Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative book
This book is used as a study material at the Open University in Energy for a sustainable future course (T206).

The boook won't tell you how to fit a solar panel or a wind turbine on your roof nor how to connect your panels to the battery but it will tell you about various renewable energy sources and its pros and cons. The book looks at the energy needs on...
Published on 8 Aug. 2007 by Ms. V. Volsanska

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars not as expected
This book ordered as part of xmas gift. Dissapointed as it looks more like a second hand book but was not a second hand price.
Published 17 months ago by lily bee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative book, 8 Aug. 2007
By 
This review is from: Renewable Energy : Power for a Sustainable Future (Paperback)
This book is used as a study material at the Open University in Energy for a sustainable future course (T206).

The boook won't tell you how to fit a solar panel or a wind turbine on your roof nor how to connect your panels to the battery but it will tell you about various renewable energy sources and its pros and cons. The book looks at the energy needs on local, national and international scale, not on individuals scale. Each chapter also has a large list of references for further information.

There is a lot of calculations present so, you'll be able for example to calculate the area of solar panels required for your needs or prove that off shore wind turbines generate more electricity than on shore ones.

I really enjoyed this book and I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in renewable energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good solid book - a valuable guide., 16 Feb. 2010
By 
S. McCallum (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renewable Energy : Power for a Sustainable Future (Paperback)
One of my favourite books on renewable energy. A thorough account of every renewable energy form out there, is uses, its benefits and its draw backs. WEll reserached, well written, if anything a little too technical for me in some places but i am a relative newcomer to the subject. Everything is well illustrated and explained.

A very valuable resource to have on your desk. Besides being a bit technical for me in some cases, it is now a little old (2004 i think) and the renewable enery industry is changing all the time. If a new version came out i would buy it again. Immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but lacks technical explanations., 6 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Renewable Energy : Power for a Sustainable Future (Paperback)
This was the recommended text for my Renewable Energy module.

The book was great at explaining the theory behind many of the topics, and the examples are great.

However, for someone needing a slightly more technical or engineering outlook on some of the issues, further readign will be required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good general overview, well presented, 18 Dec. 2008
By 
Mr. K. E. Varney "kev675" (Reading UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renewable Energy : Power for a Sustainable Future (Paperback)
This is one of the first books I read on this subject. It's very well presented and written (like most open university materials). It has chapters on most of the important renewable energy technologies. It explains the principles and most important topics in an understanable way. It introduces some of the most important equations, but it's not a long list of mathematical derivations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, easy to read, useful, 5 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Renewable Energy : Power for a Sustainable Future (Paperback)
It is a useful book that covers a wide range of renewable matters.The edition is very good, easy to read (even for me that i am not a native speaker), with lots of pictures and diagramms that help you in the comprehension. Also, the informations in the book are accurate and well-structured.
generally, this book gives you a complete overview of the constituent parts of renewable energy in a pleasurable way. The only thing i would like to be improved in the future is to have some practical problems or examples in the end of every chapter (or even as a seperate book from the same writer), but i can realize that the philosophy of that book is to be more academic than a handbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bible of academical student, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renewable Energy : Power for a Sustainable Future (Paperback)
This is a very thick book with lots of material, facts, pictures and explanations. Perfect for the academical student of renewables. All given with background and with great details. International examples provided. I am surprised how old some of these technologies. Perfect for students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Condition, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renewable Energy : Power for a Sustainable Future (Paperback)
Bought the book second hand from Amazon. I have to say i was very surprised at it's condition, It was practically brand new when it arrived and all for under £12! I would highly recommend the book, great for anyone completing a Masters in Energy Sustainability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a fantastic book, 10 May 2010
This review is from: Renewable Energy : Power for a Sustainable Future (Paperback)
It's a fantastic book. It gives detailed information on all types of renewable energies. I am sure, you won't find this kind of information on internet at one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Renewable Energy, 18 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Renewable Energy : Power for a Sustainable Future (Paperback)
Excellent overview of the renewable energy spectrum. Quite comprehensive with straightforward technical content and good explanatory text. Relatively easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 13 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Renewable Energy : Power for a Sustainable Future (Paperback)
Good book for learning about commercial scale renewable electric energy production. Don't expect much domestic or micro generation or heat energy related content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Renewable Energy : Power for a Sustainable Future
Renewable Energy : Power for a Sustainable Future by Godfrey Boyle (Paperback - 11 Mar. 2004)
£33.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews