Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strongly recommended for English and Greek readers
Obviously what poetry appeals to you is a personal matter so it's pointless for me to extol Cavafy's writing. I find it very direct and very poignant. Many of the poems have an 'end of period', romantic wistfulness. Be warned though that there is quite a variety here and possibly the bulk relying very much on classical allusions which I find slightly weighty sometimes...
Published on 23 Sep 2010 by Segovia

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly laid out and illegible.
The Greek words are not separated. It is next to impossible to read the poems as it is just a string of letters. Also, the English and Greek for each poem are not next to each other. This book was a complete waste of money.
Published 3 months ago by Tarquin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strongly recommended for English and Greek readers, 23 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Poems: with parallel Greek text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Obviously what poetry appeals to you is a personal matter so it's pointless for me to extol Cavafy's writing. I find it very direct and very poignant. Many of the poems have an 'end of period', romantic wistfulness. Be warned though that there is quite a variety here and possibly the bulk relying very much on classical allusions which I find slightly weighty sometimes. Though I found nothing that was not worth reading.

My understanding is that Cavafy only published his work privately and for selected friends. I was surprised how challenging his poetry is for somebody living between the mid 19th century and the 1930s. Many of the poems are openly intimate, erotic and with homosexual (excuse the old word!) grounding.

The introduction was excellent and the book very well laid out.

However the real treat for some people, and presumably students, is that the text is laid out in parallel English and Greek. The Greek is a strange mixture of forms but has a wonderfully light and rhymthic feel.

Given the low cost I would strong recommend it to anybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neo-Hellenic Lyricism and Sensual Pleasure, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Collected Poems: with parallel Greek text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
In the panorama of twentieth century poetry, Kavafis' work - presented here in the original Greek with the English parallel translation - occupies a special place. Dark, lonely to the limit of self-segregation, but at the same time attracted by the Mediterranean vitality and openness, the neo-Hellenic poet refuses en block every aspect of his time, diving instead, with constant wonder, into the suggestions of mythological legends and ancient history.

The result of this literary 'operation' is the continuous, desperate search for a mysterious and elusive Beauty, an evocation of hidden moments and loves sung now with violently sensual accents, now with heartfelt and nostalgic tones, mixed with a tragic vision of history as eternal struggle between men and destiny.

A truly beautiful anthology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cavafy poems in Greek & English., 27 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Poems: with parallel Greek text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
A translation by Evangelos Sachperoglou very similar to the classic one by Mavrogordato published in 1951 but with the added interest of contributions by Anthony Hirst and Peter Mackridge. The poems in the original Greek run alongside the translations which will be of great interest to those who are able to speak or read that language: I do not, but find the book of great interest nontheless. Excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing..., 5 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Collected Poems: with parallel Greek text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I first discovered Cavafy and his remarkable work when it was a compulsory part of my Modern Greek Alevel, and fell in love with him from there! This is a truly inspiring and spectacular collection of some of his best poems. Highly recommended to all classicists, Greeks and... well to everyone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The collected poems of the great Alexandrian, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Serghiou Const (Nicosia, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Poems: with parallel Greek text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
A Greek Cypriot, I loved the poetry of Kavafy in all my life. Not only in my small island state, but also in Metropolitan Greece, and in the Greek diaspora, in the whole Hellenism and in their collective consciousness, Kavafy is the undisputed best of all poets in modern Greece. And this is remarkable considering that the only two recipients of a Nobel prize in Greece were poets: George Seferis and Odysseas Elytis.

Kavafy's poetry possesses clarity, the message is simple, unmistakable but profound, his penetrating intellect has the prowess to dissect and reveal naked the true nature of the human condition. You have the acute feeling that his poetry is a distillate from which all redundancy has been purged and all verse has been polished to perfection. Irony and a twist in his verse recur and beauty is ever present. Homosexuality is explicit but filtered as a hymn to youth, beauty, and passion. His poetry has a transcendent and universal quality.

An exquisite summary of the great Alexandrian poet's oeuvre is presented in the iconic phrase of E.M.Forster and its elaboration on the book's cover:

'a Greek gentleman in a straw hat, standing absolutely motionless at a slight angle to the universe'

E.M.Forster

'E.M.Forster's description of C.P.Cavafy(1863-1933)perfectly encapsulates the unique perspective Cavafy brought to bear on history and geography, sexuality and language in his poems. Cavafy writes about people on the periphery, whose religious, ethnic, and cultural identities are blurred, and he was one of the pioneers in expressing a specifically homosexual sensibility. His poems present brief and vivid evocations of historical scenes and sensual moments, often infused with his distinctive sense of irony. They have established him as one of the most important poets of the twentieth century.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Poems: with parallel Greek text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I purchased this because I wanted to improve my modern greek. This parallel text is great for that and you have the added bonus of the poetry . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Badly laid out and illegible., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Greek words are not separated. It is next to impossible to read the poems as it is just a string of letters. Also, the English and Greek for each poem are not next to each other. This book was a complete waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alexandria revisted!, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Poems: with parallel Greek text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
As an army child I once lived in Alexandria, the home of this great Alexandrian poet of Greek extraction.

Cavafy was a gay poet writing in Alexandria in the early years of the 20th Century (he died in 1933) and brought to his poetry not only great sensibility and sensitivity but conjured up wonderful images of his beloved Alexandria - past and present.

Now that I live in Greece, I have no excuse to read Cavafy in his original Greek. This parallel English-Greek edition of his best poems is therefore perfect.

No excuse, Claudia! Get on with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Parallel Text - Cavafy, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The collected works is an interesting mix of classic and neo classical themes, honestly Greek, but having a timeless relevance. Cavafy is principal amongst Greek poets of the 20 Century. The difficulty with the e book is that the English does not 'follow' the Greek text immediately and for the non native speaker reading it can be laboured and disjointed as a result of this technical (and practical) imperfection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great poetry from a unique poet, 13 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Collected Poems: with parallel Greek text (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Kavafy is one of the most amazing poets that have lived. Turbulent mostly unhappy life. The English translation does not accurately convey all the hidden treasures of the Greek text, however a great collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collected Poems: with parallel Greek text (Oxford World's Classics)
6.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews