Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb for both the general reader and the student
This is a superb edition of Shakespeare's "The Winter's Tale". The comprehensive introduction gives a good overview of the history of the play, and critical approaches to it. The notes - set out on the same page as the text - elucidate difficult passages, give glosses on words no longer current in the English language, and list possible variant readings. The appendices...
Published on 27 May 2010 by M. F. Cayley

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
I like Shakespeare, I really, really do. At school, I was one of the few who actively was quite joyful when we went to see his works acted out, or read them in class, so I don't want people to think I just "don't get him". But, I struggled a bit to see this as one story. The first act was excellent, dark and intense and a certain character was delightfully hateable...
Published 14 months ago by Libertina Grimm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter's Tale (Kindle Edition)
I like Shakespeare, I really, really do. At school, I was one of the few who actively was quite joyful when we went to see his works acted out, or read them in class, so I don't want people to think I just "don't get him". But, I struggled a bit to see this as one story. The first act was excellent, dark and intense and a certain character was delightfully hateable. However, after the first act, it just all went very down hill for me. I know I'm not expecting realism here, but the whole plot just became a little too far fetched by the final scene, especially the very ending (you'll know what I mean if you've read it).
On the whole, it's worth a read, but it definitely isn't my favourite Shakespeare, by a long way. Aside from "Exit, pursued by a bear", of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb for both the general reader and the student, 27 May 2010
By 
M. F. Cayley (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a superb edition of Shakespeare's "The Winter's Tale". The comprehensive introduction gives a good overview of the history of the play, and critical approaches to it. The notes - set out on the same page as the text - elucidate difficult passages, give glosses on words no longer current in the English language, and list possible variant readings. The appendices include the full text of Shakespeare's main source.

The play is a masterpiece of Shakespeare's final period, full of moving poetry and effective drama. It is probably easier to appreciate today than it was a few decades ago, because we have become used to modern plays which do not follow the conventions of realism.

The text of the play itself is in an easy to read format. Some may find the typeface for the notes a little on the small side, though the font is clear: but having them on the same page as the text is convenient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter's Tale (Kindle Edition)
I was very glad to get this free of charge, and enjoyed reading it. I will recommend it to my friends. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Shakespeare, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter's Tale (Kindle Edition)
As this is an e-book it was delivered within 30 seconds. As it is Shakespeare it's a good yarn. Not sure how you are supposed to review this type of book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated and dark beneath the romance, 11 Nov. 2009
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Winter's Tale: The Oxford Shakespeare (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
One of Shakespeare's late plays, this is a strange mix of tragedy, romance and a kind of comedy. As others have said, the linguistic sub-structure is complex and calls up various classical myths which are played out here but with a twist: Proserpina and the return of Spring; Pygmalion; the changeling/foundling myth which is used, for example, in Oedipus; and also hints and echoes of many of Shakespeare's own plays especially Othella, King Lear and Hamlet, as well as references to Henry VIII's marriage problems.

It's useful to have Greene's original Pandosto to see what Shakespeare does with this specific source and, especially, the way he writes out the incest theme.

So a more difficult and sophisticated play that it at first appears to be, and the ostensible happy ending doesn't quite succeed in wiping out the darkness at its heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forbid the sea for to obey the moon, 26 Aug. 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"The Winter's Tale" is one of Shakespeare's most underrated works, probably because it can't be easily classified as a romance or a comedy. That's a shame, because this lush, emotionally-wrenching little play displays Shakespeare's powerful writing and fine grasp of human nature. It's just incredibly moving and exquisitely written.

Polixenes, the King of Bohemia, has been visiting his pal King Leontes in Sicilia, and eventually he wants to go home. But after Queen Hermione convinces him to stay awhile, Leontes suddenly goes nuts and decides that Polixenes and Hermione have been having an affair, and that her unborn child must be his old friend's. Polixenes flees back to his own land, and Hermione dies soon after her newborn daughter is abandoned in the wilderness.

Of course, Leontes soon finds out that he was off his gourd, and that poor Hermione was completely innocent. Charming, isn't he? Sixteen years later, Polixenes' son Florizel falls in love with a mysterious young shepherdess, who is actually Leontes' daughter Perdita (of course!). But with royal opposition to their marriage, the young couple must overcome many obstacles before everything is settled happily.

"A Winter's Tale" is a curious hybrid of Shakespeare's different theatrical "types" -- there's some gentle comedy, some mellow tragedy, and a hefty dose of romance. The first three acts are basically one long disaster, with Leontes' crazy paranoia destroying his friendships, marriage and children's lives, until it seems that there's no happy ending for anybody.

But the last few acts are very different. Shakespeare's writing takes on a more romantic, sweet tone, particularly when Florizel and Perdita are lavishing lovers' praise on each other ("My prettiest Perdita!/But O, the thorns we stand upon!"). Having worked up a massive tragedy in the first parts of the play, Shakespeare spends the latter half repairing all the cracks in the characters' lives.

If there's a flaw in the story, it's that Hermione is so in love with a crazy belfry-bat like Leontes, but I suppose his story is meant to show the folly of letting suspicions rule your actions. Florizel and Perdita are charmingly earnest young lovers who initially know nothing of their parents' tragic past, and there are solid supporting characters like the thief Autolycus and the steadfast Camillo.

"The Winter's Tale" is an emotionally wrenching but eventually uplifting story, and a roller-coaster ride that plunges you down into tragedy before hoisting you back up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Winter's Tale, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter's Tale (Kindle Edition)
haven't read this for years, it's good to have some Shakespeare plays as free books on the kindle to reread them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Winter's Tale, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter's Tale (Kindle Edition)
This is a compelling short story with twists and a bit of fun. Just lacking the extra star as would have liked notes with it. Nevertheless a very good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars winter's tale,, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter's Tale (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant to have Shakespeare so available and easy to read in a font that suits me very much enjoyed re-acquainting myself with this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic text, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter's Tale (Kindle Edition)
Aside from some strange formatting of the verse in places, this version gives the reader everything that's needed to get acquainted with the play. And at 0.00p I can't fault it on pricing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Winter's Tale: The Oxford Shakespeare (Oxford World's Classics)
The Winter's Tale: The Oxford Shakespeare (Oxford World's Classics) by William Shakespeare (Paperback - 17 April 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews