more in it especially in the biology subjects
Not exactly a pocket edition though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing wrong with it, 5 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Science (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
Great reference for when you need it. Nice and clear writing for normally sighted people. Quite compact and stores well amongst other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dictionary, 25 Oct. 2011
This review is from: A Dictionary of Science (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
This is excelent. I have sent these items to another country and they are very happy with it and delievered on time also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and very useful, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Science (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
For my graddaughter. Very good and very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Science (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
Useful but doesn't cover everything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dictionary of Science (Oxford Quick Reference)
A Dictionary of Science (Oxford Quick Reference) by Elizabeth A. Martin (Paperback - 7 Jan. 2010)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews