Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Thesaurus of English
We have been using an old Thesaurus for years and it was really getting "tatty" SO decided to buy a new edition !
Really excellent and much updated. Would not be without it 1
Published on 20 Dec 2010 by Colin T

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for serious wordies
I recently purchased this Thesaurus and was disappointed to find that there are so many simple words missing.
To test a book like this I always look up the word ' sobriquet ' first, not in the main category but eventually found as a description for another word.Also local words like 'nesh'are missing but can be found in another well known thesaurus. These are just...
Published on 3 Jan 2011 by kudos243


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for serious wordies, 3 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Thesaurus of English (Hardcover)
I recently purchased this Thesaurus and was disappointed to find that there are so many simple words missing.
To test a book like this I always look up the word ' sobriquet ' first, not in the main category but eventually found as a description for another word.Also local words like 'nesh'are missing but can be found in another well known thesaurus. These are just two examples there are many more.
The binding is first class and should last many years, it is a great shame that the contents are not nearly as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Thesaurus of English, 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Oxford Thesaurus of English (Hardcover)
We have been using an old Thesaurus for years and it was really getting "tatty" SO decided to buy a new edition !
Really excellent and much updated. Would not be without it 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reference, 29 Dec 2009
By 
A. Sturley "Tony Sturley" (Telscombe Cliffs, Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Thesaurus of English (Hardcover)
How did I ever manage without it? A well produced and organised comprehensive thesaurus. I find it hard not to get side-tracked from my intended search each time I use the volume because something else interesting always catches my eye. A great investment that will serve for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: Oxford Thesaurus of English (Hardcover)
Fantastic book. The best thesaurus I've ever come across, without a shadow of a doubt. I wholeheartedly recommend this book, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but Collins is better, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Bristly Badger (Deep underground, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Thesaurus of English (Hardcover)
I've been using Collins Thesaurus of the English Language: Complete & Unabridged to support my writing (me edition was published in 1996) for years now, with my version called Collins Roget's Thesaurus. Having bought this Oxford version for my other office, I prefer the Collins approach.

Collins' Index at the back is more comprehensive and refers you to clearly numbered sections at the front, divided into Categories, where a vast range of words and idioms is offered. The Oxford, in contrast, simply has a dictionary style listing words and phrases, with all the words and a few idioms listed after each one. Cross referencing is harder, although Oxford tries to make it easier by offering Word Links which are altogether too limited. There's an odd section slap bang in the middle called a Word Toolkit, which is pretty futile.

The first word I looked up in the Oxford was "you", and it wasn't there.

In contrast, Collins refers me to 864.5 where there were a dozen alternative words and idioms along with other conjugations. Also in the dictionary of Collins, along with "you", were four idioms sending me to other sections of the Thesaurus. Overall, then, Collins offers a far more extensive selection and the Thesaurus itself is set out in a way which prompts further exploration. And at a fiver less than the Oxford (in Jan 2010) it's better value, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Thesaurus of English (hardback), 23 Sep 2011
This review is from: Oxford Thesaurus of English (Hardcover)
This book was excellent value,arrived promptly in immaculate condition.It cost me half of what it would have cost to buy in the shops and minus the postage I would have had to have paid when sending to a relative in another city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very, very useful, 30 Dec 2009
This review is from: Oxford Thesaurus of English (Hardcover)
I really like this great, useful book. It has changed the way I use language, which I have found useful - and that's great for a writer! I found its layout useful, and the clarity of the text was great - I liked that. It is useful to be able to find synonyms using alphabetical order, a great idea. It can even be useful when trying to think of synonyms to solve a crossword. All in all this book has been of great use to me changing the way I write, and I greatly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete, fit to purpose, 8 Dec 2010
By 
Atlante (paris, france) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oxford Thesaurus of English (Hardcover)
Just the reference we needed for my daughter who is eleven, complete enough to serve and catch the interest of the rest of the family and at a good Amazon price ! Happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensable guide, 25 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Thesaurus of English (Hardcover)
An excellent thesaurus with the addition of very useful thematic lists. I find I refer to this far more than my old, much more limited paperback thesaurus. It is also handy for exploring alternative or unusual words with my grandchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful, 16 Feb 2011
By 
sals (oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oxford Thesaurus of English (Hardcover)
I purchased this Thesaurus because I am studying for several diplomas which require answers to be written in ones own words, unfortunately the words used in the questions or examples are often the words I would have used in my answers, so this book has been so very useful in helping me in my studies to find alternative words with the same meaning.
Its very easy to use and clearly presented.
I'd recommend it to anyone studying or just to expand ones vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Thesaurus of English
Oxford Thesaurus of English by Oxford Dictionaries (Hardcover - 13 Aug 2009)
20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews