Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use/format and layout. DOES THE JOB PERFECTLY!
I ordered this to assist my daughter (9 years old) with her literacy work at school - the benefit of the Dictionary AND Thesaurus was to encourage her use of more descriptive words! The lay out is fab (and so easy to us) ........... find a word and the thesarus is directly under the word! (How easy) Very happy with it.
Published on 6 Nov 2009 by Jacspratt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed. Expecting to find aomprehensive dictionary/thesaurus
Very disappointed. Expecting to find aomprehensive dictionary/thesaurus, I found a minimal number of entries.
I have gone back to my battered and separate OED and Thesauras which contain infinitely more information.
Finally, for about the sixth time, can I mention again that my name is misspelt, Leslie, not Leeslie. A poor effort
for a world-wide...
Published 3 months ago by Leeslie Rowland


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Dictionary/Thesaurus., 17 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
Excellent source of reference.i have the mini version of this dictionaey
thought i would get the large one as well,Amazon ounce agin excelled at delivery
just a couple of days!Top job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for an 8 year old, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
This book doesn't contain every word, but the common ones my son appears to be coming up against in Y3 & Y4. He particularly struggles with adjectives and he has found this book really useful. Not only does he use it to look up words for their definition, but the thesaurus section directly under the definition helps him understand the meaning a lot more quickly. Very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars can not be without it, 22 Jun 2011
By 
naptha 2 (nothumberland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
Seeing i am a rotten speller.It is invaluable to me, very easy to use
how would i write reviews without it.The synonyms are helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase!, 4 May 2011
By 
S. Argenio - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
I'm completely pleased with this purchase. It is an excellent dictionary+thesaurus as you don't have to use two different ones to look for definitions AND synonyms, which is always uncomfortable. That is great and exactly what I was looking for. It has the words I need and more, and the price is not too high. It's a really good value for price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for my son's homework, 3 Feb 2011
By 
R. Bell (Torquay, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
My 9 year old started bringing home homework asking him for definitions of words. Our old dictionary was far to wordy and confusing so I bought this one for him instead. It is great. The definitions are clear and I love the thesaurus bit as it helps my son then put the word into context. Really easy to use, would throughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars best dictionary ever, 15 Dec 2010
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
it comes with thesaurus which really helps in paraphrasing sentences when you need to use another word of the same meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A steal for your buck !, 3 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
If you're looking for something more than a dictionary can offer. Look no further, this is all you need for casual reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Thesaurus, 13 July 2010
By 
R. Goodman (Suffolk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
The Oxford Paperback Dictionary and Thesaurus is cheap and cheerful and is invaluable for the crossword addict. This is my second one as the last one fell to bits. Therefore, do not force the book open, or the spine will break and the whole thing falls to bits. ( This was MY fault and not a complaint about the construction of the book!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good dictionary, 6 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
Very useful item for students who only want to use it like an additional help to their studies. It's a simple dictionary, i mean, sometimes you can't find the word (only if it's pretty complicate), but most of times, you always will find what you're loooking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars get this instead of two books, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
Very good arrangement here. Can look up word and get meaning. The thesaurus part for that word is directly underneath. You don't have to go to a different section or book. Really user friendly for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus
Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus by Oxford Dictionaries (Paperback - 11 Jun 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews