Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars31
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£39.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 December 2012
Excellent book, describes concepts in a really easy to read format and covers a great depth of the subject. I would definitely recommend this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
This thing is the bible for organic chemistry, it's easily accessible, covers a huge amount of chemistry. Not terribly portable, but better than the last edition! Will always be useful
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
This is probably one of the best books you can have for organic chemistry as an undergraduate. I'm currently in second year and its still proving to be very useful when I find a concept or mechanism hard to grasp. However, some chapters don't go into enough detail and other chapters may go into too much detail (although you can argue that's a good thing). Most books are going to do that because different lecturers at different universities might teach you slightly different things. If your course is accredited by the royal society of chemistry, then I highly recommend this since it has so far covered all I've had to learn!

Highly recommended
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
An excellent revision on the first edition, removing lots of the clutter and reducing the behemoth that once was into a more travel friendly size.

The best organic textbook available for students, offering clear concise information, in a coherent manner. Topics are introduced in a logical manor, providing good enough depth. To get full use out of this book i suggest the companion solutions manual, to go with the questions in the book. A must own for all undergraduate chemists.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
Great book and very well written. Everything is explained very clearly and easy to understand especially for undergraduates. This is the book to get. Although it is a big book and very heavy, i wouldn't recommend reading through absolutely everything as there is not enough time in a day. But to get the general gist of things, the diagrams works perfectly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2016
brilliant book, expalinsmost topics well and is very useful if you study Organic Chemistry!

Before I bought this book I wasn't very confident with substitution and elimination reactions. Now I feel like a master!
This book explained the points really well and in a nice easy way to understand, I highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
I'm rating 5 because the book arrived fast, it was exactly what I ordered and it was quite cheap compared to all the hard cover books which are double this price. I recommend it to all the chemistry students, no matter if they are first/second/third year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2012
As a chemistry student, I've used Organic Chemistry on regularly during the course and this is definitely the best organic textbook available and the updated edition builds on that.

The material is presented in a logical manner and the authors talk the student through it, from familiar principles to more complex ones, rather than simply stating it. Concepts are explained thoroughly but in a way that doesn't drown the reader, and in relating theory to examples in every day life - from pharmaceuticals to food- the reader is engaged and excited.

The layout and presentation of the book have always been major aids in helping the reader to understand; colour and structures are used in abundance throughout the book which further aids understanding as reactions and
mechanisms can be seen at a glance. The colour scheme is partially updated in the second edition which gives a fresh look to the material and makes it even more pleasing to the eye.

A major advantage of the second edition is the inclusion of links to the ChemTube3D website, an invaluable resource when trying to understand many concepts in organic chemistry, and Several 3D structures are also included which make the material presented on the page easier to understand.

Furthermore, several mechanisms have been updated in light of research which has been carried out since the first edition was published- contradicting the below review that the authors have been lazy!

Finally, the more compact size makes this practically more useful than the original.

Overall, an indispensable textbook for any student of organic chemistry, although it would be equally enjoyable for non-students!
22 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
I'd recommend this to any undergraduate of chemistry, there's nothing to complain about and it covers all the major topics you're every likely to meet in your studies into organic chemistry and serves nicely as a reference to boot. It's very well written, concepts are neatly explained and there's none of this grandiose showing off that you sometimes see in text books.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
Really enjoyed using this book for studying. Great if you`re just interested or as a student, as a book for your course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)