Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book on computers
Very detailed book dealing extensively with microprocessor architecture and logic gates. Briefly, it covers the underlying principles of the computer. A CD comes with it where you get the chance to study a RISC and a CISC processor. I used it for the Technology module of the British Computer Society, who in fact recommends it as primary text for the Technology and...
Published on 25 Jun. 2003 by Dharmesh Suraj Bali

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I've written it's okay because it was recommended for my course
I've written it's okay because it was recommended for my course, but it went into more detail than was necessary and I found myself hardly using it.
Published 1 month ago by Caity


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book on computers, 25 Jun. 2003
Very detailed book dealing extensively with microprocessor architecture and logic gates. Briefly, it covers the underlying principles of the computer. A CD comes with it where you get the chance to study a RISC and a CISC processor. I used it for the Technology module of the British Computer Society, who in fact recommends it as primary text for the Technology and Architecture modules. So anyone who wants to dive into the details of computer architecture, look no further; this is the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I've written it's okay because it was recommended for my course, 2 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Computer Hardware (Paperback)
I've written it's okay because it was recommended for my course, but it went into more detail than was necessary and I found myself hardly using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Computer Hardware (Paperback)
Found it quite difficult to engage with this book but some of the examples were helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Computer Hardware (Paperback)
needed for uni
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My review - Principles of Computer Hardware, 11 Jun. 2011
By 
Mr Benham (Gloucester UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Principles of Computer Hardware (Paperback)
My first review. This review is considerably unsystematic, impressions only.

I bought this item intending it to be a companion text to "Floyd, Digital Fundamentals", after having worked quite a way through the later book.

The Floyd book has a better vocabulary drill and instruction, therefore "Digital Fundamentals" wins in covering the ground-work more confidently and in imparting abilities to student. "Principles of Computer Architecture" has better hindsight; more of the person you have become rather than the person you are about to be.

Principles of Computer Architecture [that's "principles" and not "principals"] is written from a different perspective; one of a computer scientist rather than an electronics technologist. As such it includes chapters on assembler programming and instruction architectures, and a broader coverage of computer organisation.

It takes Floyds own Computer Notes much further in elaborating on the various Computer Technologies covered in a lively and illustrative manner. The book is quite mindful and descriptions of the technologies have been thoroughly considered. It does not claim to be a specialist book, so if you are looking for a book on gate level design verification or something on writing High-Level code do not aim to be here.

None of the ideas contained in the text were disagreeable, however I did find one or two of the paragraphs looking a bit dyslexic, especially, and surprisingly, the chapter on assembler programming. I might have expected this from an amateur rather than a professional writer. The illustrations are very animated and help make up for my (occasional) perceived weakness of the writing.

As usual the Publisher has supplied a CD full of software that displays compatibility problems with a serviceable operating system. They then have a disclaimer at the back of the book saying that the software is not supported. I helped myself by finding an internet site that can provide me the latest compatible version of the software. So I do question the need for publishers to include CD-ROMs with their products when their is no mutual interest in maintaining them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 July 2003
This is a best book to get, if you want to become damn good in computer architecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Contains answers but long winded, 17 April 2000
By A Customer
The book is good if you've a few months to go through it. However people don't really and the long winded style fails to appeal to computer enthusiasts efficient minds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardware, 2 April 2011
this book is really good
guys go through this
the subject material are too much simplified and more centralised
highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful product, 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Principles of Computer Hardware (Paperback)
This will help you understand databases and MYSQl. It is a very useful book and I think I will use this as it has very useful information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Principles of Computer Hardware
Principles of Computer Hardware by Alan Clements (Paperback - 9 Feb. 2006)
£47.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews