Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not the size of your Hamlet...
King Lear is widely regarded as Shakespeare's most dramatically powerful play but the Prince of Denmark communicates to the reader in a way that no other character in the plays can. Hamlet is forced to confront and consider many problems with his family and friends and ultimately the meaning of life. It is these difficulties and the questions he ponders that make him...
Published on 5 Feb. 2011 by Dante the Igniscient

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is flawed. It is missing 20 lines ...
This book is flawed. It is missing 20 lines in Act I scenei. I used it with my class and realized this. The only reason to buy editions of Shakespeare from Oxford Press is the annotations and the authenticity. They fail at the latter. Lines 110-128 are missing. Buy from a publisher you can trust. They probably know of the flaw but would rather reimburse than to throw out...
Published 3 months ago by P. Van Egeren


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not the size of your Hamlet..., 5 Feb. 2011
By 
Dante the Igniscient "ashend10" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamlet: The Oxford Shakespeare (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
King Lear is widely regarded as Shakespeare's most dramatically powerful play but the Prince of Denmark communicates to the reader in a way that no other character in the plays can. Hamlet is forced to confront and consider many problems with his family and friends and ultimately the meaning of life. It is these difficulties and the questions he ponders that make him tragically human and therefore endearing and engaging to the reader.

I was looking for an accessible and readable Hamlet and found this oxford edition. At 406 pages it is probably larger than most other editions available but roughly a third of it consists of a general introduction and a textual introduction. The general introduction briefly explores the sources, themes and primary characters of the play. The textual introduction explores the three most important texts: the First Quarto published in 1603, the Second Quarto dated either 1604 or 05 and the First Folio of 1623. It is the Folio copy that is used as the control text in this edition.

Every page of the play has numbered explanatory notes although some readers may find these intrusive. There are several b/w photographs of character actors and the covers of the original texts. The book itself is well made with sewn binding and the paper quality is very good. This is not the first Oxford World's Classic book I have bought and it will not be the last. The Oxford Hamlet is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good study edition of the play, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamlet: The Oxford Shakespeare (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Hamlet is one of the plays which has led some scholars to assert that the Renaissance is the moment when a move towards a modern sense of the self occurs. Hamlet's concern with his 'conscience', the glimpses we get of his subjectivity and interiority support this view but it's interesting that so much of the play is also concerned with acting: whether Hamlet's feigned madness, or the play which externalises Claudius' guilt.

This edition offers detailed readings, glosses and a textual introduction to help students navigate through both the play and some of the scholarship which surrounds it. Hamlet is a play which exists in different textual forms in the quartos and the First Folio, and it's helpful to have a detailed discussion of these variations accompanying the play-text itself. A very good study edition for students and general readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a brilliant copy of Hamlet, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamlet: The Oxford Shakespeare (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
This is a brilliant copy of Hamlet. There are notes on pretty much everything, the introduction is very helpful for understanding the world around the play and I have found this very helpful in my A2 studies of Hamlet. If you can afford it, I would definitely recommend this copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent work!, 8 Mar. 2014
By 
Brian D. Clausen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamlet: The Oxford Shakespeare (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Not surprisingly Shakespeare did not disappoint I would not have expected it any different. This book features a lot of background knowledge about the work as well as the whole play. I will no doubt buy another "Oxford Classic" version next time I need to read a play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On line course, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamlet: The Oxford Shakespeare (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I purchased this for an online course I am undertaking at it was the recommended version. I have studied Shakespeare before and Hamlet in particular so know the content quite well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You will be absorbed into the story, 1 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hamlet: The Oxford Shakespeare (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
This really is "The Tragical History of Hamlet Prince of Denmark" and not only the Prince but also his family. Not only his family but his friends. The tragedy started in the previous generation. Will it end with Hamlet?

Many people are interested in dissecting underlying themes and read more into the characters actions than was probably intended. Many of phrases from Hamlet now challenge Bible for those popular quotes that no one remembers where they came from. The real fun is in just reading the story and as you find that it is not as foreign as you may have thought; you see many characters like these around you today.

A synopsis, Old Hamlet conquered Old Fortinbras seizing Fortinbras' land. Now that Old Hamlet is dead, Young Fortinbras wants his land back and is willing to take it by force. Meanwhile back in Dänemark Prince Hamlet who is excessively grieving the loss of his father, the king, gets an interesting insight from his father's ghost. Looks like Old Hamlet was a victim of a "murder most foul"; it appears his mother and uncle were in cahoots on the murder. On top of that they even get married before the funeral meats are cold.

The story is about Hamlet's vacillating as to what to do about his father's murder. However he does surprise many with his persistence and insight.

You will find many great movie presentations and imitations of the story; this is an intriguing read but was really meant to be watched.

William Shakespeare's Hamlet (Two-Disc Special Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is flawed. It is missing 20 lines ..., 30 Oct. 2014
By 
This review is from: Hamlet: The Oxford Shakespeare (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
This book is flawed. It is missing 20 lines in Act I scenei. I used it with my class and realized this. The only reason to buy editions of Shakespeare from Oxford Press is the annotations and the authenticity. They fail at the latter. Lines 110-128 are missing. Buy from a publisher you can trust. They probably know of the flaw but would rather reimburse than to throw out the whole printing. Amazon needs to be aware as well. They are an accessory to thos fraud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality of service and product, 17 May 2011
By 
F. Jacobsen (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hamlet: The Oxford Shakespeare (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
This book arrived promptly and in perfect condition. It was offered at a reduced price and, in addition, there was no charge for the postage making it a very economical purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hamlet: The Oxford Shakespeare (Oxford World's Classics)
Hamlet: The Oxford Shakespeare (Oxford World's Classics) by William Shakespeare (Paperback - 17 April 2008)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews