Customer Reviews


209 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


212 of 232 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, and an utterly compelling read
While you might expect Dawkins' classic to be terrifically interesting (and you'd be right), you'd probably expect it to be a bit of a slog. In this respect you'd be completely mistaken - it flows beautifully, and is seriously difficult to put down. And the whole way through you have the wonderful sense that you're being educated as well as entertained.

The...
Published on 28 Jun. 2006 by D. P. G. Bellinger

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably not for the self-respecting scientist.
I'll stop short of saying I hated it, but I really did not enjoy the book after some high expectations.

Being a biologist, I was very much looking forward to reading up on the theory of evolution and natural selection in this popularised form (having only experienced the textbook version). However, as other reviewers have mentioned, I found the style very dry,...
Published 7 months ago by parag bhavsar


‹ Previous | 114 15 1621 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary edition (Paperback)
One of the most educational eye opening books I have ever read, a must for understanding why we are what we are, and indeed why we are here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Misleading Metaphor, 20 Nov. 2013
By 
DAG Cook "klacto" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary edition (Paperback)
Dawkins suggests that the affairs of living things are organised so as to increase the frequency of certain genes, those that with hindsight may be described as the ones most fitted to survive. Organisms, on this view, are the unknowing possessors of these genetic assets and are driven by them. But if the term "selfish gene" is nothing more than a metaphor, then it is a metaphor likely to mislead. Genes have no interest in their prevalence, any more than bags of sugar or bottles of milk. Animals and humans have drives and/ or purposes, genes do not. Even plants have tropisms. To picture genes driving organisms is, to use Gilbert Ryle's phrase, a category confusion.
In total contrast to the reductionist scheme of Dawkins, I would offer this remark of the painter Mark Rothko. " I would sooner confer anthropomorphic attributes upon a stone than dehumanise the slightest possibility of consciousness." Two world views collide. Ironically we are free to choose between them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars selfish gene, 7 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary edition (Paperback)
This is w well produced book and well worth the money. All you wanted to know about the evolution of homo sapiens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily one of the best books I have ever read, 14 Feb. 2010
By 
J. K. Y. Luk "Johnny" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary edition (Paperback)
Wow, I got this book with some sceptism after starting to read the Origin of Species, due to the content being fairly traditional and me being a kipper undergraduate in Biology, which I confess does not bode well for the future. However I quickly realised the true genius of Richard Dawkins and the simple logic that his work conveys. The fact that this book itself is a generation old but still very applicable in the fastest changing science is a testament to the quality of his research and logic thinking. However, what I find most effective in this book is his use of similes and everyday comparisons as a method to describe genes and survival machines and I certainly feel that the content, while easily read, is of high quality and certainly at University level. I have found it useful as a reference tool or as a way of getting clearer information than my lecture notes.

Highly recommend it, it is, quite seriously a high opener, I have learned a new way of thinking. In a way, I may not read the God Delusion, in the simple fact that he is such a convincing writer, I would be quite worried he would convince there is no god. which I don't really want to have , since I feel that everybody needs something to hang on to in the unknown.

Fantastic book, should be introduced in school.

Stay classy,

JL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary edition (Paperback)
Good read but need a bit of work to get throughit. bbb bbbb bbb bbb bbb bbb bb bbb bb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing the Issue, 13 Aug. 2007
By 
Pipistrel (Oxford United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary edition (Paperback)
Richard Dawkins writes beautiful English and he explains scientific concepts with great clarity and a wealth of examples. Unfortunately he uses his gifts to convey a false message. He applies the everyday word "selfish" in a technical sense to describe genes (which do not have selves or intentions at all), and this invites readers to confuse the two meanings. Indeed he may have confused himself, for he tell us in the very first chapter that "we are born selfish". This is bad biology, for "selfish" genes can produce the unselfish behaviour of the worker bee or the mother octopus. All social animals have a degree of altruism in their genes, humans more than most. Dawkins also dogmatically rejects group selection, whereby cooperative groups expand at the expense of uncooperative ones, although it is dominant in cultural evolution and has even been shown to occur in genetic selection, as described by Sober and Wilson in Unto Others. Perhaps the popularity of Dawkins' book stems from the fact that it was published just when the world was turning away from over-centralized models of socialist government and was about to plunge into the age of economic selfishness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary edition (Paperback)
Brilliant. Simple to understand, and well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scientifically sound but philosophically flawed, 29 May 2008
This review is from: The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary edition (Paperback)
Darwin's theory of evolution is no doubt a successful scientific hypothesis, and Prof. Dawkins brings across this very clearly. However, I do have some doubts regarding his philosophical assertions.

Essentially Prof. Dawkins believes that:

1) Selfishness and competition is at the root of all biological phenomena - nature as "red in tooth and claw"
2) There is no basic "dis-continuity" between humanity and other animals - humans are not qualitatively different from other animals
3) There is however no ethical dilemma between this basic fact and the human desire for goodness - since descriptive and normative realities are intrinsically separate (what is and what should be are independent of each other)

Yet the basis for point 3) - the inherent seperation of "what is" and "what ought to be" is just a philosophical assertion. Prof. Dawkins is very correct in stating that the belief in God and all other religious assertions should be treated and critically analysed as scientific hypotheses. However, strictly speaking this should go beyond the subject of religion to include every other field of human intellectual activity, including of course philosophy itself. If we treat the assertion "'what is' is fundamentally separate from 'what ought to be'" as a strict scientific hypothesis in the same sense that "God exists" is treated as such a hypothesis, then it has to be said that it is no more than just a blank assertion without any kind of empirical justification.

In other words, Prof. Dawkins is mistaken in assuming that his particular view of evolution and Darwinism does not leave us with an ethical dilemma, because it evidently does. The only argument Prof. Dawkins has offered against this is the mere assertion that "what ought to be" must be seperate from "what is", yet this assertion, just like religious assertions regarding God, cannot be scientifically or empirically proven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fountain of knowledge but very hard to read, 27 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary edition (Paperback)
There are no two ways about it - this book is obviously very well researched and has had a lot of time and effort put in to it. It simply picks apart religion with reason, evidence and scientific study - it's second to non for factual information.

Why three stars? Because it's so bloody hard to read! It really is a slog and you have to concentrate 100% - easy reading it's not.

If you overcome that however, you will be richer for it. Good book overall and well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this what we are made of?, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has reached me long after its publication date, and I am only sorry that it has taken so long to do so. Beautifully written, by a man thoroughly convinced of his subject, who does not seem to have much time for alternative theories; but by now his work is in common usage whether we like it or not. An absorbing read, presented with humour and great clarity. Even this non- scientist could appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 1621 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary edition
The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary edition by Richard Dawkins (Paperback - 16 Mar. 2006)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews