Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for all
Surely, on of the best Sociology dictionaries in the market. Comprehensive and up to date, covers all important concepts for students that are new to the subject, but it will be a valued reference book for experienced students or even professional.
From ageism to globalization and from mass media to migration, everything is inside this one volume dictionary...
Published on 20 Feb 2004 by Nikolas Fountoulis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but...
It doesn't really help like you thought a dictionary would. Some of the words have reems of texts to read. It was helpful but not as much as I thought it would
Published 6 months ago by smithhhx


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for all, 20 Feb 2004
Surely, on of the best Sociology dictionaries in the market. Comprehensive and up to date, covers all important concepts for students that are new to the subject, but it will be a valued reference book for experienced students or even professional.
From ageism to globalization and from mass media to migration, everything is inside this one volume dictionary. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in the market!, 8 May 2008
Definitely the best dictionary of sociology in the market. This dictionary will be of immense help not only to students, but also to researchers. The presentation is good and easy to find. The online option is also very handy for those with Internet access. The links to important sites for gathering further information is a great added benefit. This edition is a definite improvement on the previous ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sociology Dictionary, 9 Nov 2009
By 
M. Stirling (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Sociology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
A very good book for quick referencing. I'm in my first year at University studying Sociology and it has helped me with most of my work. For Sociological studies, you NEED to have a Sociology dictionary and this one is very good. I like how there is quite a lot of information about key theorists as this helps to gain more unterstanding on literature that I've read by them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dictionary of Sociology (Oxford Paperback Reference), 15 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great for any students studying sociology at GCSE, A-Level or University level. It contains definitions of all of the words you would need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing!, 21 April 2010
This review is from: A Dictionary of Sociology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
Really good reference book. Every term I've ever wanted to know about is in here and the biographies are excellent. Stacks of detail. Web links provide easy access to more info should you want it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference, 2 Jan 2009
By 
Helga (Paphos, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
I tried quite a lot of reference books but Oxford (and Sage) are the best. Up to date, very informative and brilliant presentation. Value for money and another companion to my studies! Thanks Oxford, you are the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Review, 9 May 2008
By 
This is an excellent book which helps give insight onto many subjects which really help understand how we work as people, it's highly reccomended reading which will make you look at the world around you in a completely different way.

The reason why it doesn't get the fifth star is because not all sociology related subjects are covered (not much of a problem as I can only think of two at the moment and when the book does give information on the subject it's really interesting and will keep you hooked)The next problem is that this book's language can be quite complex (but that's not much of a problem as a dictionary is easily accesible).

Is this book worth the money? Well, let me give you the answer, on Amazon this book sells for 8.49 and I payed 10.99 for it at waterstones but even then it was worth every single penny, I would highly reccomend this book to everyone who has an interest in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Sociology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
Great for sociology students at all levels, does not give vague definitions but also a little summary with sociologists with that view
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but..., 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: A Dictionary of Sociology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
It doesn't really help like you thought a dictionary would. Some of the words have reems of texts to read. It was helpful but not as much as I thought it would
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its ok, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Sociology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
Does the job, has what I need in it - definitions!!! Been a godsend on my course, and easy to understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dictionary of Sociology (Oxford Paperback Reference)
A Dictionary of Sociology (Oxford Paperback Reference) by Gordon Marshall (Paperback - 22 Jan 2009)
8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews