Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!
Both the book and the delivery were excellent. The books was in an excellent condition and it arrived precisely at the time and date I expected. The book contains all the poetry and prose by Yeats so I would reccommend to people who want to study the poet in depth. For people who just want to get to know Yeats I would recommend a selcted poetry collection.
Published 20 months ago by Eliz Mousli Borazan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality Work But Could Have Been More Judiciously Selected
Being a long time fan of Yeats's poems, and already owning the Finneran-edited 'Collected Poems', an old out-of-print 'Collected Plays', the two versions of 'A Vision', the Penguin edition of Folklore writings and the paperback of his 'Autobiographies' I peeked into the contents of this edition to see how it fares against the general background of what I already have. I...
Published 21 months ago by Andrew O'Donnell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Major Works: including poems, plays, and critical prose (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Both the book and the delivery were excellent. The books was in an excellent condition and it arrived precisely at the time and date I expected. The book contains all the poetry and prose by Yeats so I would reccommend to people who want to study the poet in depth. For people who just want to get to know Yeats I would recommend a selcted poetry collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource., 17 May 2014
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Major Works: including poems, plays, and critical prose (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
This selection of writings by the great mystic, poet and intellectual, provides a broad insight into his work and philosophy. As such it is an ideal purchase for both students and general readers although as his work has now fallen out of copyright much will also be available on line for casual readers who just wish to sample a few of his literary gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yeats - The Master of Irish Poetry, 22 Oct. 2003
W. B Yeats led a troubled life - his marriage rejections by the love of his life Maud Gonne, and his subsequent romantic liasons are well documented in his work. The angst-ridden "No Second Troy," a beautiful love poem dedicated to Irish revolutionary Gonne, illustrates his passion and his ability to convey his emotions with the power of words.
His allusions to Greek mythology are also evident here, with the above-mentioned "No Second Troy," and the disturbing "Leda and the Swan" both containing references to the Classical Greek ideas.
Furthermore, his strong sense of Irish patriotism is also evident here, with poems such as "An Irish Airman Forsees His Death;" "Easter 1916;" and "Sixteen Dead Men" all revealing his passion for the Irish Home Rule cause. However it must be remembered that Yeats was not only a master poet, but also a wonderful playwright, and plays such as Cathleen Ni Houlihan, which helped to establish the Abbey Theatre in Dublin as the Irish national theatre, are other masterly productions of Yeats' work that are contained in this volume.
I cannot praise this book enough. There are many reasons why it is an amazing volume, but the quality of the literature, the way Yeats moulds his words to create such beautiful poetry, must be seen to be believed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Major Works: including poems, plays, and critical prose (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
very good really enjoyed reading the poems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality Work But Could Have Been More Judiciously Selected, 17 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Major Works: including poems, plays, and critical prose (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Being a long time fan of Yeats's poems, and already owning the Finneran-edited 'Collected Poems', an old out-of-print 'Collected Plays', the two versions of 'A Vision', the Penguin edition of Folklore writings and the paperback of his 'Autobiographies' I peeked into the contents of this edition to see how it fares against the general background of what I already have. I suspected that the Occult Writings would be limited, and, quite predictably, OWC have given us what looks like thirty-odd pages of these. And seeing that the overall edition comes in at just over 600 pages two questions immediately come to mind: 1/Given that there is NO EXTANT VERSION in print of Yeats's 1937 edition of 'A Vision' and 2/That the material gathered in both the twenties edition and the later edition PROFOUNDLY coloured all of Yeats's poetry from 1920 onwards... why oh why could OWC not manage a decent 100-150 page selection from these writings?? Surely, if, for the sake of space, shorter sections of plays could've been cut to accommodate it??

Unfortunately (and while I respect so much of what OWC has been putting out in the last while, particularly with regard to the publishing of great ancient classics from Asia) they, like many biographers, are falling into the great trap of ignoring this side of Yeats, regardless of how fundamental to his working life it was. While I think it is a great reduction to imagine Beckett and Joyce loathed Yeats, it is the Republican/politico/playwright (albeit a very wrong thing to pan ALL of the plays?) which, I believe, will not hold up to public scrutiny in the coming years (we now know that Dev was a spy for the British crown, and the whole 'Republican push' is very much the wrong side to read Yeats from, with those poems also ageing the quickest... yet, via this selection, it seems very much the predictable line that this publisher has gone for).

I recently bought OWC's 'Oxford Shakespeare: The Complete Sonnets and Poems'... it's a hefty 750 page tome with thick paper and solid binding, and, while I don't have the Yeats volume in front of me, I guess that the options for printing with OWC, paper-wise, are fairly open (I have lots of other OWC books that are lighter, and not in ratio, than the Shakespeare... with thinner pages. I also have a Bible by OWC that's closer to the weight of the Shakespeare but, obviously, with many more pages... 1200ish).

I can't help, then, suspecting that a Yeats volume without the material I mention INCLUDED may well have been simply a (bad!) financial decision. A 900 page stormer of a compendium was up for grabs here, bringing back badly needed work into print since the 70s... yet what we have is a very sparse and compromised volume, with the majority of its material easily available elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sept. 2014
By 
Sally J Blackmore (Chertsey, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Major Works: including poems, plays, and critical prose (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Great book and arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Irish Literature, 8 May 2004
By A Customer
Yeats... what can I say? A terrible writer, a fraud whose plays are some of the worst ever written by anyone. His contribution to Irish literature is like that of Horatio Alger to American literature... at best. This would have been better had it been written by a troop of epileptic howler monkeys... what a business... impotent, nostalgic drivel by a man who Joyce and Beckett both despised. His work is tame, overwritten, pretentious, romantic (in the worst sense of the word) and, in fact, truly awful...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Major Works: including poems, plays, and critical prose (Oxford World's Classics)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews