Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnifient poem for our time, 13 Aug 2007
By 
Pipistrel (Oxford United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This magnificent Latin poem was written more than 2000 years ago for a readership that disbelieved in gods and life after death. It is a lyrical celebration of the magnificent universe revealed by Greek science, which was little different from our modern view. Lucretius saw the world as built up from atoms, humans as having evolved from animal ancestors, the stars as suns accompanied by inhabited planets... He advocated the philosophy of Epicurus as the key to peaceful enjoyment of this world. Unlike most Epicurean writings, this epic survived Christian censorship of ancient literature. Ronald Melville has created a magnificent English poem to convey this great work to our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lucretius, 15 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: On the Nature of the Universe (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
This book does what it says on the cover .... its a great read (provided you can read out loud in your head - if you see what I mean).

I have read other translations but this one is the easiest to get on with. If you want to see what Lucretius (and the Greeks) thought, then this is a great book to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both enlightenment and comfort in one volume since the 1st century B.C., 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Nature of the Universe (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
one of the finest, perhaps the finest, book ever written in Latin on real atoms, false gods and human suffering by a great poet and sympathetic lover of mankind, which, however, demands some effort to take the hurdles of understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 11 Aug 2008
By 
Matthew Abbott "Rattis" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While reading through the 6 different books, I was amazed time and again at how close his thinking was to our modern day view of the world. How on earth it took 2000 years to breach the reasonably small gap from his view to ours takes some explaining. Religion would be my explanation as it is quite clear from history that any thoughts differing from that of the religious mind were rapidly destroyed to maintain ignorance throughout the general population. Particularly his view on the origins of the living is so close to ours and if only he knew about evolution through natural selection. Not all of his explanations are accurate, however, such as his explanations for earthquakes but he has a good go at it! Well worth the time to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars compex but great, 9 May 2005
if your looking at this book the chances are you know what its going to be like, very very hard to read, not a bedtime book at all. however if you persist its a brilliant piece of literarture, i still cant belive that Lucretious was thinking all this 2000 years ago!
a must read for anyone interested in ancient thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Nature of the Universe (Oxford World's Classics)
On the Nature of the Universe (Oxford World's Classics) by Lucretius (Paperback - 9 Oct 2008)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews