Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing approach to teaching
I was surprised to see that nobody had reviewed "Chemical Structure and Reactivity: An intergrated approach" by Keeler and Wothers. It is a tremendous contribution to the teaching of the chemical sciences. The authors have adopted a new approach to the teaching of chemistry which cuts through physical, inorganic and organic chemistry as needed and it has clearly been...
Published on 28 Jun. 2010 by Matthew D. Crispin

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book is great, they just messed up with delivery
Book is great for any course or subject which goes to details about chemical reactions and structures of molecules; well written and quite easy to understand but it requires (previous) basic knowledge in chemistry.
Only thing I had problem with was delivery. Because I live at student accommodation flat all parcels are delivered and signed for at the reception. I...
Published on 7 Oct. 2011 by Matt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing approach to teaching, 28 Jun. 2010
By 
Matthew D. Crispin (La Jolla, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chemical Structure and Reactivity: An Integrated Approach (Paperback)
I was surprised to see that nobody had reviewed "Chemical Structure and Reactivity: An intergrated approach" by Keeler and Wothers. It is a tremendous contribution to the teaching of the chemical sciences. The authors have adopted a new approach to the teaching of chemistry which cuts through physical, inorganic and organic chemistry as needed and it has clearly been inspired by the success of their earlier, much shorter book "Why chemical reactions happen".

The authors are careful to give space to difficult but central topics. For example, the first five chapters are dedicated to electrons in atoms through to polyatomics. This enables a thorough molecular orbital based approach to be taken throughout discussions of reactions in organic chemistry. The focus on physical organic chemistry also enables a well integrated discussion of thermodynamics. This is very well explained with carefully explained mathematics.

In conclusion, this text is brilliant for students who want a book that explains difficult concepts in an accessible but still rigorous form.

Dr M. Crispin
Oriel College, Oxford
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful insights - great for a first-year uni student, 27 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Chemical Structure and Reactivity: An Integrated Approach (Paperback)
This book is absolutely amazing! It's totally different to others. It persistently asks the question, "WHY do chemical reactions happen?" - and this is what makes it so engaging and insightful. (Other books tend to ask, "WHAT chemical reactions happen?" - which make them quite dry.)

The answer to the question of WHY comes in two parts: (1) thermodynamics (does the reaction go forwards or backwards) and (2) kinetics (is the reaction fast or slow). As well as learning the mathematics, you also learn to assess whether a reaction will go or not using qualitative arguments, by drawing upon ideas about chemical bonding. The quality of these discussions make the book so exceptional.

This book is suitable for a first-year university student, for whom it is more appropriate than having three enormous separate tomes on physical, organic and inorganic chemistry. It does assume that you are familiar with A-level chemistry.

I had the immense priviledge of being lectured by both of the authors in my first year at university. I really wish this book had been around when I took that course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Colours galore, 19 July 2013
By 
S. Lau - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chemical Structure and Reactivity: An Integrated Approach (Paperback)
Nothing makes a hefty text book more bearable than colours and diagrams. Excellent chemistry book to explain inorganic chemistry at a low undergraduate level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for linking all basic to intermediate aspects of undergraduate chemistry., 31 July 2011
By 
Piyush Patel (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chemical Structure and Reactivity: An Integrated Approach (Paperback)
Doing a masters undergraduate in Biochemistry, for the first year this linked together all of my modules for the physical, organic and inorganic components of chemistry. It is vital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Edited review, 29 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chemical Structure and Reactivity: An Integrated Approach (Paperback)
03/10/2011

After having studied degree level chemistry for a year, and now starting year two, the book is starting to make a lot more sense. It's actually a very decent textbook and I've found it, in combo with Chemistry 3 - introducing organic, inorganic and physical chem are absolutely invaluable for surviving so far. Especially the latter textbook - that's the best Chem textbook on the market and this one explains a few bits that the Chem 3 one doesn't explain so well. These both are brilliant. The only textbooks you'll need for the average Chemistry course in UK - save for Oxford perhaps, where they go too Physicsy and require maths textbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book is great, they just messed up with delivery, 7 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chemical Structure and Reactivity: An Integrated Approach (Paperback)
Book is great for any course or subject which goes to details about chemical reactions and structures of molecules; well written and quite easy to understand but it requires (previous) basic knowledge in chemistry.
Only thing I had problem with was delivery. Because I live at student accommodation flat all parcels are delivered and signed for at the reception. I don't know what had gone wrong but they just sent me an email which stated that I had not been at provided address at the time, so delivery could not be made. I'd given them a call, explaining the situation so they told me that delivery will be made next day. I receieved an email message with time of delivery but again parcel hasn't arrived...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chemical Structure and Reactivity: An Integrated Approach
Chemical Structure and Reactivity: An Integrated Approach by Peter Wothers (Paperback - 15 May 2008)
Used & New from: £22.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews