Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
11
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2005
This slim volume details not only characters from the Bible but a background to the theology and customs of the cultures of the Biblical lands. It provides clear Biblical references and is useful as it gives a clear background to the contexts in which the books of the Old and New Testaments were written.
Whilst not being comprehensive; it has no reference to 'The Nephilim', for example; it is a good value and highly useful resource for those who wish to explore the background to The Bible in any depth.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
There is plenty of background information in this book. However, it does not give a pronunciation guide for the many difficult words in the Bible, which I am sorry about. The book arrived quickly and was well packaged. Mrs Barbara Box
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
I wouldn't recommend this at all it is very limited. I'm doing a Bible study and couldn't find any of the words I had to make reference to. My advice would be to spend a little extra and get a better product.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2008
Although the price is low I did expect more from this Dictionary because it is an Oxford, it seems to be lacking in depth.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Simply put it explains various areas of the language in the Bible without filling gaps with waffle which leads to confusion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Also for exploring christianity course, will always be a good reference book for a subject that changes little, if at all
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2012
Worthwhile dictionary for both Old and New Testament reading. Very useful to have bringing a quick and easy understanding of the language and terms used by the ancient writters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
in electronic form this dictionary is almost completely useless as there is no search engine for the 2000 word entries unless you use the search function on your kindle device. i feel very annoyed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
Handy edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
very usfull
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse