Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars327
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2004
Most of the translations of the Qur'an are very choppy; translating the Arabic text as prose. However, this edition is very good for English speakers because it allows one to follow the stories and the arguments therein. Therefore, instead of it being difficult to comprehend due to lingustic difficulties for English speaker, it is an excellent read allowing one to understand the meanings with better understanding. I would recommend this book as a strarting point for non-Muslims as an intorduction to the Qur'an and Islam in English.
22 comments|191 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2004
I own many of the major translations (Yusuf Ali, Pikthall etc) and find this to be the best all round translation into modern English.
Whilst a short commentary exists, it doesn't take up half the page and the focus always remains on the word of God. Each surah is introduced with a few lines to outline the basic principles and happenings. The text isn't presented in seperate verses and instead appears as continuous prose with each verse numbered.
The aim of every new translation nowadays is to render the meaning in an easy to understand way and this particular translation succeeds in doing that very well. The actual book is bound beautifully and presented nicely.
This is the translation I use most now; it is very complete.
0Comment|178 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2006
Finally, a translation of the Quraan that is both readable and accurate! This is long overdue. As an Arabic/English billingual speaker, I have long been frustrated by old fashioned inaccurate translations. I stumbled across this one by chance, and all I can say to the author is - Thank you so much for your effort. I hope your book takes over as the most widely accepted translation of the Quran.
0Comment|111 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2006
Up until now, I've always had a problem with the Qur'an. Countless authorities have claimed it as the masterpiece of classical Arabic prose, in much the same way that the King James Bible is sometimes regarded in a similar light by fans of English. But I can't read Arabic, so I have to use a translation, and every translation of the Qur'an that I've ever tried to read has been in what seemed to my eye like a poor imitation of biblical English. The result was that I could never understand why so many Muslims hold the book in such esteem. Thanks to M.A. Abdel Haleem's extraordinary work, it's no longer quite such a mystery to me.

The language seems fresh and vivid and powerful. This is surely the most significant translation into English of a major religious text since the Jewish Publication Society's magisterial version of the Tanakh in the mid-80s. You don't have to be a religious person to admire and even enjoy the writing purely as literature; I'm not at all, but at last I can do both. The introduction is very interesting about the different historical layers of the text, indicating where the Prophet changed his mind about this and that, and also demonstrating how certain verses (about, for example, Muslims' right to defend themselves when attacked in certain holy places) have been taken out of context and used to justify murder. Nothing new about the word of god being used to justify human crimes - the other two great Religions of the Book have been doing it for millennia - but since so much writing about Islam in English is either apologetic (if it's by a Muslim) or ignorant (if it's by a non-Muslim), it's refreshing to have someone let the rest of us witness Islam arguing with itself in such a civilised, humane and intelligent way.
22 comments|73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2009
The Qur'an suffers from the same translation problems as the Bible, only more so: impossibility of conveying beauty of original language, cultural differences between time and place of writing and reading, human limitations of translators. While the Bible is now typically translated by committees, the Qur'anic translations available in English are by individuals, often not native English speakers, coming from quite different Muslim populations in south Asia, Indonesia, Iran, Turkey, Arabia. All this just to remind you that, just as any serious Bible reader would look at multiple translations, so should anyone trying to give the Qur'an a fair chance in English. I wish a parallel Qur'an existed like the parallel Bibles you can buy!

Having expended a fair amount of time and money buying most of the translations and poring through them, I'd list four worth your consideration. (1) Start with a straight reading copy in straight English: M.A.S. Abdel Haleem. The English is natural, the text is single-column without the Arabic on the right. But there are no notes, and even if you understand the words, the sentences make little sense to a non-Arabic non-7th-century reader without some explanation.

The notes, though, are where opinion starts to creep in from the various Muslim viewpoints around the world. I ended up with three more options: (2) Abdullah Yusuf Ali. The main text itself is almost unintelligible, because he had a misguided notion of conveying the beauty of classical Arabic with a kind of ersatz King James Version scrambled by Indian English, and you probably don't even understand the KJV of the Bible as well as you think. In this edition, the copious notes offer sometimes the historical background, sometimes a deeper analysis of the original Arabic, sometimes a pious kind of "Life Application." They are pretty good in a non-scholarly way and as a non-Muslim thoughtful reader, if I had to stick with one set of notes I'd go with these.

But if you want to read as if had grown up in a normal Muslim background, that is, to know the traditional interpretations and views of major commentators contained in the hadith, add (3) Muhammad Muhsin Khan and Muhammed Taqi-ud-Din Al-Hilali. Their notes quote chapter and verse verbatim from the most historically important commentators, Tabari, Qurtubi, and Ibn Kathir. But this doesn't really work as your main translation. Though the text itself is a lot better than Abdullah Yusuf Ali's, it wanders through a maze of parentheses and untranslated Arabic words. And there are not enough notes: you don't get "this came up when Muhammed was asked about the inheritance of women,'' or "compare with surah x: y."

That brings you to (4) Muhammad Asad, an Austrian convert, born Leopold Weiss. His translation itself is about on a par with (3): it more or less works in English, but you may get distracted by all the parentheses and there is a little too much flowery language. His notes are at least as numerous as in (2), but Asad/Weiss naturally had a better idea about what might confuse the average non-Muslim reader. He offers a reasonable combination of the scholar's hadith and the layman's history plus moral application. Unfortunately, the hadith are not identified with the name of their authors, the opinions of Asad himself are frequently seen by the Muslim mainstream as non-standard (read: incorrect), and you can't tell the difference. You don't know whether what any given note says is just Asad's individual, controversial opinion, or a point of view most Muslims are at least familiar with. What's more, this is a huge book, like volume M of the Encylopedia Britannica. You're not going to be carrying it to class or reading it in bed. That said, it is the only one of the four that gives a transliteration of the Arabic so that the Muslim convert can read it aloud without knowing Arabic.

You probably don't want to spend all this time, money, and shelf space, so I'd say: read (1) the Abdel Haleem translation and with (2) Abdullah Yusuf Ali's notes to hand. And lobby the next smart Muslim you meet to give us a reasonable all-in-one Study Qur'an!
33 comments|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
Very easy to read, and very useful. With limited space you get the Qur'an in a different approach to layout. Set in paragraphs in a story-like structure it's vastly easier to read.

The translation itself is in layman English. Having read various other translations you do get a very good likeness to the intended meanings. However, as a student of the works of Nauman Ali Khan and the linguistic approach to Qur'anic literature there are some terms that can be interpreted differently.

Alhamdulillah the effort in translation is by far one of the best to derive context and is greatly supported by another book called "Understanding the Qur'an" - also found here on Amazon.

I have purchased two. One for myself and one for a "disbeliever" who requested it. I'll provide feedback as to how he found it to be from someone with only references to the Qur'an from sources like Dawkins, Sam Harris, Krouss, and so on. I did purchase it for myself after being so pleasantly surprised by the ease of read.

Bear in mind, this is an interpretation. Allah knows best.
review image review image review image
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
I am Christian and have never read any version of the Qur'an before so have no comparison,and I have only read the first 5 sura's(sections)so far, but I would highly recommend this version to anyone who (like me ) was curious to find out the truth about what exactly it did sanction. Non Muslims tend to believe that it sanctions violence against the rest of the non Muslim world. This is completely untrue. This is a misconception fuelled by terrorists to justify violence. i was surprised to find that it also tells Muslims that not only is this the word of Allah (God)but that the(Christian) Holy Bible and (Jewish) Torah are in fact ALSO the word of god. The word Islam explained IN context in the Arabic Holy Qur'an actually means "complete devotion/submission to God." Isn't this what the Holy Bible and the Torah say too? The Qur'an refers the Christians and Jews as "People of the book" and forbids arguments between Muslims and anyone who believes in the one true God. I know a few Muslim people and this book has given me a better insight into their beliefs. It has made me realise that we have much more in common than we have to differ about. I can hardly put this book down it is so interesting. I would highly recommend it to anyone who has any opinions on religion, negative or positive. It will open your eyes and make you ask questions but not in a bad way.
1515 comments|85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2009
I have virtually every translation in English and this text without doubt ranks as one of the most direct and lucid translations for the modern English reader.

I was particularly impressed by the linguistic accuracy of several of the subtle points which other translators have often misrepresented and consequently have lost some of the fully magnificence and emotional impact of the original text. Not so in this text. The parenthesised sections, included to enhance the reader's comprehension, are used sparingly and in an appropriate context. The brief summary at the heading of each chapter is creditworthy and for me was a great joy as it is really nice to see a summary of the chapters key message before reading the text.

All in all a really scholarly work and beautifully translated. A real must have for anyone interested in getting a flavour of the real meaning of the Quran.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2006
I recently bought this translation after having used Dawood's translation for some time. I must say the ease of using this one is enormous compared to Dawood's. The chapters are in the same order as the Arabic version. Each chapter begins with a small introduction giving the context. The verses are numbered but not cut into separate sentences, rather the prose flows to make sense. Some important footnotes clarify complex linguistic issues in translation as well as provide historical background if needed. Overall the translation is a pleasure to read and reflects the true spirit of Islam. I would strongly recommend it to anyone - Muslim or non-Muslim.
0Comment|60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
I came across this translation while browsing through a bookstore. Reading the first page got me hooked: unlike many other translation which are segmented to follow the Arabic verses and so tend to give a disjointed feel, this reads like an novel where the flow of the Arabic message is maintained through the chapter.

This allows one to understand the translation as the Arabic is understood.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)