Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£29.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2011
I purchased this at the beginning of the first year of my Criminology degree and it has been truely invaluable. The content is well written, in depth and very easy to understand - especially as I was a beginner in the subject.

The chapters are well laid out and it is easy to find information you need for essays, revision etc and I have used it in almost all essays I have submitted.

Not much else to say, but I thoroughly recommend it for those studying Criminology or just those who want a more in-depth insight into the workings of the Criminal Justice system in Britain and some of the contemporary key issues of debate.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
This book is okay, but please bear in mind that it is long out of date. The 4th edition was published in 2010, and since then there have been significant changes to the criminal justice system.

The chapters are laid out well, with clear headings. The writing itself is clear, although not as technical as some may like when it comes to describing the law.

Infrequently it will be clear that the author(s) had a strong viewpoint and discussions can become a little one sided. However, generally the authors provide a balanced discussion.

And again, as is always important with legal text books, check publication date.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2012
Law student at university would excel if they could make use of this book. With an extensive case list as well as structured argument and response set up, this book makes Family Law "bite size" so as to help you navigate through more detailed text books with ease. Additionally, it helps with class discussions and makes references to other books and sources throughout. Highly effective. You MUST make sure you buy the most recent version. E.g a case in EU law where some books still have not taken the Lisbon treaty into consideration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
Got this book to help with my law/criminology degree. Was v useful for the criminology and criminal law parts of the course. Good book with decent level of knowledge covering main theories and names in all areas and not to hard to read as its sllit up nicely. It is quite long winded though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
This is just what i needed and it is very useful. Came just as described. Would use again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Fantastic book, so pleased with this item. very interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
This is useful for anyone studyinjg the criminal justice system, it helped me pas my last essay with a first.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
very good condition. good book for criminology students. not a bad price as it has a lot of useful ideas and topics to look at. recommend this book. thanks very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
A great book, easy to read with good references. This book would be an asset to any criminal justice/law student.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Wow what a book. It is really thick and heavy with so much fascinating information. My daughter is glued to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)