Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ¡Muy bien!
Having the original poems and the translations side by side is very useful. Overall this is a nicely laid out, good selection of Lorca poetry. Background information at the front, notes at the back and, as well as a context page, an index of names and another of first lines. Pretty much everything you would expect. Very good value.
Published on 28 Feb 2010 by BurglarBill

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for the aficionado
My interest in Lorca followed my reading the splendid Ghosts of Spain by Giles Tremlett and a documentary presented by Michael Portillo. There are excellent biographies on Lorca by Ian Gibson but I wanted to sample his writings first hand. The parallel text works really well but it is not a book you will sit down and read from cover to cover. Certainly worth buying for...
Published on 21 Dec 2009 by Run Mal Run


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ¡Muy bien!, 28 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems: with parallel Spanish text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Having the original poems and the translations side by side is very useful. Overall this is a nicely laid out, good selection of Lorca poetry. Background information at the front, notes at the back and, as well as a context page, an index of names and another of first lines. Pretty much everything you would expect. Very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once again you have triunpth with another publication, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems: with parallel Spanish text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Selected poems are for me an aid to learning Spanish. I love it! and cannot put the book down, ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection of Lorca's poems, 20 May 2014
By 
Mrs. A. K-nichols "A" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems: with parallel Spanish text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I haven't read them all as yet, but am impressed with what I have read so far.
It's excellent to have both the Spanish on the left and the English on the right, though I do think quite a bit gets lost in the English translation.
What I do love particularly is the introduction of each of Lorca's sections of poetry by Gareth Walters, as it gives you only only his view and interpretations on selected poems, but also background information on Lorca's life at the time these poems were written.
Lorca's poems are full of emotion, often about Andalusia, especially Granada, gypsies and the moon.
Highly recommendable to anyone interested in poetry and Spain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This guy was good!, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems: with parallel Spanish text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I bought this for a family member living in Spain. He very much enjoys Lorcas work. Having the ability to read the original text and read it in English was an incomparable experience for him.

If you enjoy this poet and playwrites work, seriously consider this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good selection of poems, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems: with parallel Spanish text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I thought this was a good selection of poems by Garcia Lorca. To anybody interested in Andalucía,
and Garcia Lorca's life and tragic death in the Spanish Civil War, it is a very good introduction. I
thought the editor's choice was well-balanced, and that it leaves one wanting to explore further,
not just his poems, but also his famous plays like "Blood Wedding". The format of Spanish on one
side and English on the other is very helpful, and I think the translator has done an excellent job.
More notes on the historical background would have improved the volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beaeautiful book, 14 Jun 2013
By 
Cotea Diana "lorelei34" (Romania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems: with parallel Spanish text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
You do have the sense of regret reading this poems.... that such a grat artist as Lorca was killed so brutally!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems: with parallel Spanish text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Wonderful poetry and excellent translation! I wish I'd bought it when I was thirty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great poet, 25 Mar 2010
This review is from: Selected Poems: with parallel Spanish text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
A fine introduction to a great poet who understood the essence of the inner language. Poetry such as this - on a grand scale and prepared to embrace a timeless passion - sometimes seems lost in the dust of ages. It has re-surfaced in the fine work of the contemporary English poet Fernando Smith, and occasionally in European cinema, but suffers from the lack of daring and reactionary nature of much of the modern audience. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful book, 1 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems: with parallel Spanish text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
It is obvious that this literal English translation was done by a professor and not by a poet and not even a Spanish speaker.Martin Sorrell (translator) very clearly has no feel for the Spanish language and certainly no feel for Garcia Lorca. If you are not a Spanish speaker nor familiar with Lorca, you are likely to be puzzled by why such fuss about his poetry.

But if you are both, like myself, the book is useful because the accurately translated English text opens up the whole English vocabulary of synonims and metaphors and ,as if by magic, the poems become uniquely Lorcian.

I shall try to illustrate this phenomenon in my next review on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for the aficionado, 21 Dec 2009
By 
Run Mal Run (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems: with parallel Spanish text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
My interest in Lorca followed my reading the splendid Ghosts of Spain by Giles Tremlett and a documentary presented by Michael Portillo. There are excellent biographies on Lorca by Ian Gibson but I wanted to sample his writings first hand. The parallel text works really well but it is not a book you will sit down and read from cover to cover. Certainly worth buying for pride of possesion and the occasional browse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Selected Poems: with parallel Spanish text (Oxford World's Classics)
Selected Poems: with parallel Spanish text (Oxford World's Classics) by Federico García Lorca (Paperback - 26 Mar 2009)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews