Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I used the 10th edition for A level and am assuming the 11th is as good or better.

This is an absolutely excellent text book. It is perfect for A level and I'd think for first year degree.

It is very good for understanding the fundamental concepts and is also well written and engaging, with lots of interesting real-world examples, and very prettily...
Published on 15 Jun 2008 by A. Crabtree

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I never give up reading books...
Economics is interesting but I couldn't continue to read this after a couple of chapters. I am now reading economic and political classics such as Thomas Paine's 'Common Sense' and Rousseau's 'Social Contract' and can't put them down. The problem now is that the only thing that's important in academic books is getting the information in people's heads at great expense to...
Published 9 months ago by Adam Stacey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Jun 2008
By 
A. Crabtree (London, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Economics (Paperback)
I used the 10th edition for A level and am assuming the 11th is as good or better.

This is an absolutely excellent text book. It is perfect for A level and I'd think for first year degree.

It is very good for understanding the fundamental concepts and is also well written and engaging, with lots of interesting real-world examples, and very prettily presented so pleasant to work from.

Beardshaw/Brewster/Cormack/Ross "Economics - A Student's Guide" is also good but is better for information and not so good for concept.

Both these books are at the advanced end of things for A level - it's worth having a simpler A level text like Stanlake too.

Anyway - this was my indispensable and favourite A level book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little economics for some light reading?, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Economics (Paperback)
Seriously, who buys an economics book for some light reading? Well me actually. I know, my brain isn't quite wired correctly but there you go. Anyway, I bought this in an attempt to understand what those untrustworthy, money grabbing, economy derailing, second house expense claiming, nonsense speaking politicians are actually talking about. It turns out they've mainly been reading this book. If you wanted to understand what fiscal policy is, why do interest rates matter, how does the micro and macro economy work? Then this book is for you. Not only does it make you look smart at dinner parties (does anyone have dinner parties anymore?) but it helps you understand a little bit of what they're jabbering on about on the news.

All in all, if you've reached that stage in life where you want to learn something new and you're unsure of what to invest your time in, give this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward, easy to read, 27 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Economics (Paperback)
Recommendable to anyone who has a good text comprehension, written in a very very clear and straightforward manner, not much superfluous talking. Excellent summaries and practical applications at the end of every chapter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great: complete and easy to understand, 19 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Economics (Paperback)
I do recommend this book. It is full of examples and details. Very useful if you are pursuing your Bachelor through LSE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lipsey & Chrystal Economics, 18 Feb 2007
By 
JRM (Lancaster UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Economics (Paperback)
This book was an alternative to Sloman for my Econ101 course at Lancaster University. In my opinion it is much clearer and easier to understand than Sloman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I never give up reading books..., 17 Feb 2014
By 
Adam Stacey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Economics (Paperback)
Economics is interesting but I couldn't continue to read this after a couple of chapters. I am now reading economic and political classics such as Thomas Paine's 'Common Sense' and Rousseau's 'Social Contract' and can't put them down. The problem now is that the only thing that's important in academic books is getting the information in people's heads at great expense to good, interesting writing. How do you expect the general population to be interested in the most important things in their lives (Politics, Economics, etc...) with this boring attitude that treats learning as a chore for people who want a degree so they can get a job. I'm sure there's a lot of important factual information on this book but it's mind-numbingly boring to read and contributes to the massive problems of disenfranchisement with our political system which is a threat to our democratic tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars some thing to think about, before you buy.its reasonable value but you may get some thing better. look at other products too., 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Economics (Paperback)
some thing to think about, before you buy.its reasonable value but you may get some thing better. look at other products too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for introductory Econ, 15 Dec 2011
By 
J. C. JONES "Joel CJ" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Economics (Paperback)
This book is a lifesaver - it has been a great tool so far to help decode and understand the concepts and models that are so horrendously protracted out in the University of London external Introduction to Economics guide. This book is, admittedly, only very basic in applying mathematical concepts to Economics (University Economics courses typically require a bit more analysis), but as a companion text it will provide you with clear examples, explanation of theory in precise, easy-to-understand terms and relevant real-life examples to help put the theory in context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for A-Level. Mediocre (at best) for university., 2 Jan 2010
This review is from: Economics (Paperback)
I primarily used this textbook for A-Level and found it alright. It contained more than was necessary for the A-Level syllabus, but what I needed was there and was explained thoroughly to an A-Level standard.

Fast-forward and it's university time. This text is primarily a university text and is advertised as such. The reality? It's unsuitable for university if you're studying Economics. It might be alright if you're doing Management or Engineering but taking one optional economics module, but if you're doing a BA/BSc Economics, then this book is useless.

It's not mathematical in the least. The content isn't concise or clear. It's extremely basic even for an introductory course. There aren't many questions. There aren't any answers to the few questions offered. The diagrams aren't clear or intuitive. This textbook is probably the worst available... it's confusing, lacks intuition, and lacks any mathematical basis. Honestly, who would buy/use this textbook?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
By 
Jason R. Thompson "jason" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Economics (Paperback)
The best book on the subject, recommended by many degree courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Economics
Economics by Alec Chrystal (Paperback - 28 Aug 2003)
Used & New from: £2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews