Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epidemiology for medical students.
I was recommended this book by one of my tutors. It gives a clear outline for research methodology useful for research projects in medical school and easy to read. Would defintely recommend.
Published on 5 May 2010 by Ms. I. Bone

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not as speedy delivery as i'd have liked but was good quality when it came.
Published 2 months ago by Abigail Green


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epidemiology for medical students., 5 May 2010
By 
Ms. I. Bone (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Epidemiology: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
I was recommended this book by one of my tutors. It gives a clear outline for research methodology useful for research projects in medical school and easy to read. Would defintely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More about the study of health-statistics than epidemics, 6 Aug 2013
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epidemiology: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
The Very Short Introduction series are written by professors of the subject and are aimed at provoking cross-discipline intrigue in the reader that may incite further investigation and reading - and boy are they good at achieving exactly that; often they leave more questions than answers.

So hot off the heels of Bacteria:VSI & Viruses:VSI I approached this booked assuming it was going to follow on nicely, detailing some of the more serious of epidemics and pandemics, having had my interest piqued by the previous subjects. However, what this book neglects to mention is that it is mainly about statistics, probability and sampling techniques to achieve the study of health statistics.

It introduces the concepts of person-years and incidence, explaining with the use of case-studies such as diabetes, lung-cancer and cholesterol levels, naming patterns that have come out of the European Prospective Investigation into Cancer [EPIC]. Whilst this is interesting and will hold more relevance for some than others, I was expecting something slightly more intriguing and fast paced - like the procedural techniques used in the film Contagion.

This is definitely not something to critique the book over, it was purely my expectation vs. the reality that let this book down for me. If you have a background in mathematics, specifically statistics and sampling, then you have already read 2/3rds of this 126 page A6 book. The rest concerns a largely ethical debate about trials, testing and control. Intriguing, but a lot drier than it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive short introduction to epidemiology, 28 Jan 2012
By 
Dr. Bojan Tunguz (Indiana, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Epidemiology: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Epidemiology is the study of factors affecting the health and illness of populations. However, the purpose of the epidemiology is not just the passive study of those illnesses from a purely intellectual viewpoint, but rather coming up with strategies and means of preventing and controlling the disease outbreaks. Furthermore, it is not necessary for those diseases to be microbial in nature. Cancer, heart disease, and even things like obesity fall under the purview of epidemiology.

This very short introduction deals with all major aspects of epidemiology. Its modern approach is up to date and the book does not fail to mention some of the recent headline-grabbing viral epidemics, like SARS and H1N1 ("swine flu"). The book pays detailed attention to the methodology of good epidemiological research, and tries to explain it in an accessible and readable way. There are numerous interesting and detailed graphs and charts throughout the book, but the book does not assume a high level of technical knowledge. It can be used as an introductory text to the vast epidemiological literature, or as a concise refresher of some key concepts. It can also serve as a useful reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great epi introduction book, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epidemiology: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
This was a very good book . i needed a very simple overview and introduction and this gave it to me and enabled me to get to grips with epidemiology at the start - I can highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epidemiology: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Not as speedy delivery as i'd have liked but was good quality when it came.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Epidemiology: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions)
Epidemiology: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) by Rodolfo Saracci (Paperback - 25 Feb 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews