Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Monk
I stumbled across this book via Amazon's financially lethal `recommendations'. As a 27 year old bloke I was slightly seduced by the sordid plot description, but also by the fact that I like to read things that are slightly off beat but known of (if that makes sense); the Walter Scott "epoch in our literature" quote did a lot to secure my purchase.

The book is...
Published on 13 April 2010 by Tom

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak-kneed
Descriptions and reviews tend to emphasize the gaudier elements of this gothic melodrama. Regretably the composition of this ponderous tale is limp, beyond mere limpid. I would almost go so far as to say the drama is tepid. The impression of a cleric that succumbs to earthly vulgarity essentially, is steeped in a spanish somnolence. In short, the sheer lack of a decent...
Published on 20 Mar 2012 by Zaroff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Monk, 13 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monk (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I stumbled across this book via Amazon's financially lethal `recommendations'. As a 27 year old bloke I was slightly seduced by the sordid plot description, but also by the fact that I like to read things that are slightly off beat but known of (if that makes sense); the Walter Scott "epoch in our literature" quote did a lot to secure my purchase.

The book is pitched as a gothic horror by some but it comes nowhere near the likes of Dracula and Frankenstein in terms of its requirements for the reader to dispel a grasp on reality. Whilst there are elements of the `supernatural' they do not dominate the book and prove more allegorical to the characters motivations and feelings than anything else.

The atmosphere of the book I found very `close', almost claustrophobic at times; it is primarily set in Madrid and unsurprisingly is predominantly focused around a monastery. There is a broad cast of characters but I did feel they were, at times, distant from the reader; Lewis does not foster the character development of many classic authors and this did lead me to feel slightly detached from their respective endings and the conclusion to the various plots. In this vain it does take a while for the book to get going (I started to get really involved after 260 pages), but in this time the characters (barring what I said above) do develop and do become enticingly intertwined, leading you through to an exciting conclusion. I think my main gripe was that I wasn't quite sure where the 260 pages went, I've felt more attached to characters in other books after a couple of pages: this could however be as a result of the age of the book and perhaps a feeling that the characterisations are now a little dated.

This book is an education if nothing else and does present a good read: there's no denying you want to see how it all turns out at the end. It is easy to read given its age but the reader must, at times, adopt a `getting through it' attitude. It does build to a crescendo though which makes it all worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely genius with beautiful twists and turns, 30 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: The Monk (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book and it truly arrested my attention. This is not your typical love story. This is gothic at its greatest. One thing I loved about the book is that there are about 4 (if not more) different romantic plots within the book which at the end of the book is beautifully interwoven.There is Raymond and Agnes, Lorenzo and Antonia (Later with Virginia), The Monk and Matilda, then The Monk and Antonia. If you understand how to read and understand classics then this is definately a must read. The first chapter might be a little confusing and the poems were a little unnecessary but stick with it and I promise that you will not be disappointed. The monk proved how pride can just as well be a sin. This novel touches all areas like pride, lust, sexual obsession, murder, rape, incest, magic, sorcery, demons, adventures with dangers (i.e armed robbers) etc,. I love this novel and if you enjoy classics, then this should not be missing from your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghastly, 12 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Monk (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
This book really transports the reader into the heart of darkness. The scenes of Agnes sufferings in the tomb are truly horrific and unforgettable. Were they to be portrayed accurately in a film version of the book, I think some people might be forced to leave the cinema. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Gem of Horror, 4 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Monk (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I have read horror books, but there are too few that I consider outstanding. What is even worse is that modern horror tends to depict too much blood and gore with poor story telling.

That is why I started to search for classical horror. To my surprise this book really entertained me. What is more surprising is that this was first published in 1796.
A book that depicts murder, sex and pacts with the devil. With a sinister monastery as background and its dark atmosphere.

I'm very satisfied to have found and bought this book. I totally recommend it and I consider it a Classic Gem of Horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plain awesome, 16 Nov 2011
By 
Pius (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Monk (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Written by Matthew Lewis during a short period of ten short weeks when he was just nineteen, "The Monk" proved to be a controversial novel at the time that it was written. Faith, deception, loyalty, sorcery, murder, Satanism, incest, rape, ghosts, and the inquisition gave the novel the popularity it has retained until today. Even though its plot made the novel controversial when it was published in 1796 to the point where it as held to be blasphemous and resulted to censorship, Lewis nevertheless gained in popularity.

The story is basically about Ambrosio, who as an enfant was found at the doors of the abbey, stirring talks that he was a divine-sent child. He grew up to become an ostensibly pious and deeply revered Abbot of the Capuchin monastery in Madrid, a fit in holiness that aroused the resentment of the devil who decides to plot his fall. The devil plotted the fall through the working of a young female who disguised and became a novice under the tutelage of Ambrioso, the immaculate monk. Ambrioso's fall is plotted through out the later stages of the novel as his fight with the deep passions of his body, the machinations of the devil and his attempts at redemption. Anti-Catholic in nature, this Gothic classic is perhaps the best in its genre. I am certain the author enjoyed every moment while he was writing it because the story flowed all the way through to the end. Like Disciples of Fortune, The Monk is a recommended classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent., 14 July 2009
By 
Mrs. D. L. Cox (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Monk (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
a book often mocked but not read.
This book is surprisingly entertaining. It has so much going on. The little sub plots are awesome and the gore is neatly framed within a well constructed narrative.
I was sorry the book finished--and it's a finish and a half by the way.

surprisingly simple read for its time too.

Gothic and horror may sound similar but this is far more thoughtful than your average horror.

highly reccomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak-kneed, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Monk (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Descriptions and reviews tend to emphasize the gaudier elements of this gothic melodrama. Regretably the composition of this ponderous tale is limp, beyond mere limpid. I would almost go so far as to say the drama is tepid. The impression of a cleric that succumbs to earthly vulgarity essentially, is steeped in a spanish somnolence. In short, the sheer lack of a decent tempo in the text slows the reader to a monks starched mind-set..drowsy.

Lacks any significant traces of varied pace, or characters with anything suggesting depth of varied emotions; moreover the mode of discourse in the narrative is basically a court drama, a play drawn out to novel length & peppered with sensationalist motifs when the narrative lags for sensation. And there is a lot of lag. For more verve seek out Melmoth the Wanderer, which is almost as multi-faceted as The Saragossa Manuscript..or mayhaps Les Chants de Maldoror, which has far superior command of 'evil'. Eccentricity is best treated by an authentic eccentric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourites..., 21 July 2009
This review is from: The Monk (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I bought this book when I had nothing else to read as it was controversial at the time it was first published and it involves murder, incest, religion, deception and morals - a compelling mix.

Although it took me the first chaper to get used to the way it was written - the word order is slightly different - it is a cracker of a page turner and I couldn't put it down. Although I knew that some things were going to happen before they actually happened, it added to the suspense rather than destroying it and it made the story ultimately more tragic. In short, I wish that this author was still alive as there needs to be more books like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vice is ever most dangerous when lurking behind the mask of virtue..., 11 Jun 2012
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Monk (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
One critic of this book in the Cambridge History of English and American Literature gives a verdict I can't resist: "as a whole, a mere mess and blotch of murder, outrage, diablerie and indecency." Well, quite. It was when first published, and indeed still is, reviled as a sordid and ugly story, which manages to blame women for most of the actions of the men. There are magical mirrors, venomous snakes, and transgender malarkey lurking in the corners, but the reviling and doing away with of women seems its chief enjoyment. The plot is a bladdered leak of varied brothers, wives, mothers and children - the main villain Ambrosio unknowingly rapes his sister and kills his mother - the chief demon is a woman too.

I confess, I couldn't really make much of this book. I can see its appeal - in unlicensed revelry of concupiscence and debauchery. The language is ornate and contributes to the opera buffa atmosphere, with much of the comedy being unintended, but there is also a very bleak picture of human nature here, with men the predators and females either knowing and wicked or innocent and witless. While this is very much the preferred atmosphere of the `Sensation' period of literature, it never quite reached the depraved heights of The Monk again, but went underground to rummage around in the literary basement of explicit pornography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Monk - Matthew Lewis, 6 Jun 2014
By 
RachelWalker "RachelW" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Monk (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Fantastic romp. Sinister, exciting, romantic, adventurous, dark. Very dark, in places. I enjoyed this tremendously - it is written enchantingly, and is incredibly accessible despite its age. There are bits of the plot (informally I would describe them as "all over the place") that betray the writer's immaturity, rather similar to the way Wuthering Heights' plot betrays Emily Bronte's. The book has secrets, revelations, twists, deaths, crimes, to rival the best of Victorian sensation fiction. I would recommend this very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Monk (Oxford World's Classics)
The Monk (Oxford World's Classics) by Matthew Lewis (Paperback - 17 April 2008)
6.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews