Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


128 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent commentary on the Christian bible
The Oxford Bible Commentary is a concise, expert commentary, providing useful verse-by-verse explanation of the Christian religious book.
The commentary encompasses all books recognised as canonical in any of the western churches of Christianity, and also includes excerpts from books in other canons. The advanced bible scholar may additionally wish to refer to more...
Published on 15 Oct 2001 by Tim Acheson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Bible Commentary
Good concise scholarly commentary, but the paperback binding is far too flimsy for the size and weight of the book, and I have reinforced it with polythene. The hardback would have been better for regular use.
Published 11 months ago by Ian D


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oxford bible commentary informative read, 24 May 2011
By 
This review is from: The Oxford Bible Commentary (Paperback)
excellent reference book. Looks a little daunting at first glance but is very accessible when looking up individual passages in the bible.Much food for thought.Very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Bible Commentary (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Commentary, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Bible Commentary (Paperback)
This is an excellent basic commentary covering the Old Testament, New Testaments and all of the Deuterocanonical books included in the complete NRSV. It also has sections on post biblical Jewish literature and early Christian writings such as the Didache. Altogether a very worthwhile purchase, and a considerable help in sermon preparation. One word of warning, weighing in at over 5lb 5oz, it is rather heavy to carry around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Bible Commentary, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Bible Commentary (Paperback)
Good concise scholarly commentary, but the paperback binding is far too flimsy for the size and weight of the book, and I have reinforced it with polythene. The hardback would have been better for regular use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars headline, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very comprehensive and up to date. Also, I know one of the editors and would trust his judgment on the contributors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A personal perspective of the Oxford Bible Commentary, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Bible Commentary (Paperback)
This was brought for the bible study group. It is very informative and well written and gives all the historical context behind the biblical passages. My only criticism would be that the print is quite small, but otherwise it is a good reference book which would be suitable for a wide readership,.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This product was fairly good value. It is a fantastic product. It was delivered fairly efficiently too. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good commentary on whole bible, 1 April 2013
By 
E. L. Hodge (College Town, Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Bible Commentary (Paperback)
I required a bible commentary to help me prepare a sermon and this ticked all the boxes. It gives an overview of each book of the bible which is broken down into different elements. Then each section of the book is broken down and explored further.

Good resource for those wanting to know more about the bible and exploring it with an enquiring mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skips Report, 13 Mar 2013
By 
J. Fisher "Skip Says" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Bible Commentary (Paperback)
It's not cheap but when it arrives you'll see why, great quality reference book that I'm finding extremely valuable for the Theology course I'm on. I will treasure this book for many years to come. Delivery quick, all in all high star rating from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My go-to book for a starting point, but thorough ..., 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Bible Commentary (Paperback)
My go-to book for a starting point, but thorough commentary on Bible passages. The contributors are varied and extremely knowledgeable. This book is a must for anyone interested in deepening their knowledge of the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford Bible Commentary
The Oxford Bible Commentary by John Barton (Paperback - 25 Jan 2007)
£22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews