Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Bar-Mitzvah present
This was part of a Bar-Mitzvah present for a great-nephew. It seemed a grown-up present for a bright 13-year old.
Published 16 months ago by Timothy Halford

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor quality product
I was very pleased to find that The Oxford Bible Atlas had been updated to a Fourth Edition, having been a possessor of the Third Edition for some years. I placed an order looking forward to pleasant time perusing its pages. I am sad to say that the general quality of the paper, printed pictures and text is so poor that I would not encourage anyone to purchase one...
Published on 10 Aug 2011 by Bethany Stjohn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor quality product, 10 Aug 2011
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Hardcover)
I was very pleased to find that The Oxford Bible Atlas had been updated to a Fourth Edition, having been a possessor of the Third Edition for some years. I placed an order looking forward to pleasant time perusing its pages. I am sad to say that the general quality of the paper, printed pictures and text is so poor that I would not encourage anyone to purchase one without seeing it first. There are a number of errors:

*page 17 is spoiled by printers ink smudge on the bottom margin of the page and also within the text.

*p. 65 has no immediate continuation on p. 66 an the reader has to search for it.

* the majority of landscape pictures are too 'blue' giving an overall blue effect.

* some of the pages are in a strange and contrasting an random cream colour that is in noticeable contrast to the majority of white pages

* the quality of the paper is probably 90gm or 100gm weight which will not withstand heavy usage by Bible students

* the stitch binding is of very poor quality thread and tension so that the pages are not secure.

I would not advise anyone to purchase this Atlas without seeing one first and checking with the seller.

However, that said, the content is excellent and informative and only adds to the disappointment of the product quality.

My volume was printed through Phoenix Offset, China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bar-Mitzvah present, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
This was part of a Bar-Mitzvah present for a great-nephew. It seemed a grown-up present for a bright 13-year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Yemso (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
Brilliant atlas, very user friendly. Nicely set out in a thoughtful arrangement. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to put places to names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nicely presented but bit short on substance?, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
I wanted something between an academic tome and a picture book and to be honest this was more on the picture book side but my problem not the books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is accessible and beautifully illustrated. I do feel the maps could have ..., 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
I bought this to expand my knowledge of biblical times, and to put events in a geographical perspective. It is accessible and beautifully illustrated. I do feel the maps could have been bigger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Bible Atlas, 9 Aug 2011
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
The book was well advertised on the internet and is well written. It presents a good overview of the historical content connected with the maps illustrated.
Many of the maps have been taken by satallite which gives a good picture of how a certain country relates to its neighbours.
It is an ideal book for modern Bible students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Bible Atlas, 6 April 2011
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
This is a beautifully illustrated book. It is an excellent guide to the background of the books of the Old and New Testaments. It not only covers geographical studies but also those of ancient history and archaeology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Biblical geography with history., 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
Full of interesting revelations of the history and geography of the Bible lands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital tool for your Holy Bible study, 11 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. A. S. Milne "Andrew S M" (Strood, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
Superb definition pictures and clear concise text make this a vital tool as part of your study of the Holy Bible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Bible Atlas
Oxford Bible Atlas by Adrian Curtis (Paperback - 16 April 2009)
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews