Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw and haunting
Catullus, writing in the Rome of Julius Caesar and Cicero, is probably one of the most accessible of classical poets: his searing, emotionally raw and huanting Lesbia poems, especially, seem to inscribe the very nature of sexual obsession on the page.

But he is worth reading for the 'long' poems too, the extraordinary Attis poem (poem 63) and the Marriage of...
Published on 22 Nov. 2009 by Roman Clodia

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Try the Peter Green translations
If cost is not an option I advise the potential buyer to instead go for Poems of Catullus: A Bilingual Edition. I find the translations more readable and they feel to me to more closely capture the meaning.
Published on 29 Nov. 2012 by E. L. Wisty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw and haunting, 22 Nov. 2009
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Poems of Catullus (Oxford World Classics) (Paperback)
Catullus, writing in the Rome of Julius Caesar and Cicero, is probably one of the most accessible of classical poets: his searing, emotionally raw and huanting Lesbia poems, especially, seem to inscribe the very nature of sexual obsession on the page.

But he is worth reading for the 'long' poems too, the extraordinary Attis poem (poem 63) and the Marriage of Peleus and Thetis (poem 64)which has such an impact on the Renaissance erotic epyllion.

Lee is a sensitive translator who turns the poems into texts which stand up in their own right in English, but it is impossible to convey the spiky texture of Catullus' original Latin.

If you have any Latin it's worth investing in the Loeb edition (Catullus' Latin, especially in the love lyrics, is pretty easy, probably about 'A' level standard), but if not then this is a fine alternative and much better than the Penguin looser translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Poems of Catullus - A Review by Barry Van-Asten, 1 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. B. P. Van-asten (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Poems of Catullus (Oxford World Classics) (Paperback)
The Roman lyric poet Gaius Valerius Catullus (c.84-c.54) wrote many poems concerning love, showing a depth of sincere feelings; elegies and satirical epigrams and many other forms. During the Middle Ages his work became mostly forgotten until he was re-discovered in the 14th Century. His work influenced later poets such as Robert Herrick (1591-1675), Richard Lovelace (1618-1657) and Alfred Tennyson (1809-1892). Very enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Try the Peter Green translations, 29 Nov. 2012
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Poems of Catullus (Oxford World Classics) (Paperback)
If cost is not an option I advise the potential buyer to instead go for Poems of Catullus: A Bilingual Edition. I find the translations more readable and they feel to me to more closely capture the meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless, 3 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poems of Catullus (Oxford World Classics) (Paperback)
I needed this for my course and it was well worth it. Nothing makes you happier on a cold wet day in November more than a tiny little old lady giggling and yelling 'I'll bugger you and stuff your gobs'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Love Catullus, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poems of Catullus (Oxford World Classics) (Paperback)
They say Catullus is one of the most accessible of the classic poets, and they are right. It's great poetry, modern, just like many of his contemporaries. Read Catullus, you'll love him too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great edition. Not a great poet?, 6 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poems of Catullus (Oxford World Classics) (Paperback)
This is a great edition. The latin is on one page with Guy Lee's translation opposite. There is a really helpful commentary at the back and an explanation of the metre but how did Catullus get away with public obscenity and immorality when a poor old vestal virgin was buried alive at the same time for less? He is crude and unsubtle and I found myself longing for a lyrical section. It arrives in LX1V but the style is still unsubtle and the narrative clumsy so, for me, he is not a great poet which, to his credit, he knows:

"Catullus, the worst poet of all,
Sends you herewith his greatest thanks,
As truly the worst poet of all...." From XL1X

However the Epigrams are memorable, sparse and to the point and it is clear this is why the pieces survived and have influenced poets and wits; they have not quite become satire with its sophistication and coolness as they seem to arise out of fairly negative feelings at times which he needs to express. So you get a little flavour of Italian life of the time expressed rawly and honestly if, often, not kindly. However, the helpful Chronology reminds you that a year before the poet's death Caesar invades Britain so, as this is the context, I suppose a little unsubtle unkindness is to be expected- times they lived in etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poems of Catullus (Oxford World Classics) (Paperback)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poems of Catullus (Oxford World Classics) (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear God.., 3 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poems of Catullus (Oxford World Classics) (Paperback)
Admittedly I do not like poetry at the best of times, however this took my dislike to a whole new level. Catullus was obviously a bit of a disturbed guy. His poetry, quite frankly, is vulgar, thus making my lectures at University on him equally disturbing and uncomfortable. After poem XVI I gave up... Perhaps i just can't appreciate good poetry.
In terms of the translation, I believe Guy Lee's is great, although in some places he seems to down play the vulgarity, however this is perhaps a positive thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Poems of Catullus (Oxford World Classics)
The Poems of Catullus (Oxford World Classics) by Catullus (Paperback - 9 Oct. 2008)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews