Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 4 Sept. 2009
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Greek (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
Previously I have mostly used the "Teach Yourself" series of books to obtain a smattering of various languages. This time, in anticipation of a holiday in the Ionian islands, I thought I'd try something else from a completely different publisher for a change to see how it compares.

This Oxford "Take Off In..." course is actually not a million miles away in style from the kind of thing you get with a "Teach Yourself" complete course. The name "Take Off In..." might give the impression that it's just some kind of "get by in" course for just before you get on the plane for your hols, a bit more than a phrase book but less than a full length course, but it is fairly full length with 14 chapters and a whole 4 CDs worth of audio material which will be an effort of weeks to fully work through and digest.

It's nice that they give you a book and the 4 CDs in a small sensibly sized case to fit on a bookshelf, unlike the huge boxes TY give for a book and a couple of CDs, which I end up throwing away and putting the CDs in my own cases. It does mean however that the dimensions of the book are a little on the small side, and consequently the font size used may well cause issues for people whose visual acuity is not that great. The content of the CDs is also available as MP3 files to download from the interweb if for some reason you have an MP3 player but don't have the means to convert the CDs (well it's quicker I suppose even if you do have).

The CDs, complete with cheesy music, start off quite gently before building up; however, some of the printed exercises in the book can be reasonably challenging right from the start, but for me that's a good thing. The appendices includes answers to the exercises, a decent grammar summary, and a vocabulary (Greek-English, but not vice versa) which is a bit brief unfortunately (you should probably have a dictionary/phrasebook too). All in all this is a decent introduction to the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exactly what I was looking for, 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Greek (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
A very effective book and CD combo, by far the best of any I've seen. Although the physical dimensions of the book are small (possibly the only problem with this) it is packed with information. I've had this for just over a month and have learned quite a bit, with most of the book left. (Not that the system makes learning slow, I've only been doing small amounts each day)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but pricey, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Greek (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
Excellent audio course, but the text in the book is very small and the typeface is not particularly clear. It is also far more expensive than many other language courses. However, it was the course book for a course that I am doing. If you are working on your own, I'd suggest the BBC "Greek Language and People" which is half the price and pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent course!, 14 Jan. 2014
By 
C. J. Lovett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Greek (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
This is good for both beginners and those wishing to brush up their Greek - clear and useful examples. The CDs are also available as a download in mp3 format, so you can learn using your phone, tablet or PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... books and lessons type things this i found the best to be honest, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Greek (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
used many greek phrase books and lessons type things this i found the best to be honest. Really helped me a lot with the basics of the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Greek (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
Really useful for learning basic Greek with pronunciation guide Enjoyed doing course and feel more confident about understanding language on my next holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Greek (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
Really useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn greek at your own pace, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Greek (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
Very good book for the beginner and the cd's help with pronunciation.
It has examples throughout and short exercises to test progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars learn Greek, 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Take Off in Greek (Paperback with CDs) (CD-ROM)
I am getting quite old and I have found this set to be very helpful and am slowly but surely learning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Take Off in Greek (Paperback with CDs)
Oxford Take Off in Greek (Paperback with CDs) by Oxford University Press (CD-ROM - 17 April 2008)
Used & New from: £31.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews