Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King James Bible
Well this bible is perfect for me. For me the richness of this version of the bible cannot be beaten. I have other versions of the bible but I think that the King James is nearer to the original versions written in Hebrew and Greek. The type face is nice and clear with the verse numbers at the beginning of the line ie each verse starts a new paragraph. Some of my other...
Published on 30 April 2010 by Jan

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Scholarship great, Kindle formatting poor.
I have the hard copy of this and bought the Kindle version also for ease of carrying. However, compared with a much cheaper Kindle product (The Definitive Revised English Version of the Bible) the contents is very sparsely formatted with links. By contrast, the cheaper Bible version has a richly linked contents section which is extremely useful. So whilst, as might be...
Published 23 months ago by Dr. N. Dobson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars excellent item, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
good sized font. lovely different cover, brought this as a present for my mums birthday and she absolutely loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bible, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Came swiftly in good packaging - most useful format and excellent quality product wonderfully laid out to inform and entertain. Good value for money thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Apocrypha Bible, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I am very happy with the purchase of this product, The price was very affordable, The product was exactly what i needed and am well pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars paperback KJV Bible, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Little more can be said about this timeless classic least of all by myself.
well manufactured but with extensive reading may deteriorate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product !!!, 25 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Arrived promptly and quality of paper and binding is very good. The print is small but not so small that you battle to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars huzzah!, 14 May 2006
By 
B. Dixon (Boston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am an agnostic, but found The Bible a great read. Stories and perhaps true events are symbolic and powerful, I finished breathless and a different man. Even if you are not a christian, The Bible can teach you many valuable lessons and help you understand an entire culture and philsophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, 19 July 2004
The whole story kicks off in the Garden of Eden when man (and wo-man) are expelled by God for having eaten something they were told not to, thus setting in motion a rather fantastical plot. The story develops when people start multiplying and at first the tale reads like the phone book, but later develops into a story about the liberation of slaves from Egypt and goes on, from chapter to chapter, in amazing form, discussing everything from the wisdom of kings, to fidelity and the problem of suffering. The earlier of the two books comprising this volume cleverly underlines the development of God's character from it's infancy and savagery to the point where, after some pause for thought in the story's chronology, God realises the error of his ways and repents for being such a cruel creator. In order to reconcile himself with his alienated people he must amend for his barbarism. This he does by taking on human form in the body of his only son, whose radical pacifism antagonise the authorities to the point where he is put to death cruelly, suffering both as God and man and thus carrying the weight of all sin upon his shoulders. Thereafter, through the divine connection, the dead son rises, overcoming death and leaving behind a legacy for those who wish to follow in his footsteps and be in God's good books come the end of time. The last chapter describes the apocalypse and is somewhat confusing. Overall though, the story is cleverly woven, focusing on the details of individual characters in ancient times whilst maintaining a grander notion of the development of the relationship between "God the husband" and "Isreal the bride" (which the Son eventually ammends to "Everyone else the bride"), whilst implying that with God's growing wisdom his strength and aggression wane.
As a measure of the impact of this book culturally it is worth noting that it has been the pillar of Christianity (an astoundingly popular religious movement) for quite a few hundred years, and thus is an accomplishment in culture far exceeding that of any other work to date. Sadly, it was omitted from the recent compilation of 100 best books of all time (as seen on the BBC), but nonetheless should consider its reputation unshaken. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars seven sheep on the Ark shock!., 15 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Having studies several different versions of the Bible I was rather disappointed to discover all the scriptural mistakes in this version. King James I (VI for all you Scots) was obviously keen to erradicate any trace of monarchical criticism that the original English translators had retained from the Greek version. Whilst it is a seminal text that underpins modern English language and culture if you want a bible that is closer to the original aims of the first translators then the Geneva bible is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Required reading to promote cultural awareness, but I question the veracity of The Bible., 11 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
There is no doubt that The Bible has been the most influential book ever written.
It has influenced our literature, language and art.

Some people would say that it was written by God, but I do not believe that at all as
I would question the veracity of The Bible.

There are many reasons to question the veracity The Bible. There is an issue concerning
passages describing the same events, but with differing details. There are two accounts of
the creation of the world and of humans at the beginning of the book of Genesis, two accounts
of the Flood, several versions of the Ten Commandments, and so forth. Did God make animals
before humans, as in Genesis 1:24-26, or did he first make a human, and then animals, as in
Genesis 2:7, 19? Did God tell Noah to bring a pair of each species of animal into the ark,
as in Genesis 6:19, or seven pairs of clean animals and only one pair of the unclean, as in
Genesis 7:3? Did God give the Ten Commandments to Moses on Mount Sinai, as in Exodus 19:20,
or on Mount Horeb, as in Deuteronomy 5:2? Such inconsistencies are hardly characteristic
of great writers, whether divine or human.

Although there are two Flood myths in the Holy Bible, there are many other Flood myths
in non-biblical literature.
Much of the biblical flood story was actually plagiarized from "The Epic of Gilgamesh",
the mythical Sumerian account of Ut-Napishtim written on stone tablets around 2000 BC.
Various themes, plot elements and characters in the Epic of Gilgamesh have counterparts in
the book of Genesis, notably in the stories of the Garden of Eden and Noah's Flood.

Please do not take my word for it. You could look these myths up for yourself.
This is a good starting point
[...]

If you wish, you may read these myths in books like these:-
The Epic of Gilgamesh (Penguin Classics)
Myths from Mesopotamia: Creation, The Flood, Gilgamesh, and Others (Oxford World's Classics)

To help you form your own opinion and to present the Christian perspective,
The Institute for Creation Research explains The Epic of Gilgamesh here
[...]

In addition to this, it is interesting to note, that in this book
The Old Testament: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions)
the author, Michael D. Coogan, Professor of Religious Studies, Stonehill College, USA, refers to The
Epic of Gilgamesh and other myths. In the book, which contains both positive and
negative criticism, he states that the Holy Bible is "imbued with Myth".

I do not believe that God, even if he did exist, could have written or inspired the Holy Bible.

I would say, however, that everyone should read it thoroughly and as objectively as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has it all, 1 Sept. 2011
By 
J. Ross - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
This book really does have it all - Sex, murder, duplicity, magic-tricks, incest and ghosts!

It's like a full season of Dynasty set a few thousand years ago with a guest appearance by Superman.

**SPOILER ALERT**

I was extremely disappointed when the hero dies prematurely however I will only say - keep reading, there's a surprise around the corner.

Bad points:

1. Whilst the lead character is from the middle-east it never explains why he has a Hispanic name.
2. It does seem to repeat itself a lot and I was constantly expecting the Charlton Heston character to return with super-powers like Jesus.
3. A bit depressing in the end - could do with a rewrite of the last few chapters, **SPOILER** the "everyone dies" scenario strikes me that the author ran out of ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics)
The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics) by Robert Carroll (Paperback - 17 April 2008)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews