Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little dictionary
This is a brilliant little dictionary/thesaurus, especially if you're a crossword fanatic like me - I would thoroughly recommend it to both young and old alike.
Published on 9 Mar 2009 by Mrs. J. Bulloch

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great dictionary BUT not particularily 'Pocket' friendly!
Great dictionary - Good use of Dictionary and Thesaurus combined together and easy to use - However, I DID order this as an extra dictonary intended for my 9 year old daughters school bag ...... But is far from pocket size!!! NOW granted I should have checked the measurements (BUT DIDN'T).......... I went by the description 'POCKET' but unless you have pockets the sze of...
Published on 6 Nov 2009 by Jacspratt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little dictionary, 9 Mar 2009
By 
Mrs. J. Bulloch "junetybee" (Woolfords, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus (Dictionary/Thesaurus) (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant little dictionary/thesaurus, especially if you're a crossword fanatic like me - I would thoroughly recommend it to both young and old alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my grandson., 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus (Dictionary/Thesaurus) (Hardcover)
Grandson is moving up to secondary school in September. This is an ideal little Gift for him. Very pleased with this book. Good value for money in hardback form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great dictionary BUT not particularily 'Pocket' friendly!, 6 Nov 2009
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus (Dictionary/Thesaurus) (Hardcover)
Great dictionary - Good use of Dictionary and Thesaurus combined together and easy to use - However, I DID order this as an extra dictonary intended for my 9 year old daughters school bag ...... But is far from pocket size!!! NOW granted I should have checked the measurements (BUT DIDN'T).......... I went by the description 'POCKET' but unless you have pockets the sze of the BFG, I'd suggest going for the MINI one instead!! :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 26 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus (Dictionary/Thesaurus) (Hardcover)
The book was on the expected quality. I am fully satisfied wit the item received. Delivery service also on time I am fully satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 28 Sep 2010
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus (Dictionary/Thesaurus) (Hardcover)
I bought two of these for the kids but only after flipping through the various options at the bookstore. This one ticked the most boxes: good size - weight and font size, combined thesaurus - really useful, good value - on Amazon. Definitely recommended. Perfect for children age 7-10+ BTW, I had to see for myself how big/small exactly "POCKET" meant...it won't fit in your typical blazer/trouser pocket. In fact, it takes up my entire glove compartment in the car! =p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it really a pocket dictionary?, 6 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus (Dictionary/Thesaurus) (Hardcover)
I bought this as a small present for my wife as she is keen on crosswords and word games etc. I thought this would be a nice little surprise as I had chided her about the old Oxford dictionary she was using, that was disintegrating every time she searched it to help her answer a difficult conundrum. This weathered and dilapidated little book was still a favourite of my wife because it fitted nicely in the hand and was easy to thumb through (or was before the pages started falling out).

I intimated that I would try and do something about it and the 'Pocket' Oxford Dictionary & Thesaurus apparently suggested the ideal solution. Imagine my disappointment when the dictionary arrived for me to discover that the only 'pocket' that this book would fit into would be one that you might find on the inside of a car door, or maybe on the front of a kangaroo - and then it might be a squeeze. The description is totally misleading and naturally conveys the impression that is small and pocket sized, that is, fits a coat pocket.

I think the description should make it clear that the dictionary is nowhere near as compact as the title suggests. I subsequently found out that the 'Little' Oxford Dictionary & Thesaurus is closer to the handy pocket-size I had been expecting.

It's strange that a book about the true definition of words should so utterly deceive us with the misnomer in its title!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gift, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus (Dictionary/Thesaurus) (Hardcover)
this and other oxford are for gifts for twins, tell them to learn a new word every day, and that a Dic/Thes,make good 'coffee table books, open book up any page and you will find something interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great help for crossword addicts., 25 Feb 2013
By 
P. Cooke (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus (Dictionary/Thesaurus) (Hardcover)
My old one fell apart from years of use. This dictionary has a lot more information in a seperate centre section. Very handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No problems, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus (Dictionary/Thesaurus) (Hardcover)
Very easy, quick and satisfactory purchase. Will make a good present for my nephews and was a good price, satisfied customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Dictionary, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus (Dictionary/Thesaurus) (Hardcover)
Good Dictionary, but you would need really big, deep pockets to truly define this as a pocket dictionary. Very large and quite heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pocket Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus (Dictionary/Thesaurus)
Pocket Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus (Dictionary/Thesaurus) by Oxford Dictionaries (Hardcover - 8 May 2008)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews