Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Student books.
Often a book is read because it is required reading. In this case i loved all the stories and the book arrived promptly and well packed as usual.
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
The writing did not flow for me and I found the pace very slow.
Published 18 days ago by PK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 7 July 2014
This review is from: The Awakening: And Other Stories (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
The writing did not flow for me and I found the pace very slow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Student books., 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Awakening: And Other Stories (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Often a book is read because it is required reading. In this case i loved all the stories and the book arrived promptly and well packed as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of its time, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Awakening: And Other Stories (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I must confess that I had never heard of Kate Chopin until I read this book for an Open University course. The work has been likened, understandably, to Flaubert's Madame Bovary, and while there are resonances of that work, the heroine (or anti-heroine, perhaps) Edna is a more profound and complex character than the somewhat vacuous Emma. This is a brave work; written at the end of the nineteenth century, it addresses issues that novellists rarely dared to tackle until some sixty years later. There is no moralising and one of the beauties of the novel is that the reader can read just as much between the lines as the text provides. Kate Chopin deserves her renaissance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars suitable reading group choice, 29 Jan 2010
By 
Lionel Leahy (brighton sussex uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book was chosen by my reading group, and provoked oue of the most lively discussions we have ever had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 9 July 2007
By 
Melons (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
I studied The Awakening' at uni and loved it! Chopin's work is beautiful and she deserves more credit in the literary world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a romamantic and enchanting novel, 3 Sep 2001
By A Customer
I found this the awakening and short stories novel a very classical piece of work, it helped me realize what it was like back in the day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Awakening: And Other Stories (Oxford World's Classics)
The Awakening: And Other Stories (Oxford World's Classics) by Kate Chopin (Paperback - 14 Aug 2008)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews