Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid introduction with great audio material
The strength of this course is undoubtedly the extensive audio material provided - this is suggested by the fact that the whole pack seems geared towards the provided CDs, the coursebook almost being secondary in the pint-size course box. The book itself is by no means light on detail, however, providing ample explanations, vocabulary and drills to support the listening...
Published on 27 Nov 2008 by R. WEST-SOLEY

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Starts off well, but then left me behind
As a complete novice to Russian I found that the course started off very well and was a good introduction to the basics. Unfortunately it then seemed to make a leap at the end of Chapter 2 and lost me with Chapter 3, despite my repetition of the earlier content. This may be an effective course for an accomplished language learner, but for a language "idiot" it did not...
Published on 23 May 2009 by Flying Dundas Street Brother


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid introduction with great audio material, 27 Nov 2008
By 
R. WEST-SOLEY "Rich West-Soley" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Russian (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
The strength of this course is undoubtedly the extensive audio material provided - this is suggested by the fact that the whole pack seems geared towards the provided CDs, the coursebook almost being secondary in the pint-size course box. The book itself is by no means light on detail, however, providing ample explanations, vocabulary and drills to support the listening material.

The course is intensive but well-paced, with each chapter focussing on a couple of key grammatical structures and vocabulary topics. It's certainly thorough, and by the end of it you should have a good, working knowledge of Russian (as opposed to a handful of set phrases, which you might expect from some beginner courses).

A nice touch is the story at the end of each section, which comprises a kind of tongue-in-cheek Russian soap opera with dramatic twists and turns providing a bit of extra listening practice.

Well recommended for a serious beginners' first steps into Russian, or as a refresher course for those who studied Russian some time ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great audio course, 25 May 2011
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Russian (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
I am a housewife with a passion for Russian and had it not been for the very good audio CDs in this course I would have placed the book with the rest of my many boring Russian textbooks.

This course, however, has practical, clear dialogues and lovely, very real life Russian stories with engaging characters and lively sentences that makes it so much more interesting to memorise the language!

Well thought out textbook with superb audio CDs, vocabulary and grammar explanations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best, 5 Oct 2008
By 
Mark Mcbride - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Russian (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
I have bought many different courses and books/dictionaries in an attempt to learn Russian. I can honestly say this is the best available. A well thought out approach with excellent audio examples. Simply the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Mar 2009
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Russian (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
This is an absolutely brilliant book, good value and includes all you need to get a good grasp of Russian. Starts off slightly hard but once your committed you'll get the hang of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good - Excellent for revision purposes ., 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Russian (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
I really enjoyed it. I have done some Russian before so loved it. Clearly laid out, and fast-moving, it's a lot of material for a very reasonable price. Came in very good time and in excellent condition. It's a very good buy for the money- and my favourite out of two purposes for a Russian teaching package.

If I were being pernickity, I just think that it's not quite as practically absed as it might be, eg, in early section it mentions what "today" is in Russian, but not yesterday or tomorrow. If you're on holiday, you need the vocab, eg, if transport, are thigns early, later, delayed, cancelled, etc. Very traditional approach to language with some modernness thrown in, eg, for me I do not need to know what the Russian is for grandmother, nephew, etc, is if I'm going on holiday or business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars take off in russian, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Russian (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
This is the best starter to intermediate course in Russian.
Both the audio and text are very helpful. The Russian (and English) voices
are superb.
Russian grammar is tough, but this course is cleverly selective
in what it gives.Oxford Take Off in Russian (Paperback with CDs)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Starts off well, but then left me behind, 23 May 2009
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Russian (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
As a complete novice to Russian I found that the course started off very well and was a good introduction to the basics. Unfortunately it then seemed to make a leap at the end of Chapter 2 and lost me with Chapter 3, despite my repetition of the earlier content. This may be an effective course for an accomplished language learner, but for a language "idiot" it did not work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Want to learn Russian?, 7 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. G. M. Tolliday (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Russian (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
I was not that impressed with the CDs. There was alot of talk before you got to the Russian words and so when to the beginning of the track you had to listen to it all over again. There was no sparkle or humour. I wanted to refer to the book later and listen to the language first. The whole package was not as 'user friendly' as I had hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full of lots of information, perfect course, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Russian (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
Brought this book to learn Russian after having brought a lot of other "learn Russian" books. This book is totally different from the usual learning books it has vast amount of information and just doesn't feature how to ask "where your hotel is" type of information.

This book is brilliant for truly learning the Russian language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellant, 11 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Russian (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
excellant product however you really have to be determined to learn and to repeat excercises so that you get the practise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Take Off in Russian (Paperback with CDs)
Oxford Take Off in Russian (Paperback with CDs) by Oxford University Press (CD-ROM - 17 April 2008)
£19.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews