Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars22
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2009
I bought this to help with a talk I am giving on the Florentine Renaissance. I am finding the book really interesting as it provides insights into the masters way of life. It is very humorous at times and 'chatty' which helps bring things to life and provide useful anecdotes. He obviously adored Michelangelo. The section on Giotto was the most surprising as I really felt that I knew him and really liked him not only as an artist but as a human being by the time I was finished. Although no doubt there are many instances where the truth may be slightly different it is a fascinating read.
0Comment45 of 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2002
This book will appeal to either the history of art student or someone interested in Renaissance writings. A very useful book in that it offers a chance to see what a Mannerist artist thought about his contemporaries. It provides information on the fashions of the time and even insights into the very character of the artist, including some highly amusing stories and occasionally very biased points of view! If you can put a quote in an essay or exam then you will definately stand out as a good candidate.
0Comment44 of 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2010
A must for anyone interested in the art of the Renaissance but should be read with a healthy dash of scepticism for the truth of anecdotal information. Very biased but good way of hearing the voice of a man who was very influential in shaping later opinion on the art history of the time and who, despite being a Michelangelo groupie, did at least know the man. Vasari's opinionated version of the 'lives' of the artists should be read in conjunction with later versions for anyone interested in what has been deduced from subsequent scholarship and it is of course a one volume version but well worth a read. This work is Vasari's lasting legacy - apart from designing the Ufizzi of course.
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
Excellent character descriptions of such masters, providing a picture of the man, the artist, how they lived their daily lives,how their work developed, who & what influenced them & how they saw their world.
However I did find the listings of each artists' known works rather tedious.
Am now approaching the best - Leonardo!
What hardships they suffered to achieve such genius!
0Comment30 of 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Lively..witty..a masterpiece by the most venerable Vasari who writes with a timeless spirit and paints portraits of the best artists with his words. Rare. I find him excellent 'company' - and it is in my opinion a must for all artists who want to be connected to the soul of the beauty of the ages. A terrific translation.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2011
I think the translator has done a very good job here and Vasari's charming mix of deference, child-like delight and gossip is brought very much to life. If I had the power to make my own edition of this work, I would use this translation, but make it an illustrated one. It doesn't seem possible to buy an illustrated version of this book at all today.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2010
An excellent translation of Vasari giving a particular insight both into Vasari's biographies of the great artists but also to his theory of art - it may not be a contemporary theory but it is immensely interesting.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
I haven't yet troubled myself to read the extended portion of the book which relates to Michelangelo and this might change my opinion on it. However as far as I can adduce from the rest of it there are only short sections on the other artists lives and much of these read as a blow by blow account of their careers rather than giving much of a sense of them as people. In a sense its like another old text the New Testament of the Bible that is a blow by blow account of Jesus' travails. Great for some reason obviously, although I'm not sure what it is
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Yet again another great book from you,, an addition to my art collection, thank you once again for your prompt service.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
A good taster for Vasari, but is a selection rather than Vasaris whole collection. Provides soeme enjoyable and memorable anecdotes about artists!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse