Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money
This is a good value for money book, especially for English literature students, comprising as it does a collection of Marlowe's best known works, some of which are pieces of classic literature and should be more widely read! It handily contains both A and B texts for Dr Faustus, always useful for comparison. Recommended for literature students or anyone with an interest...
Published on 7 Oct. 2003 by aefiandtom

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good edition
This is one of those books that makes you keep your pinkie finger about 300 pages toward the back of the book so that you can flip back and forth between the text you're reading and the reference notes at the end.

What makes it even more awkward is that the symbol that indicates a footnote exists is a little circle at the end of the line, a symbol which rarely...
Published 14 months ago by Dr. K. E. Patrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 7 Oct. 2003
This is a good value for money book, especially for English literature students, comprising as it does a collection of Marlowe's best known works, some of which are pieces of classic literature and should be more widely read! It handily contains both A and B texts for Dr Faustus, always useful for comparison. Recommended for literature students or anyone with an interest in great literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent edition, 6 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Faustus and Other Plays: Tamburlaine, Parts I and II; Doctor Faustus, A- and B-Texts; The Jew of Malta; Edward II (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
As someone who was recently involved with a theatrical production of Faustus, I found this edition extremely helpful. The historical context, detailed notes and accurate presentation of both the A and B texts all make it much easier to navigate this fascinating piece of drama. Highly recommended edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stories which have entered our mythology, 30 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
The story of Dr F. is no longer an original one, but in Marlowe's time the play pointed up man's increasing attempts to devolve power to himself from God. The rise of science = the fall of man, it seems, and Faustus pays the ultimate price for knowledge.
Reworkings of the Faustian myth are two a-penny today, but Marlowe's original still has a power which few versions since have attained. If you can get through the language, and understand the references to arcane historical figures and events, then you have here a powerful and demanding text. And, whatever the cover price, it has to be worth it for Marlowe's cautionary advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant subject matter, classic literature, 4 Jun. 2004
By 
Mr. S. J. Hunt "sjhunt" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After reading this I can well understand the Shakespeare related theories. Each play is well and timelessly executed.
My particular favourite is Tamburlaine, which (strangely enough) encouraged me to look into the history of the man behind the myth.
The one down side is his treatment of the Faust myth. It seemed clumsy, preachy, without the versatility offered by a more morally ambiguous treatment of other versions. Perhaps I have been spoiled by Goethe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Faustus, 3 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. Piotr J. Masiak "Piotr" (MK, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Faustus and Other Plays: Tamburlaine, Parts I and II; Doctor Faustus, A- and B-Texts; The Jew of Malta; Edward II (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I like Marlow and am fascinated by this auto-bio. play in two bits!
Dr Faustus, A & B, simply fluent and brilliant. The modern touches are hardly noticeable and the poetry (10 usual beat bars) is divine.
His ad-lib type prose is a must for modern playwrights, too; none of the plays seem dated, still fresh and lively and reflect Protestantism anti-popery (and I am tagged RC!)slap-stick; (read "Time" July 26th., p.8) about modern-day catholic feeling a la americaine! ie., anti-popish!
Sorry, going on too much. A very enjoyable roller-coaster of a play, apologies to Mr Blackadder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good collection of Marlowe's plays, 23 Aug. 2011
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Faustus and Other Plays: Tamburlaine, Parts I and II; Doctor Faustus, A- and B-Texts; The Jew of Malta; Edward II (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I love Marlowe for his exuberant wit and fine intelligence, and this collection of plays shows them off well.

Doctor Faustus re-tells the medieval story of the scholar who sells his soul to the devil for twenty-five years of power, and has been read as the basis for accusations of Marlowe being an 'atheist'; Tamburlaine tells the rise (part one) and fall (part two) of Tamburlaine, the Scythian shepherd with an eloquence that enables him to conquer great parts of the world; The Jew of Malta is darkly funny; and Edward II is a royal tragedy that tangles gender, sexuality and the political inextricably.

It seems rather odd that Oxford have not just published all of Marlowe's plays together here, but what they do give us is done well.

Marlowe was killed before he reached the age of 30, and might well have out-Shakespeared Shakespeare if he had lived. If you haven't read or seen his works before, this is an excellent edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good edition, 8 Dec. 2013
By 
Dr. K. E. Patrick (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Faustus and Other Plays: Tamburlaine, Parts I and II; Doctor Faustus, A- and B-Texts; The Jew of Malta; Edward II (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
This is one of those books that makes you keep your pinkie finger about 300 pages toward the back of the book so that you can flip back and forth between the text you're reading and the reference notes at the end.

What makes it even more awkward is that the symbol that indicates a footnote exists is a little circle at the end of the line, a symbol which rarely refers to the word at the end of the line, but some word within the line instead.

Just awkward, awkward, awkward.

The Longman version looks like it has its notes on facing pages, which some might prefer; or the Literary Touchstone Classic, which seems to have fewer notes to clutter up the flow of reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Faustus and Other Plays: Tamburlaine, Parts I and II; Doctor Faustus, A- and B-Texts; The Jew of Malta; Edward II (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Brilliant. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars second hand drama volume, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Faustus and Other Plays: Tamburlaine, Parts I and II; Doctor Faustus, A- and B-Texts; The Jew of Malta; Edward II (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
The book arrived in time, it is good quality, as indicated on the website. It is always worth ordering second hand books, as the price is far more realistic than that of new books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Faustus and Other Plays: Tamburlaine, Parts I and II; Doctor Faustus, A- and B-Texts; The Jew of Malta; Edward II (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Great plays, in a good collection. Delivered quickly, no hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews