Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful gift!
I just had to add a few comments about this book which i received as a gift from my wife. Whow! Its big (and heavy), the sort of bible you would expect to find on a Church lectern. Well done to Oxford University Press in producing a fab facsimile just in time for the King James Bible's 400th anniversary. I don't think even Cambridge or Collins have anything that comes...
Published on 14 Feb 2011 by Laird Andrew

versus
38 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great text, averagely made book
Great to have the 1611 original text converted line by line to readable Roman alphabet, instead of squinting at a facsimile.

The book itself was made in China, and whilst very good value, it feels quite cheaply made to use.

If you are looking at this title for scholarly use, you wont be disapointed, but if not, please be aware that it is not of high...
Published on 14 Nov 2010 by LR


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful gift!, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary Edition (Bible Kjv) (Leather Bound)
I just had to add a few comments about this book which i received as a gift from my wife. Whow! Its big (and heavy), the sort of bible you would expect to find on a Church lectern. Well done to Oxford University Press in producing a fab facsimile just in time for the King James Bible's 400th anniversary. I don't think even Cambridge or Collins have anything that comes even close in comparison to celebrate the KJV 400th birthday.

Just a note to Rashi, the page print problem which you mentioned in your copy has now been resolved. All the parts present and accounted for in my edition. The quality of the book, both in paper, print and binding is just superb. I think these will sell out very very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars *Almost* a worthy tribute to the king!, 11 Jan 2011
By 
The New Rashi (Golders Green, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary Edition (Bible Kjv) (Leather Bound)
Length:: 6:57 Mins

Decided to give a little video review of OUP's 400th Aniversiry Edition of the KJV!King James Bible: 400th Anniversary Edition (Bible Kjv)

I can confirm that since I made this video, the binding error which was present in my bible appears to have been fixed and OUP have finally sent me a new copy! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four Hundred Years of Tradition, 23 Jun 2012
By 
C. Elmore "book fossicker" (Melbourne, Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary Edition (Bible Kjv) (Leather Bound)
The thinking behind this edition of the Bible is to reproduce the exact text of the first King James version, including all spelling mistakes and even extending down to preservation of the line endings of the original. It also includes all the prefatory matter from the original, such as Biblical genealogies and the original artwork taken from wooden blockwork plates. The only thing it doesn't reproduce accurately is the original use of the blackletter script, since this was felt too difficult or cumbersome for a modern audience to read when compared to the more accessible and familiar roman script which was finally chosen. As a fan of reproductions and facsimiles, I would have been prepared to grapple with the blackletter, but, for most modern readers, I think the decision to go with roman script was probably the right one.

Be prepared for some unfamiliar printing and language forms which differ from modern usage. One is the old printer's transposition of "u" and "v" which was the usual practice during the seventeenth century when this Bible was first printed, and which gives rise to forms such as "euery" for "every" and "vnder" for "under." A similar transposition occurs with the modern "J" which is usually rendered in the seventeenth-century "I" as in "Iewes" for "Jewes." Some modern readers unused to these old practices may find the mental gymnastics involved in making this switch vexing at times, but regular reading soon accustoms the mind to the old ways so that eventually it becomes second nature. You will also find plenty of examples of seventeenth-century spelling and usage here, such as "mee" for "me" and "yee" for "you." On the whole, these are easy to interpret and rarely cause problems to a modern reader.

Oxford have done a wonderful job with the reproduction. The cover is done in a fine-grained leather and the pages use good quality paper (with perhaps a little too much see-through for my taste, but very sturdy). The Bible comes with its own slip case which is a good way to keep the lovely leather covers protected, and, unlike some new slip cases supplied straight from the publisher, this one is loose enough so that you don't have to struggle to get the book in and out, but not so loose that the book will fall out. The edges of the pages are gilt (gold paint only, not leaf, unfortunately!) which has a mildly annoying tendency to make the pages stick together a little, so that on opening or riffling through, there is a faint but distinct snapping sound as the pages separate. This is not a huge drawback and I am sure that, as the book is used more and more, this snapping effect will diminish and disappear over time. The dimensions of the book are bigger than most modern books, but, surprisingly, the weight is not a problem, thanks to the thin but solid paper stock which has been used. Still, you wouldn't want to carry the thing around on the bus.

Speaking for myself and several friends to whom I have showed my new Bible, I can confidently predict that most people will find the text beautifully clear and easy to read. The original page layout which is reproduced here is done in two columns with generous white space around the margins, and with printed borders around the columns. Headings appear as they did in the original at the top of the page, and alternative textual construals of English from the old Hebrew or Greek appear as side notes. The publishers have provided two red ribbon bookmarks sewn into the top of the binding, so you can break off your reading session and return to it later without having to leave the book open on a table (which, over the long term, is not so good for the binding).

For those who grew up hearing the ringing tones of the original King James version from the pulpit or lectern, reading this version is a welcome return to childhood days. There is something about the wonderful turns of phrase and the rhythm of the language that brings back such powerful memories of church and Sunday school. Alas, the language is now verging on the obsolete and, for readers not familiar with the old ways of expression, it does take a certain mental attention before the meaning of the King James text becomes clear. In any case, if the meaning is not clear at any stage, a reader can have a modern translation open at the same time for comparison purposes, which is what I do for a lot of the time. Many literary scholars have made mention of the enduring effect of the King James text on the English language and even today it reads well, despite the old forms it employs. Millions of people today still prefer the King James version for literary or religious reasons, and many others, such as myself, love the memories of the past that it invokes. For anyone who fits these categories, I would recommend this edition as a stylish and easy-to-read edition. It it also a beautiful object in its own right and will look well in any book collector's showcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasing twist on a old theme, 30 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary Edition (Bible Kjv) (Leather Bound)
I bought this as a present for my husband, but we both like to read it, as it houses a treasure-trove of discoveries. We have both enjoyed the beautiful typeface and the fascination of the historic notes. It is strangely disorientating to have the layout so different to the way bibles are today. For any one interested in bible history, this is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a bible, 14 Oct 2011
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary Edition (Bible Kjv) (Leather Bound)
As a regular church goer who reads lessons I was interested in the KJV production. I bought it as a birthday present for a close friend and was so impressed I bought one for myself. Beautifully bound with gold blocking it contains not only the Old and New testaments but also the books of the Apocrypha. It is presented in a stiff cardboard open ended box for protection. The pages are full of cross-referencing. But apart from the historical script the book is full of tables of lessons, psalms, and months with appointed readings, and genealogical tables for significant biblical characters. For anyone inerested in the bible it is a must. Bob Johnson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless at a reasonable price., 12 Oct 2011
By 
R. Empson (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary Edition (Bible Kjv) (Leather Bound)
I viewed the most excellent video review on this product (if you haven't watched it take a look) and based on that and the comments regardign the printing issues being corrected thought I would take the plunge.

All I can say is that for under 30.00 you get a LOT of bible for your money. I myself am an Anglican and have spent as long as I can remember listening to and reading the KJV so to own this beautiful and authentic version is worth every penny.

Yes the print is in times new roman but for me that just means that I will enjoy reading it all the more and won't have to struggle and squint at the old "gothic" type print. 5 stars all the way for me and two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing library, 1 Aug 2011
By 
Dr. A. Wenman (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary Edition (Bible Kjv) (Leather Bound)
The origin of the books included in the Bible is a fascinating study in is own right, but the compiling and production of the Authorised Version - the King James Bible - leaves us with a record of what some call literally "The Word of God" and others take as the word of men about their ideas and experience of God. The book is fascinating from many points of view. The alluring beauty of the English, with its quaint (to us) spellings and its sheer poetry, and the tables which set out the church lectionary, the genealogy of Biblical figures, and perhaps most delightfully, the table headed "To finde Eafter for euer" - all contain their own areas of interest. What one makes of the meaning of the texts depends on one's attitude to the Jewish and Christian religions, but just to hold the book (it is heavy and not for reading in bed!!) is to hold a link with the country's and our society's historic past, not withstanding its 21st century production. It is a privilege to own the book.King James Bible: 400th Anniversary Edition (Bible Kjv)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great text, averagely made book, 14 Nov 2010
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary Edition (Bible Kjv) (Leather Bound)
Great to have the 1611 original text converted line by line to readable Roman alphabet, instead of squinting at a facsimile.

The book itself was made in China, and whilst very good value, it feels quite cheaply made to use.

If you are looking at this title for scholarly use, you wont be disapointed, but if not, please be aware that it is not of high "presentation copy" quality, despite coming in a slip case and looking handsome at first glance.

Having said that it is tremendous value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Memorabilia, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary Edition (Bible Kjv) (Leather Bound)
This addition of the King James Version of the Holy Bible is a great memorabilia for me and my family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb production., 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary Edition (Bible Kjv) (Leather Bound)
An excellent reproduction of the chosen tex. I would have preferred the earlier printing in black letter rather than this in modern Roman type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King James Bible: 400th Anniversary Edition (Bible Kjv)
King James Bible: 400th Anniversary Edition (Bible Kjv) by Gordon Campbell (Leather Bound - 28 Oct 2010)
48.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews