Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five of Le Fanu's longer short stories
'In a Glass Darkly' is a collection of hair-raising tales selected from those recorded by Dr Martin Hesselius during the many years he spent working to understand and explain the seemingly supernatural incidents that came to his attention. The stories are:

1) 'Green Tea' - a clergyman believes himself persecuted by a malevolent monkey.

2) 'The...
Published on 23 Dec. 2006 by T. Bobley

versus
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Apt Title.
Whatever the merits of Le Fanu's collection of short stories, the Wordsworth edition is dismal.

The typesetting errors are so frequent that it was only after some investigation that I began to believe that mine is not a bootlegged copy. The most common faults are wandering sem;i-colons, and all exclamation marks replaced with a space followed by a personal...
Published on 15 Jun. 2007 by Typo Detective


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Camilia, 16 May 2013
Camilia is probably one of the best vampire fictions written. I highly recommend this book for readers who love the vampire genre but are not interested in reading overly long books such as Dracula, not that Dracula is not a good book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection, 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These shorter gothic stories provide an excellent introduction to the genre. 'Carmilla', in particular, given the current interest in vampires,, is a good story for teenagers, while still being a 'proper' classic tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyably creepy, 3 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: In a Glass Darkly (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Le Fanu must rate as one of the masters of the supernatural short story, along side M.R. James and Poe. If you enjoy them you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superficial tales- real or imagination?, 6 Jun. 2002
By 
Bernd Philipp (74206 Bad Wimpfen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The classic in the ghost story genre. Most of his
followers as M.R. James or E.F. Benson admitt that they were highly inspired by J.S. LeFanu. One
of his main works where his fame comes from is "In a glass darkly" wherein five ghost stories are told by a german doctor/analyst. LeFanu leaves it to the reader to decide weather the incidents were real or the main characters suffer from brain damages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Master of the gothic, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember reading Camilla when I was at school and wanted to reread, it has not lost its quietly creepy quality...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Old-fashioned ghost stories., 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked some of these tales for their imaginative qualities but others were a little tame for today. three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As described, well packaged and promptly sent. Classic supernatural tales from a master of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably only scary if you suffer from a nervous psychological disorder, 1 Aug. 2008
By 
S. Pollard "spollardo" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Some books are so bad that you just can't finish them. This isn't one of those books. Which is unforunate as when you read it you constantly wish you weren't. It's just so average. It doesn't have the ability to sweep you back into the Victorian world that a Dickens, Collins or Conan Doyle does. The ghost stories are not at all spine-chilling. They just feel very tepid. Le Fanu also falls into the habit of a lot of 19th Century writers of constructing incredibly arcane, unnecessarily-long sentences, meticulously grammatical at the expense of clarity, and separated by so many commas that by the time one reaches the end of the sentence, should one manage to hold one's attention to that point, one has already forgotten what was being conveyed at the sentence's beginning.

However I reserve my strongest condemnation for the notes. First* of all I* find it extremely distracting* to read when every other* word is marked* with an asterisk*. What confounded my annoyance is that the editor finds it necessary to explain words and concepts which really do not need explaining. So you think he has something of importance to explain and stop your reading to turn to the notes, search for the relevant point and then are left irritated as he tells you that such-and-such was written very slightly differently in an earlier version or defines a term that any fool would understand.

So why did I finish it? I think it has merits in having a place in the history of gothic fiction. Le Fanu occasionally finds interesting concepts and every now and then has a clever turn of phrase. But overall I would say this was a disappointing read, and if it had been a modern novel snobbery probably would have made me put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In a Glass Darkly (Oxford World's Classics)
In a Glass Darkly (Oxford World's Classics) by J. Sheridan Le Fanu (Paperback - 14 Aug. 2008)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews