Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best so far
I have bought 4 books on Cognitive Psychology and this one is the best so far! It is easy to read. Whereas I find some other books use too much academical language and make me read every page 3X before I understand what is meant this one is very clear and understandable. Every sector in each chapter has its own summary which makes everything even easier to memorize. The...
Published on 10 Jan 2010 by RB Jansen

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Far from being the best
This book is a companion to the Open University Cognitive Psychology module. If you do the course, you get a copy with the course materials. I bought my own copy to start reading before the course started, and wish I'd saved my money.
As a textbook, it does not bear comparison with the definitive work by Eysenck and Keane; this volume is far too `wordy' and succeeds...
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by Schopenhauer’s ghost


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best so far, 10 Jan 2010
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology (Paperback)
I have bought 4 books on Cognitive Psychology and this one is the best so far! It is easy to read. Whereas I find some other books use too much academical language and make me read every page 3X before I understand what is meant this one is very clear and understandable. Every sector in each chapter has its own summary which makes everything even easier to memorize. The only thing I wish was that there would be a clear evaluation after each sector. For this I still use Eysenck and Keane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 14 Oct 2010
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology (Paperback)
This book is very interesting. It helped me a lot in learning about basic cognitive psychology and basic knowledge in psychology as a whole. i would recommend this alongside the handbook that comes as an addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, with Stimulating Questions and Activities, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology (Paperback)
This was one of the texts recommended for our Psychology of Thinking module and I am delighted I bought it. Various subject experts have introduced and developed their topics engagingly, with stimulating questions and activities. In addition, each chapter includes a selection of items for further reading, with short explanations of why a particular item has been chosen. I found this very valuable. The book also has a consistent and pleasant colour scheme for each of the five parts and chapter sections, which I appreciated.
I would recommend this text to any student interested in understanding the topics and issues of the Psychology of Thinking or Cognitive Psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Far from being the best, 28 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology (Paperback)
This book is a companion to the Open University Cognitive Psychology module. If you do the course, you get a copy with the course materials. I bought my own copy to start reading before the course started, and wish I'd saved my money.
As a textbook, it does not bear comparison with the definitive work by Eysenck and Keane; this volume is far too `wordy' and succeeds in making some topics utterly incomprehensible. For example, I learnt logic at senior school level 30 years ago, and I'm sure I could give a better account than the one presented here.

I gave up on this book and used only Eysenck (and Andrade and May's `instant notes'), and got a level 1 pass. If I had stuck with this text, I'm sure my result would have been poorer.

Finally, If you are a student with a `global' learning style, this one is definitely not for you - each topic is developed in an entirely piecemeal manner, with no real sense of flow. Very disappointing, especially given the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cognitive psychology, 31 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology (Paperback)
This book is of great value to a final year undergraduate. It is of great importance in experimental cognitive psychology and is a fantistic guide for those of you who want to do research in cognitive processes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 30 Dec 2013
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology (Paperback)
Good book -long, however this does enable it to cover all topics needed, especially for undergraduate psychology and detailed enough so that it is easy to understand.
Problem -delivery was awful and had to have a second book sent out (huge complicated situation) but i've never had trouble with delivery before so only a slight issue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cog Psychology, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology (Paperback)
Had to buy it for my university course but found it not all that helpful. Tended to read more journal articles, for me it was a bit of a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, 7 Oct 2010
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology (Paperback)
The text book 'Cognitive Psychology' is in excellent condition when I received the book within two days of purchase and the price was really good! I am happy with the products thanks a lot!!!! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cognitive Psychology: A Methods Companion
Cognitive Psychology: A Methods Companion by Nick Braisby (Paperback - 10 Feb 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews