Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book
If you were like me and struggling to understand the concepts because nobody had explained the foundations, here is the book to help you through. Its clear, precise and allows one to gradually build up your knowledge as you work through the textbook, every detail is explained. I looked at all other mathematics for economics texts and this in my opinion was the best (2006).
Published on 24 Aug 2007 by M. Makari

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its not all that
This book is very poor when it comes to the more difficult stages of the syllabus. I checked the contents before i bought the book and it had everything in my syllabus however alot of the things that were in the boook were very brief. Furthermore the examples used in the book are all very similar as in there arent many varities of questions that could be asked in an...
Published on 19 Feb 2009 by Badamash


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 24 Aug 2007
By 
M. Makari (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maths for Economics (Paperback)
If you were like me and struggling to understand the concepts because nobody had explained the foundations, here is the book to help you through. Its clear, precise and allows one to gradually build up your knowledge as you work through the textbook, every detail is explained. I looked at all other mathematics for economics texts and this in my opinion was the best (2006).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Does What It Says On The Tin, 28 Jan 2009
This review is from: Maths for Economics (Paperback)
This is far and away the best entry-level mathematical economics book I've seen. Renshaw is a master at patiently explaining math concepts and building up knowledge brick by brick so you never feel left behind. This is an important achievement that many so called entry-level texts fail at. Renshaw's patient exposition might be tendentious for those with better maths skills and they should try something else. There are worked examples throughout the text but nowhere near enough to practice for an exam. Understandably including hundreds of exercises would make the book more expensive and would have produced a tome that could put many off. I can recommend the excellent Schaum series if you're looking for exercises and used in conjunction with Renshaw's book should provide a solid grounding in mathematical techniques for the social sciences. After this book (and another with exercises that you've practiced) you should be ready for the next level of difficulty. Maths for Economics takes you to that point.

A book that does what it says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but a bit too much econ oriented, 4 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Maths for Economics (Paperback)
This is a good book as one would expect from a book published by OUP. But, to me, it's more econ oriented than any of the standard 'maths for economics' textbooks. However, this might be desirable for many of those who look for a good textbook. There're better books out there, though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its not all that, 19 Feb 2009
This review is from: Maths for Economics (Paperback)
This book is very poor when it comes to the more difficult stages of the syllabus. I checked the contents before i bought the book and it had everything in my syllabus however alot of the things that were in the boook were very brief. Furthermore the examples used in the book are all very similar as in there arent many varities of questions that could be asked in an exam... This book is quite poor to be honest especially for a type of book that is very hard to find as there arent many in the market for an economics maths module.

I would not recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mistakes + Poor Explanation = This Book, 6 Jan 2008
By 
H D. Waters "H d W" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maths for Economics (Paperback)
I have not practiced maths since GCSE and now found myself heavily involved in the subject for my economics degree. I used this book as a revision book prior to exams and found it largely disappointed. I cannot fault the explanations; although pages are very packed and contained exorbitant amount of words and not so many diagrams, they were precise and easy to understand. But the praise stops there. For a chapter on linear equations there were 4 practice exercises which was no where near enough. These exercises were also completely alien to the explanations and examples found before them. In that specific chapter i found many mistakes including mistakes in the answers given at the back of the book which can be very annoying. Avoid this book until a revised edition comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maths for Economics
Maths for Economics by Geoff Renshaw (Paperback - 19 May 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews