Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use/format and layout. DOES THE JOB PERFECTLY!
I ordered this to assist my daughter (9 years old) with her literacy work at school - the benefit of the Dictionary AND Thesaurus was to encourage her use of more descriptive words! The lay out is fab (and so easy to us) ........... find a word and the thesarus is directly under the word! (How easy) Very happy with it.
Published on 6 Nov 2009 by Jacspratt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed. Expecting to find aomprehensive dictionary/thesaurus
Very disappointed. Expecting to find aomprehensive dictionary/thesaurus, I found a minimal number of entries.
I have gone back to my battered and separate OED and Thesauras which contain infinitely more information.
Finally, for about the sixth time, can I mention again that my name is misspelt, Leslie, not Leeslie. A poor effort
for a world-wide...
Published 2 months ago by Leeslie Rowland


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use/format and layout. DOES THE JOB PERFECTLY!, 6 Nov 2009
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
I ordered this to assist my daughter (9 years old) with her literacy work at school - the benefit of the Dictionary AND Thesaurus was to encourage her use of more descriptive words! The lay out is fab (and so easy to us) ........... find a word and the thesarus is directly under the word! (How easy) Very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid aid for all writers, 14 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
I bought the Oxford Dictionary & Thesaurus for my ten year old grandson to help him expand his vocabulary. It is beautifully presented and easy to navigate. The letter key index (down the right hand edge of the book) helps enormously to quickly find the section you want. My grandson was familiar with and able to use a dictionary, but found using a separate thesaurus a little bewildering. The Oxford Dictionary AND Thesaurus is an ideal literary tool as each word definition is followed by alternative choices:all in the one place. An ideal gift for any school child (or adult) who needs a little help in developing their literary skills. I highly recommend the Oxford Dictionary & Thesaurus. GrannyBee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great combination of dictionary and Thesaurus, 12 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
Ordered this for my 8 yr old daughter and was pleasantly surprised with the layout...found easy to use and the combined meaning and thesaurus...works very well.Have to say...daughter initially felt dictionary own its own was better option...but since using few times... has familiarised with the format and is now very happy with it.

Downside in terms of content ...none...accept being paperback the binding and cover crease quite easiy on the corners....but at this price and combined with fast delivery from Amazon ...excellent value!

All homes should have one ..very useful for one and all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does excatly what i purchased it for., 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
I'm start college in September of this year and two of my subject are english lit and english lang so i thought i needed to be buying a dictionary- not just that, i needed to expand on my vocabulary drastically. I bought this because it had a thesaurus as well and the price was decent; and i can say i have had no problems with it- it fulfills it's purpose! Fast delivery by the service! All around a happy customer!:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oxford dictionary and thesaurus, 21 Jan 2010
By 
Elly B (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
great value for money, as was considerably cheaper than in the shops.
great delivery aswell
overall 10 out of 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed. Expecting to find aomprehensive dictionary/thesaurus, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
Very disappointed. Expecting to find aomprehensive dictionary/thesaurus, I found a minimal number of entries.
I have gone back to my battered and separate OED and Thesauras which contain infinitely more information.
Finally, for about the sixth time, can I mention again that my name is misspelt, Leslie, not Leeslie. A poor effort
for a world-wide. renowned company. Leslie Rowland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A properly useful resource!, 23 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
A dictionary-come-thesaurus will never exactly set ones pulse racing with excitement, however if you are in the market for a point of reference for most common (and many un-common) words, this book may just fit the bill. It would be a pretty good buy as a stand-alone dictionary, but the added element of the thesaurus makes this a very good buy indeed. Good coverage yet small enough to carry around. Put it this way - if I lost my copy I would immediately buy the same again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as complete as expected, 29 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
I bought this dictionary as a replacement for a very outdated one (by 25 years!). It is good and I like the combined thesaurus. However, it seems to be missing some words/expressions I would have expected to find and the definitions are sometime too concise and missing alternate meaning/description. So a little disappointed but good overall. Bulky for a little book due to combining dictionary and thesaurus but difficult to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knowledge, 31 Dec 2009
By 
Noddy "Nadine Fernie" (Glasgow - Scotland uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
Well not much you can say about a Dictionary, really blumming handy! The service was very, very good came as describe. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical dictionary!, 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus (Paperback)
Very practical dictionary. The words are explained in a simple way. There are synonyms and antonyms for the words and notes how to write words correctly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus
Oxford Paperback Dictionary & Thesaurus by Oxford Dictionaries (Paperback - 11 Jun 2009)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews