Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond all expectation
Don't know why The Three Musketeers remains Dumas' most celebrated work when his true talent is illustrated in books of real substance and humanity like this. La Reine Margot is a novel of power, written by a master in his element, in my view, second only to his Monte Cristo. Passionate, dark, sinister, thrilling, glorious. Everything you could want from a novel...
Published on 15 Nov 2005 by Mr. F. I. Dudaniec

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Whatever
I was ambivalent towards this book. It's nothing special. I guess if you like classical French literature you might like it. If not than I recommend you don't buy it.

It's pretty easy to read, I am just not sure if it is worth reading.
Published 9 months ago by Gillian Ross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond all expectation, 15 Nov 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't know why The Three Musketeers remains Dumas' most celebrated work when his true talent is illustrated in books of real substance and humanity like this. La Reine Margot is a novel of power, written by a master in his element, in my view, second only to his Monte Cristo. Passionate, dark, sinister, thrilling, glorious. Everything you could want from a novel and more. Will leave you with a thirst for literature, history and life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately worth the read!, 23 July 2001
By A Customer
I was recommended this book by a friend and loved every minute of it. It is the story of two couples, both in love, and the friendship between the four of them. However, in true Dumas fassion, the intregues and plots of the French court are all mixed in as well: the attack on the Huguenots, the scheming Catherine de Medicis and many more. This book will keep you gripped from start to finish; you'll really be in 16th century France!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dramatic, thrilling, gothic and macabre, 7 Jan 2007
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is probably my favourite Dumas novel but there's something about this translation that doesn't feel quite right. I suspect it's Dumas rather than the translator: there's an elusive tone and register to his prose which just doesn't translate into English in any seamless fashion.

That apart, this is a brilliant story: set in 1572, it concerns itself with the French wars of religion, especially the horrendous St Bartholomew's Eve massacre when Catholics slaughted Huguenots (Protestants) on the streets of Paris. The poisonous (literally) Catherine de Medici is set against the luminous Marguerite (called Margot by her brothers), and Dumas creates a story that pulses with drama. This is especially good on the claustrophobia of the Louvre where conversations are always elliptical and opaque, where secret lovers breath messages to each other in Latin, and where truth and integrity are always at a premium.

Like other Dumas novels (e.g. The Three Musketeer series) you do need to understand the historical background, and while the notes in this Oxford edition do an admirable job of filling that in you should be wary of the editor slipping in frequent 'spoilers', for example contrasting the historical career of a character with his/her role in Dumas' novel - very iritating for the first time reader.

So this is a great read, in my view better than the Three Musketeers. If you can, though, I would strongly recommend reading it in the original (a free Kindle edition is available: La Reine Margot (French Edition)) which has a certain something that the English doesn't capture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun, great novel on court intrigue, 7 May 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: La Reine Margot (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
This is a lesser known Dumas novel than, say, the Count of Monte Christo. But it is just as good as the others he did: vivid personalities, attention to detail, and fabulously intricate plots. It tells the story of Margot and her marriage to the King of Navarre, an ambitious Hugenot in constant danger of assassination. With the backdrop of the religious wars, she finds love in a knight that she attempts to cloister from the dangers of court intrigue. It ends in tragedy, hope, and the promise of further adventure.

Based on available historical sources at the time and embellished with Dumas' unique sense of drama, it is a spectacular read, full of danger, sudden developments, and psychological depth. While it may not be as deep as Stendhal's best works, it is absolutely first rate as a historical novel, a genre that Dumas helped to develop. It stimulates the reader's desire to plung more deeply into French history as well.

High recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Whatever, 14 July 2013
By 
Gillian Ross - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Reine Margot (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I was ambivalent towards this book. It's nothing special. I guess if you like classical French literature you might like it. If not than I recommend you don't buy it.

It's pretty easy to read, I am just not sure if it is worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Reine Margot (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
This is one of the best Dumas books and the French film is equally fantastic. It is the sort of book that you like to read again and again and I always watch the film at least once a year. Dumas at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, with some horrific moments, 9 Mar 2008
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are some moments of genuine horror and pathos during this story, during the Massacre of St Bartholomew's Eve itself, when thousands of Huguenots were killed at the behest of Catherine de Medici by Catholic officers, soldiers and civilians; at the climax when the romantic heroes are tortured and executed; and at one point when Catherine de Medici tricks and kills a servant. Most of the rest of the time it is standard swashbuckling Dumas, with a strong air of theatricality and even farcicality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb48f3f84)

This product

La Reine Margot (Oxford World's Classics)
La Reine Margot (Oxford World's Classics) by Alexandre Dumas (père) (Paperback - 14 Aug 2008)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews