Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: CD-ROM|Change
Price:£19.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The strength of this course is undoubtedly the extensive audio material provided - this is suggested by the fact that the whole pack seems geared towards the provided CDs, the coursebook almost being secondary in the pint-size course box. The book itself is by no means light on detail, however, providing ample explanations, vocabulary and drills to support the listening material.

The course is intensive but well-paced, with each chapter focussing on a couple of key grammatical structures and vocabulary topics. It's certainly thorough, and by the end of it you should have a good, working knowledge of Russian (as opposed to a handful of set phrases, which you might expect from some beginner courses).

A nice touch is the story at the end of each section, which comprises a kind of tongue-in-cheek Russian soap opera with dramatic twists and turns providing a bit of extra listening practice.

Well recommended for a serious beginners' first steps into Russian, or as a refresher course for those who studied Russian some time ago.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2008
I have bought many different courses and books/dictionaries in an attempt to learn Russian. I can honestly say this is the best available. A well thought out approach with excellent audio examples. Simply the best.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
I really enjoyed it. I have done some Russian before so loved it. Clearly laid out, and fast-moving, it's a lot of material for a very reasonable price. Came in very good time and in excellent condition. It's a very good buy for the money- and my favourite out of two purposes for a Russian teaching package.

If I were being pernickity, I just think that it's not quite as practically absed as it might be, eg, in early section it mentions what "today" is in Russian, but not yesterday or tomorrow. If you're on holiday, you need the vocab, eg, if transport, are thigns early, later, delayed, cancelled, etc. Very traditional approach to language with some modernness thrown in, eg, for me I do not need to know what the Russian is for grandmother, nephew, etc, is if I'm going on holiday or business.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2011
I am a housewife with a passion for Russian and had it not been for the very good audio CDs in this course I would have placed the book with the rest of my many boring Russian textbooks.

This course, however, has practical, clear dialogues and lovely, very real life Russian stories with engaging characters and lively sentences that makes it so much more interesting to memorise the language!

Well thought out textbook with superb audio CDs, vocabulary and grammar explanations
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
This is an absolutely brilliant book, good value and includes all you need to get a good grasp of Russian. Starts off slightly hard but once your committed you'll get the hang of it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a complete novice to Russian I found that the course started off very well and was a good introduction to the basics. Unfortunately it then seemed to make a leap at the end of Chapter 2 and lost me with Chapter 3, despite my repetition of the earlier content. This may be an effective course for an accomplished language learner, but for a language "idiot" it did not work.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Brought this book to learn Russian after having brought a lot of other "learn Russian" books. This book is totally different from the usual learning books it has vast amount of information and just doesn't feature how to ask "where your hotel is" type of information.

This book is brilliant for truly learning the Russian language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
A good place to start off in Russian, and has a few useful tips. It does a good job of simplifying it and its not a bad price for what you get. Everything was delivered as planned and I have enjoyed using the CD and the book for references and it has helped my learn the basics well enough. Although I found it quite boring.
Thanks!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2012
This is the best starter to intermediate course in Russian.
Both the audio and text are very helpful. The Russian (and English) voices
are superb.
Russian grammar is tough, but this course is cleverly selective
in what it gives.Oxford Take Off in Russian (Paperback with CDs)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
I was not that impressed with the CDs. There was alot of talk before you got to the Russian words and so when to the beginning of the track you had to listen to it all over again. There was no sparkle or humour. I wanted to refer to the book later and listen to the language first. The whole package was not as 'user friendly' as I had hoped.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)