Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant insight into the lives of ants
This is a well written, informative and wide ranging review of the life of ants. It's written in an engaging stlye with different facets of the lives of ants being represented by different chapters, therefore there are chapters on colony organization, ecology, reproductive strategies, genetics and even ants as the inspiration for new technologies. Although each chapter...
Published on 30 Oct. 2009 by Barrie

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars variable - in it's interest and the writing
Like some other reviewers I found the writing so dreary at first that I contemplated stopping reading it. However I persevered and the writing improved - or maybe I just got used to it. Anyway, I was rewarded with a fascinating middle section of the book which covers such topics as slave making, army ants, honeypot ants, invader species, colony structure. However, the...
Published on 15 Feb. 2012 by Albie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant insight into the lives of ants, 30 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The Lives of Ants (Hardcover)
This is a well written, informative and wide ranging review of the life of ants. It's written in an engaging stlye with different facets of the lives of ants being represented by different chapters, therefore there are chapters on colony organization, ecology, reproductive strategies, genetics and even ants as the inspiration for new technologies. Although each chapter starts off simply there is enough detail here to draw in those normally sceptical of insect natural history.

There are sections on leaf cutters and slave makers, and another on invasive ants such as fire ants and argentine ants. The price is good too. If you have any interest inants, social biology or invertebrates in general this is a great read and not at all like a textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange lives under our feet, 17 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Lives of Ants (Hardcover)
The second book I read on my own about 50 years ago was about the life of an ant. I learned a lot, but only the "nice" facts were given. In this book, you get the whole story. It is full of fascinating facts of the incredibly many different ways evolution have ordered the complex societies and sexual practises of these tiny-brained creatures. Ants fit well into their native environment, but when they hitchhike to other places they can become serious pest. The book gives a few really worrying examples that you need to know about.

The two authors are scientists themselves and their love of the family Formicidae shines through. Therefore, the somewhat awkward style can be forgiven. But the book would have been easier on the common reader if all the references to fellow scientist had been collected as notes at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enjoyable and informative read, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lives of Ants (Paperback)
It is remarkably well written and the author really does get his enthusiasm across! The sections of the book are clear and nicely set out. There is lots of information about the different species of ants. I now look at ants with interest and admiration. There is minimal scientific terminology and so this book is perfectly suited to anyone with an interest in the lives of ants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book, 21 Nov. 2013
By 
C. N. Purssey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lives of Ants (Paperback)
I know a hell of a lot about these wonderful animals. This book is filled with fact and information which added to my already huge knowledge. That is not to say it will be lost on beginners. This book is written well and every detail no matter how scientific is explained beautifully.

I book everybody should read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars variable - in it's interest and the writing, 15 Feb. 2012
By 
Albie (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lives of Ants (Paperback)
Like some other reviewers I found the writing so dreary at first that I contemplated stopping reading it. However I persevered and the writing improved - or maybe I just got used to it. Anyway, I was rewarded with a fascinating middle section of the book which covers such topics as slave making, army ants, honeypot ants, invader species, colony structure. However, the final few chapters seemed aimed at biologists more than natural historians. For a while I found the discussion on genetics interesting but soon found it hard work.

Overall, it seems a very approachable book. All the chapters are short and there are numerous colour photos, though (at up to 8 per page) some were so small they seem of little value. I think most people will get something from reading the book but it is rather variable in its interest and the quality of its writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction., 28 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lives of Ants (Kindle Edition)
A interesting book. Personally I would like more in depth technical detail, but overall a good interduction to the amazing life style of ants. Descriptons of all types and environments of ants included. A boon for anybody that keeps ant farms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lives of Ants (Paperback)
I just love this book. Full of information, great for research in an essay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, boring, 23 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lives of Ants (Paperback)
You would think that it's hard to write a boring book about something as interesting and fascinating as ants. However, this book manages to do that. While it contains a lot of interesting facts, the writing is flat, the style boring, and the book overall lacks something; it reads like a list of loosely connected facts or anecdotes rather than a book. Also, it often lacks in-depth explanations about some of the most fascinating facts it states. I found myself falling asleep after only few pages time after time... I'd recommend the authors, who I'm sure know their subject very well, to find a better editor for their next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Book, 22 July 2010
By 
This review is from: The Lives of Ants (Paperback)
Thoroughly engaging, well written and very informative.
What fascinating lives there ubiquitous yet much overlooked insects have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ants, 18 May 2009
By 
Dido (Stockwell) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lives of Ants (Hardcover)
Though well reviewed in the New Scientist I found this book a little boring; plenty of facts, and ants are inherently fascinating but somehow the writing is bit flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lives of Ants
The Lives of Ants by Elisabeth Gordon (Paperback - 25 Feb. 2010)
£8.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews