Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ripping good yarn
I bought this book for my summer holiday, I had a detective book, some heavy stuff and wanted a classic, moreover, I always loved that great studio Hammer Films version of She with Peter Cushing, Ursula Andres & Co, and the good looking one (no-one can remember his name). I wasn't disappointed from the first page I was really gripped as this is simply a great story, it...
Published on 25 Aug 2004 by Elizabeth Taylor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There are better books by this author
Not nearly as good as King Solomon's Mines, although the themes are very similar. This book doesn't flow as well and isn't nearly as exciting.
Published 20 months ago by Bert


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ripping good yarn, 25 Aug 2004
By 
Elizabeth Taylor (France) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my summer holiday, I had a detective book, some heavy stuff and wanted a classic, moreover, I always loved that great studio Hammer Films version of She with Peter Cushing, Ursula Andres & Co, and the good looking one (no-one can remember his name). I wasn't disappointed from the first page I was really gripped as this is simply a great story, it has mystery, adventure and a hidden city, it has glamour and sex appeal and history. I won't go into the story as if you haven't seen the film, watch it its a real laugh and a great way to spend a rainy sunday afternoon and if you haven't read the book read the other reviews which give an overview. To be honest the book is better than the movie as the characters are much more etched out in particular that of She, who we discover is a great intellectual (no doubt having watched all that history from afar) and is so stunningly beautiful that she wanders around covered with a sheet the whole time and the narrator we discover is a man of numerous and varied Freudian hang-ups about women. As a history graduate I also found the writing style most interesting, its very precise and more formal than books of today. The book and in particular the views of the narrator allow an insight into another time, when Britain ruled the world, when every square inch of the our world wasn't visible to the CIA via satellite, when there was the lure of adventure and discovery. On the other hand this was also a world when the British had a stiff upper lip, when foreign people were there to be dominated and conquered as savages, when women were not considered intellectually equal to men (hence She is somewhat out of the ordinary) and when an English gentleman did not have to earn his living so could gaunt off around the world. For example our narrator is seriously worried that She is so intelligent she could rule the world, and, imagine the horror of our English gentleman if the British empire risked being replaced on the world stage. So if you want to get into the mind set of Mr. Victorian empire man this is not a bad start and its a good read to boot.
So as I said this is a great adventure yarn, what with cannibals, hidden cities, darkest Africa and so on, but, can be read on other levels. I read it in 2 days on the beach and was gripped, then I gave it to my sister who also read from start to finish. So forget the classic literature title its just a good story. The only other comment I had is that this version which I purchased from Amazon has quite poor quality paper and very small print so that even if you have the slightest bad vision you will be staring very hard at the pages! so be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She's a vintage beauty, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She (Kindle Edition)
Characters and some of the language a bit dated (you would expect this) and definitely not pc, but that's why I really enjoyed this book. It does not pretend to be anything other than just a great adventure story that hooks you from the beginning then reels you in like an expert angler.
Wonderful stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic thrills, 11 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. Penelope J. Jaquet (Cheltenham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She (Kindle Edition)
Everyone has seen the film I suppose, all glorious colour and cinematic thrills, and to be honest a little bit off the plot, but it's a good start. Read the book and you get the real story of Holly, Leo and Ayesha, and believe me it is well worth it. Although written in un-PC times, and you may find some of this difficult to ignore, it is still gripping. No long desert treks and volcanos, but descriptive journeys that will make you shudder, and good old fashioned friendship and loyalty amongst the hardships. The writing style too is plain and straightforward, easy to read, and easy to enjoy. Go on, try this classic, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, macabre and melodramatic, 25 Nov 2009
By 
Secret Spi (Germany) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
H.Rider Haggard's character "She" should be the ideal woman - the wisdom and experience of thousands of years in the body of a stunning beauty in the prime of life. But for Horace Holly and his ward Leo Vincey, the encounter with this all-powerful queen ends in horror and tragedy.

The story of "She" is one of the first in the "Lost World" genre, written back in the 1880s. Yet it is still readable and enjoyable today as it is a book that works on many levels. There is the adventure story - set at a time when much of the world was still unexplored and before aeroplanes made it possible to glimpse into the uncharted territory. There are the philosophical musings of Holly and She herself on life, death, love, civilisation and religion. There are the fantastic and macabre elements which make the book quite spine-chilling in places. And there is the glimpse into the late-Victorian way of thinking.

The book has some beautiful passages on top of the action - the description of the sunrise after the storm and the ruins of the city of Kor in the moonlight come to mind. And there is humour, too - albeit some of it unintentional (I am afraid I could not think of the Amahagger "hot-potting" without an image of Winnie-the-Pooh and the honey jar on his head coming to mind!). There have been some criticisms of the "misogynist" nature of the book, but I feel it is Holly who is the misogynist, not Rider Haggard. In fact, the following comment made me laugh rather than offending: "True, in uniting himself to this dread woman, he would place his life under the influence of a mysterious creature of evil tendencies, but then that would be likely enough to happen to him in an ordinary marriage."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite terrifying in places, 2 Jan 2007
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a gripping read, quite a horrific and violent novel, much more so than the famous film starring Ursula Andress and Peter Cushing. While the overall plot and names of the characters are the same, there are many other differences, particularly in the character of the narrator Holly (the Peter Cushing character), who in the book is hairy and ugly (nicknamed "the Baboon" by Billali) and so strong that at one point he quite graphically crushes two people to death with his bare hands. There is also a lot of dialogue between Holly and She, discussing philosophy and history in a way that could probably not have been commercially realised on film. The book delivers quite a strong emotional impact and is well worth reading. (The only note of caution I would add is that, as a novel of its time, the characters hold assumptions about the racial superiority of the white man that we do not today, which results in some slightly jarring comments early on in the novel.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Adventure!, 8 Aug 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Victorian adventure novels often got bogged down in descriptive detail that made them serve a secondary purpose as travelogues. She fits into that model rather nicely with great amounts of detail about the imaginary African tribe of the Amahaggers. Pared down, the Amahaggers enhance the main story in this version.
The book opens as Horace Holly's dying friend begs Horace to take on the task of raising the friend's five-year-old son and preparing him for a challenge when he becomes twenty-five. Since Horace is an honest, hard-working sort and the position pays well, it is an easy decision. Horace and the boy, Leo, quickly become close, and Leo treats him like a favorite uncle.
On Leo's twenty-fifth birthday, they open a mysterious chest that Leo's father has left in Horace's care. Eventually, this reveals an ancient story from Leo's family written on a potshard. On the potshard, there seems to be information about the potential for discovering the secret of eternal life. This requires a trek to Africa. Along the way, Leo falls gravely ill but they are rescued by the Amahaggers who have ordered by She-who-is-to-be-obeyed not to hurt them.
The rest of the story unweaves the fantasy tale of how the 2,000 year old Ayesha, She-who-is-to-be-obeyed, became connected to Leo's family. Ayesha is a little out of date in her preferences, still being an Egyptian-style autocrat with a taste for the macabre. I wouldn't have gone out with her on a second date myself, no matter how beautiful she was. The Gloria Swanson role in Sunset Boulevard is evoked in She.
The story is an interesting one, because it builds around the potential of having a world in which women rule by right. That theme was most appropriate for Queen Victoria's time, and the novel considers the Amahaggers, She, and Queen Victoria as alternative models of female leadership. Because of our current enthusiasm for equal opportunity for the sexes, the book is more contemporary in its social commentary than you might think. I saw a parallel in She's overwhelming impact on men to the tragedies that often befall female movie stars who have similar appeals, such as Marilyn Monroe.
Clearly, the message that emerges is that a balance between women and men is better than either the male or the female dominated society. A good thing to think about after you listen to or read this book is what the benefits of balance are. They extend beyond sexual politics. In what other areas is balance better than dominance by a single perspective or influence?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but long winded, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She (Kindle Edition)
Another cracking tale from Mr Haggard, I have said 'long winded' as there are several ancient scrolls and tablets that are translated in the book and we are given the original hieroglyph text then a Greek or Arabic then finally an English version, all of this takes several pages. Also the pace of the book isn't as gripping as King Solomon's mines or Allan quartermain.
But it is an intriguing story with good character writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having grown up watching the film with Ursula Andreas, I have always wanted too read the book. The film does deviate from the book in certain areas, so in reading the book you do get the whole storey, lots more information and explanations. Well worth a read if you enjoy adventure,mystery and a little magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There are better books by this author, 23 Aug 2012
This review is from: She (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Not nearly as good as King Solomon's Mines, although the themes are very similar. This book doesn't flow as well and isn't nearly as exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "It's Pronounced Assha!", 8 Dec 2011
This review is from: She (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
The introduction, of the "was entrusted with the account of this true story" variety leads to some notes in the text, many of which relate to the history of events & 1 of which spells out how to pronounce the name Ayesha.
The story is told in the words of Horace Holly, whose accquaintance's dying wish was for Holly to take charge of his son & estate. Holly is considered by many including himself to be a physically unappealing man, ugly faced man (Bilali affectionately nicknames him "baboon") & the feeling is that he lives life through his adopted son Leo Vincey.
Revealing documents showing a family history dating back 1000's of years all connected to an allegedly immortal woman (Ayesha-she who must be obeyed, gives holly an adventure to share with Leo as they together with servant Job, search for Ayesha & the truth.
Holly as narrator works very well because he is the novel's rock, grounding it amidst several flights of fantasy-perfectly preserved corpses, the possible re-animation of the dead, reincarnation & of course a flame that grants eternal life. These ideas are the more believable because Holly believes them on seeing proof, despite his sceptic nature. Indeed he is the charcter who is realsitic enough to scorn a gift of eternal life.
The novel offers many dangers on the way to meeting Ayesha, a perilous sea crossing, a tribe ready to kill when their customs are scorned & here Haggard's descriptive powers keep the tale moving. The pace may well seem a slow burn to younger readers e.g. Ayesha does not meet Leo for around 200 pages.
The idea that Leo could be a reincarnation of Ayesha's lost love Kallikrates (murdered by her in a jealous rage)works well & was probably startlingly original on 1st publication.
The character of Ayesha is the most extraordinary, she is amoral because her longevity has left her jaded as to the nature of good and evil. She is the focus of philosophical discussion such as if good can come from evil and evil can come out of good, do such concepts have any meaning? She is a fascinating & not exactly villainous but unnerving character, witness her megalomaniac ambitions for the wider world should she choose to rejoin it.
The character of Leo is a bit bland. He is young , fit & ready for adventure but that's about it. The only problem here is that when he falls under Ayesha's spell and changes his mind about her, this looks like a plot demand more than character development.
There are some bigotted sentiments expressed when they are onboard ship with a foreign crew and later with the tribe which are probably a sign of the time it was written in, not that that makes them something to applaud.

As to how it compares to adaptations, of the 2 I've seen it did little more than inspire the Sandahl Bergman version of She but the Hammer one is a fair adaptation. Where the novel differs from Hammer's famous Ursula Andress version is the ending is slightly different and Bilali is much older, kinder and not villainous in the novel. That said though he does relate a disturbing tale of falling in love with a preserved female corpse which he used to visit and to this day keep the foot of! I'm not making it up, he really kept the foot! Admittedly Holly has to admit, it's a really nice foot but even so!

It is set up for a sequel (Ayesha The Return of She which I've almost finished) & is a very enjoyable book, that is surely due a new film adaptation. Pacing is not quite up to speed for 5 stars but a highly recommended book nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa11f5aec)

This product

She (Oxford World's Classics)
She (Oxford World's Classics) by H. Rider Haggard (Paperback - 12 Jun 2008)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews