Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for beginners. Adequate for several years experience.
When I bought this dictionary there was no clear idea which books to get for each part of the language. Most people start speaking along with pinyin writing. Later on most wish to at least try out chinese script with no idea where to go.

This book has all the necessary information and is clearly set out. The two main sections, as expected, are Eng-Chi, Chi-Eng...
Published on 27 Mar 2008 by A. Murdoch

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A grower that you'll quickly out-grow
The English-Chinese section heavily outweighs the Chinese-English section. It takes a while to get used to how the Chinese words are ordered, too. However, not a bad little starter dictionary, but you might out-grow it quickly, which can be frustrating.
Published on 15 Jun 2009 by C. Macleod


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for beginners. Adequate for several years experience., 27 Mar 2008
By 
A. Murdoch (St Andrews, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Beginner's Chinese Dictionary (Paperback)
When I bought this dictionary there was no clear idea which books to get for each part of the language. Most people start speaking along with pinyin writing. Later on most wish to at least try out chinese script with no idea where to go.

This book has all the necessary information and is clearly set out. The two main sections, as expected, are Eng-Chi, Chi-Eng. The definitions set this apart from other dictionaries. English words are matched with common expressions used when a single word translation is not permitted and pinyin words are matched with translations and several contexts in which they may be used.

Along with the definitions are the chinese character equivalent of the pinyin written so finding out how to write the correct character. But it wouldn't be complete without some sort of character definition. This book provides this in what seams to me to be an excellent layout for such a complex system. The radicals are presented in stroke order and assigned a number. Following a selection of characters for each radical is listed along with the pinyin equivalent.

This dictionary is purely reference and for pinyin-english provides everything needed. Do not forget though that you will also need:

- Overall language book (e.g. Teach Yourself Beginners Chinese)
- Character book (e.g. Reading and Writing Chinese - W. McNaughton)

With three books (and lessons), however, this will only provide the basis of the language, enough to get by on holiday or to have simple conversations for example. To obtain a real understanding of the language (for literature, university courses and fluency in the language) you will probably need a number of books other than these basic three types as well as extensive experience speaking and reading.

Basically don't fool yourself, to learn Chinese to a expert level compared with a romanic language like Spanish or Italian will take twice as long if not longer purely because of the completely different structure and lack of a phonetic alphabet. This dictionary will go a long way to helping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - lf learning chinese then its a must buy, 26 Jan 2009
This review is from: Oxford Beginner's Chinese Dictionary (Paperback)
The book teaches you about radicals in the chinese characters and the way to find words via the radicals - It shows you how the radicals reappear when then have something to do with it eg. the 'water' radical reappears when in the character for lake, one for sea, one for sweat etc... It is a brilliant dictionary with pages for Phrases -phrases/sentences already written out for you, it teaches you about whether certain words are modifiers or stative verbs. How to recognize measure words, adjectives. It also has a nice list for you of Chinese words you Must know. I thought i was just buying a dictionary but all the other things thrown in with the book as well make it a book that you definitely must have by your side if you are learning Chinese.
I'd also recommend Write Chinese with Betty - someone else recommended it on Amazon so i bought it and that was a great book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent beginners' dictionary, 31 Jan 2008
This review is from: Oxford Beginner's Chinese Dictionary (Paperback)
I've used many bilingual dictionaries for a number of languages and this is by far the easiest to use. Excellent, clean layout and helpful examples of language usage. Other dictionary publishers take note - this is how it should be done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super dictionary, 11 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Beginner's Chinese Dictionary (Paperback)
This as usual from the Oxford dictionaries is quite superb and a must have for students who are starting to learn Chinese.The Oxford starter Chinese dictionary has identical content. If i had to choose ,i would choose the beginners as it is more up to date, but for the cheaper i think it is option the starter dictionary is almost identical. Basically the beginners is a follow on from the starter as the whole word exchange English to Chinese and Chinese to English dictionary is the exact same in both, the extra with the beginners is at the end, from the learning and lifestyle kit, giving numbers, invaluable words and phrases you must know which is a very basic tourist guide to getting by if you were travelling, which is a nice touch. This book would be an invaluable piece to have if travelling in China. My Chinese friends often refer to this book when teaching me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Beginner's Chinese Dictionary (Paperback)
Great dictionary to help with learning Chinese. Very reasonable price and very easy to read and use. Would recommend to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good, I bought it twice, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Beginner's Chinese Dictionary (Paperback)
I have been learning Mandarin at evening class for 3 years. We learn from 'Chinese in Steps', which is good for sentance structure and dialogue practice. However it does not give a good translation or explanation of characters and phrases. I carry this dictionary with me everywhere so I can study on the go. My shoulder is now aching from the extra weight so I have now ordered a copy for home and office. The radical list at the front is essential. What really sets this dictionary apart from others is its suggestion of phrases and how you might use a character within a sentance. If you want to learn Chinese, I recommend a course with a good teacher and get this dictionary! It is a slow process but it is satisfing when you can communicate when visiting China. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book for beginer, 23 Feb 2012
This review is from: Oxford Beginner's Chinese Dictionary (Paperback)
I have used this book in my teaching for the past 5 years, it was well received by the students, as it gives them lots of vocabulary. They have tried to use them to make up all sorts of sentences, sometimes incorrect due to the sublet differences in Chinese and English. One improvement that can be done is to insert some pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful dictionary, 11 May 2014
By 
jomutheone "bibliophile10" (Greystones, Wicklow, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Beginner's Chinese Dictionary (Paperback)
This is an indispensable book for anyone trying to learn Chinese. It contains a wealth of information, yet it is pocketable (just!) and user friendly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book. ., 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Beginner's Chinese Dictionary (Paperback)
I wanted to learn some Chinese and that's a good start for me because I go to Hong Kong most years have some friends out in hong Kong and it will be good to know a bit of Chinese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very usefull, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Beginner's Chinese Dictionary (Paperback)
very well set out, just what i needed for my chineese studies. comes in very handy.well set out for the student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Beginner's Chinese Dictionary
Oxford Beginner's Chinese Dictionary by Oxford University Press (Paperback - 7 Sep 2006)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews