Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive And Detailed Information
This slim volume details not only characters from the Bible but a background to the theology and customs of the cultures of the Biblical lands. It provides clear Biblical references and is useful as it gives a clear background to the contexts in which the books of the Old and New Testaments were written.
Whilst not being comprehensive; it has no reference to 'The...
Published on 17 Oct. 2005 by P. Donovan

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Dictionary of the Bible (Oxford Paperback Reference)
I wouldn't recommend this at all it is very limited. I'm doing a Bible study and couldn't find any of the words I had to make reference to. My advice would be to spend a little extra and get a better product.
Published on 25 Oct. 2010 by koleda


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive And Detailed Information, 17 Oct. 2005
By 
P. Donovan "cultural jackdaw" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This slim volume details not only characters from the Bible but a background to the theology and customs of the cultures of the Biblical lands. It provides clear Biblical references and is useful as it gives a clear background to the contexts in which the books of the Old and New Testaments were written.
Whilst not being comprehensive; it has no reference to 'The Nephilim', for example; it is a good value and highly useful resource for those who wish to explore the background to The Bible in any depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Dictionary of the Bible (Oxford Paperback Reference), 25 Oct. 2010
This review is from: A Dictionary of the Bible (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
I wouldn't recommend this at all it is very limited. I'm doing a Bible study and couldn't find any of the words I had to make reference to. My advice would be to spend a little extra and get a better product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simply put it explains various areas of the language in the Bible without filling gaps with waffle which leads to confusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bible dictionary, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of the Bible (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
Also for exploring christianity course, will always be a good reference book for a subject that changes little, if at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars None, 16 Oct. 2012
in electronic form this dictionary is almost completely useless as there is no search engine for the 2000 word entries unless you use the search function on your kindle device. i feel very annoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a dictionary of bible (oxford paperback reference), 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of the Bible (Oxford Quick Reference) (Paperback)
Worthwhile dictionary for both Old and New Testament reading. Very useful to have bringing a quick and easy understanding of the language and terms used by the ancient writters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, 24 Feb. 2008
Although the price is low I did expect more from this Dictionary because it is an Oxford, it seems to be lacking in depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dictionary of the Bible (Oxford Quick Reference)
A Dictionary of the Bible (Oxford Quick Reference) by W. R. F. Browning (Paperback - 8 Oct. 2009)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews