Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henrik Ibsen - 100 years ahead of his time ...
I love Henrik Ibsen - my old time favourites are : Doll's House and Hedda Gabler.
They are so timeless. Henrik Ibsen is one of those rare realist writers who crafted his playwrights carefully with sheer profound clarity and he was 100 years ahead of his time. He is provoking by addressing taboo issues such as psychopathy (Hedda Gabler - female aristoctratic...
Published 10 months ago by Elfin

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
did not order this book?
Published 24 days ago by Gill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henrik Ibsen - 100 years ahead of his time ..., 16 July 2014
By 
Elfin "T H" (London Border - Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Major Plays: (Doll's House; Ghosts; Hedda Gabler; and The Master Builder) (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I love Henrik Ibsen - my old time favourites are : Doll's House and Hedda Gabler.
They are so timeless. Henrik Ibsen is one of those rare realist writers who crafted his playwrights carefully with sheer profound clarity and he was 100 years ahead of his time. He is provoking by addressing taboo issues such as psychopathy (Hedda Gabler - female aristoctratic psychopath who uses her superficial charm to advance herself to get anything she desires ) and 'feminist issues' in the Doll's House. He was accused of being 'feminist' - but of course it wasn't true - he was just a great observer of society at around the time when freudian theories were emerging.
I was only 18 yrs old when I first read The Doll's House addressing feminist issues such as 'what is it like being trapped in a relationship'. (The Doll's House is a symbol of her entrapment.)
So many people analyzed this masterpiece and I will not give away the story line and the plot just highlight a few iconic lines when at times WORDS do speak louder than actions:

TORWALD: "You have ruined my happiness. You have ruined my future. Terrible. He can do whatever he wants me now..."
NORA: "When I am DEAD - he won't be able to."
TORWALD: " Oh, don't be so pathetic. You sound like your father. HOW WOULD IT HELP ME IF YOU WERE DEAD? WHAT DIFFERENCE WOULD THAT MAKE? NONE .."

... and NORA has her light-bulb moment when she comes to terms with her life she lived has been a lie and you hear those iconic words that you almost know by heart:

NORA: " ... This wasn't really a house. It was a playroom. I have been your doll ..."

...and it doesn't matter at which European theatre they play this masterpiece -the audience goes quite whilst she delivers her longer monologue and you can feel that sense of tension in the air before she walks through that iconic door leaving her lawyer husband and three children behind. (You could also view the play at the Young Vic Theatre in South London.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Collection, 8 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Four Major Plays: (Doll's House; Ghosts; Hedda Gabler; and The Master Builder) (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
This superb collection of the defining works of one of the world's greatest playwrights should be on everyone's reading list. These are ageless and timeless works that speak to eternal issues. I personally treasure this collection and turn to it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for any student, 22 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
As a student myself, I rate this edition of Ibsen's, "Hedda Gabler" very highly due to its great layout and invaluable commentary. The play itself is gripping, written in a comic style, although essentially a tragedy. For me, the play really came to life after reading the accompanying commentary. Details about all the characters' backgrounds and Ibsen's background help really put the play into context.
I truly recommend this edition to any student who might wish to study the play. I also highly recommend the play in general, as Ibsen's message is powerful in realising the social constraints people were faced with in the late 1800's (does this message still ring true today??).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpieces, in fine translations; and a note to Oxford, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Major Plays: (Doll's House; Ghosts; Hedda Gabler; and The Master Builder) (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Four of Ibsen's greatest plays, taken from what is, in my opinion the best edition of Ibsen that we have had in our language, the Oxford Ibsen of James McFarlane et al. However, for this paperback reissue, some of the valuable appendices were removed. This is a shame but utterly justifiable. It does create a slight impression of incompetence, however, when, on p. 88, I read 'For an insight [...etc...] see his letters to a Copenhagen newspaper [...] (translated below, pp. 454–56)' and find that this book only has 355 pages.

Regardless, four masterpieces in elegant and idiomatic translations, which make for intense literary pleasure; and the plays can be enjoyed perfectly well without the extra letters, &c. However, Oxford University Press, if you are reading this, it is virtually impossible for a young Ibsen-enthusiast to get hold of the Oxford Ibsen (or any complete Ibsen in English, for that matter) nowadays; so, perhaps the time has come to reissue all of his plays—perhaps more cost-effectively, in paperback (with appendices, preferably).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars best playwright, best plays- love ghosts, 2 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Four Major Plays: (Doll's House; Ghosts; Hedda Gabler; and The Master Builder) (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I've read a lot of Ibsen's plays - these are the best, my favorite playwright - I would read Ghosts first - then move onto the Doll's house, then Hedda. Also the Wild Duck is a nice one but not part of this collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant production, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally bought this cd in order to understand the story as I was auditioning for a part in a local production. It is superb. All the cast are top notch and convey the story of Hedda's great disappointments with her marriage and lot in life. Michael Maloney as her husband is very amusing and you could well understand how his annoying tone and lack of understanding of his wife' frustrations would lead her to do the desperate things she does. For any student of theatre and Ibsen's work this translation is a winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great edition :), 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Major Plays: (Doll's House; Ghosts; Hedda Gabler; and The Master Builder) (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I bought this collection for my A-level wider reading. I have already read "A doll's house" and "Hedda Gabler" and really enjoyed them. I recommend this edition as it has lots of extra information about the playwright and the reception of the plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars IBSEN - VARIOUS WORKS, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Major Plays: (Doll's House; Ghosts; Hedda Gabler; and The Master Builder) (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
FOUR MAJOR PLAYS. An excellent collection of some of Ibsen's finest work. Well crafted, thought provoking examples that defy conventional stereotyping of women. Insightful, provocative and overall a highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a level book, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Major Plays: (Doll's House; Ghosts; Hedda Gabler; and The Master Builder) (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
i got this for my daughter who is doing her a levels , it was recommended by her teacher and she was able to do her course work, not something we normally would have got, but she enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent edition, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Major Plays: (Doll's House; Ghosts; Hedda Gabler; and The Master Builder) (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Good working edition. Reliable translation. Useful introduction Can be handled without falling to pieces during rehearsal! get the hardback for your library, these are MAJOR works of art,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews