Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece
I bought this to help with a talk I am giving on the Florentine Renaissance. I am finding the book really interesting as it provides insights into the masters way of life. It is very humorous at times and 'chatty' which helps bring things to life and provide useful anecdotes. He obviously adored Michelangelo. The section on Giotto was the most surprising as I really felt...
Published on 14 April 2009 by hippychick

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Detailed
This is a long, long book with a great deal of information. Clocking in at over five hundred pages and covering about thirty artists of the Italian Renaissance, it is fairly comprehensive and detailed.

Some of Vasari's 'facts' have been discredited over the years and so the reader should not take everything here as gospel and indeed should be using this as a...
Published on 21 May 2008 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 14 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lives of the Artists (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I bought this to help with a talk I am giving on the Florentine Renaissance. I am finding the book really interesting as it provides insights into the masters way of life. It is very humorous at times and 'chatty' which helps bring things to life and provide useful anecdotes. He obviously adored Michelangelo. The section on Giotto was the most surprising as I really felt that I knew him and really liked him not only as an artist but as a human being by the time I was finished. Although no doubt there are many instances where the truth may be slightly different it is a fascinating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For A level and later on an invaluable book, 27 April 2002
By A Customer
This book will appeal to either the history of art student or someone interested in Renaissance writings. A very useful book in that it offers a chance to see what a Mannerist artist thought about his contemporaries. It provides information on the fashions of the time and even insights into the very character of the artist, including some highly amusing stories and occasionally very biased points of view! If you can put a quote in an essay or exam then you will definately stand out as a good candidate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vasari's The Lives of the Artists, 1 Aug. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Lives of the Artists (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
A must for anyone interested in the art of the Renaissance but should be read with a healthy dash of scepticism for the truth of anecdotal information. Very biased but good way of hearing the voice of a man who was very influential in shaping later opinion on the art history of the time and who, despite being a Michelangelo groupie, did at least know the man. Vasari's opinionated version of the 'lives' of the artists should be read in conjunction with later versions for anyone interested in what has been deduced from subsequent scholarship and it is of course a one volume version but well worth a read. This work is Vasari's lasting legacy - apart from designing the Ufizzi of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars windows on another world, 1 Feb. 2009
This review is from: The Lives of the Artists (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Excellent character descriptions of such masters, providing a picture of the man, the artist, how they lived their daily lives,how their work developed, who & what influenced them & how they saw their world.
However I did find the listings of each artists' known works rather tedious.
Am now approaching the best - Leonardo!
What hardships they suffered to achieve such genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true friend to all good artists, 10 Feb. 2014
This review is from: The Lives of the Artists (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Lively..witty..a masterpiece by the most venerable Vasari who writes with a timeless spirit and paints portraits of the best artists with his words. Rare. I find him excellent 'company' - and it is in my opinion a must for all artists who want to be connected to the soul of the beauty of the ages. A terrific translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend, 19 July 2011
This review is from: The Lives of the Artists (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I think the translator has done a very good job here and Vasari's charming mix of deference, child-like delight and gossip is brought very much to life. If I had the power to make my own edition of this work, I would use this translation, but make it an illustrated one. It doesn't seem possible to buy an illustrated version of this book at all today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vasar Rules OK, 9 Oct. 2010
By 
Seeker (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lives of the Artists (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
An excellent translation of Vasari giving a particular insight both into Vasari's biographies of the great artists but also to his theory of art - it may not be a contemporary theory but it is immensely interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lives of the Artist (Oxfords World's Classics), 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lives of the Artists (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Yet again another great book from you,, an addition to my art collection, thank you once again for your prompt service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Jan. 2015
By 
R. Mountjoy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lives of the Artists (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
A classic - difficult to read in places but .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent follow-on from TV programme, 13 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. G. Rogers (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lives of the Artists (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
My wife was really impressed with the TV programme about this particular artist; so to have a book describing his contacts and thoughts was excellent. Well done the author and the TV producer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lives of the Artists (Oxford World's Classics)
The Lives of the Artists (Oxford World's Classics) by Giorgio Vasari (Paperback - 14 Aug. 2008)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews