Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for every EU law student!
This book is the most comprehensive and up-to-date authoritative piece that somebody can find in the market.
The text is very well-structured, following a perfectly logical order, being supported by many authorities, which are commented and explained both on a national and a European dimension. No casebook or supplementary textbook is needed.
The language is...
Published on 17 Dec. 2003 by Michael

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Standard Lawyer Jargon Bible
Instead of addressing any point in a clear and concise manner, these wonderful authors decide to dance and pussyfoot around every single point of law in such an esoteric and overly complex manner that it makes it practically UNREADABLE.

Honestly, this is a prime example of why legal studies are so disgustingly inaccessible. Give me Nigel Foster and let me...
Published 14 months ago by MadJackChurchill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for every EU law student!, 17 Dec. 2003
By 
Michael (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: EU Law, 3rd Ed (Paperback)
This book is the most comprehensive and up-to-date authoritative piece that somebody can find in the market.
The text is very well-structured, following a perfectly logical order, being supported by many authorities, which are commented and explained both on a national and a European dimension. No casebook or supplementary textbook is needed.
The language is very clear - being a foreign student in an English university I had no difficulty in reading and understanding it.
It cannot be compared to any other textbooks in this field! - Simply perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The law student's Bible!!, 3 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This book is absolute quality... providing all the information you could ever need on the topics, excellent case reviews and to top it all, it's easy to read. Perhaps in need of an update to cover the most recent law, this still remains a firm favourite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one-stop shop for EU Law, 10 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
A case book, a collection of leading academic articles, all seemlessly placed among some of the finest commentry available. Craig and De Burca's EU Law makes an undergraduate's EU Law Module liveable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for students., 24 Jan. 2005
This review is from: EU Law, 3rd Ed (Paperback)
I have to let law and business students know how much of a life-saver this book is! It looks daunting because of the size of it, but within, it is clear, coherent, very-well-structured and includes loads of extra reading. It's passed me in EC law, so it'll pass you too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only EU Law book you should buy, 20 Sept. 2005
By 
E. Francis "elle_francis" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: EU Law, 3rd Ed (Paperback)
This book is excellent. It is informative, easily set out and is an incredibly helpful research tool when trying to get a grounding for the subject or when writing a piece of coursework. This is responsible for getting me through my EU Law module. There are many EU Law books on the market however, this book is in a catagory all of it's own. It states the essential cases and goes that little bit further than books of the same genre by drawing upon all sorts of legal sources. Buy it now. You will NOT regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The foundation to a good mark., 14 Jan. 2004
This review is from: EU Law, 3rd Ed (Paperback)
Don't be daunted by the size of this book, it is huge but covers numerous topics and modules.
The book is a great blend of case law, text and Articles from other writers who give great detail to the piece they are writing about. The detail is there to enable a student to get a high mark, if you're looking to just get through a module, then perhaps nutshells would be a better alternative.
Although detailed, it held my attention and made a very hard area of the law degree a good bit clearer.
I used this book as the basis for introduction to european law, competition law, EU commercial Law, EU social Law and then supplemented those with extra readings and didn't do too badly.
No other Law book will prove as useful for the course as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE text- and casebook on EU Law, 22 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
Not only is this book an authoritative and comprehensive coverage of virtually all areas of EU Law, but it is very well-written and comprehensible, too. I worked with this book when I was in England (taking part in an exchange program), and despite not being a native speaker I had no problems at all reading this book. Of course, it is not "easy" to read. It is as easy or difficult as any legal text. If even a native speaker says that it is full of incomprehensible words and impossible to read, maybe law is not the right subject for him or her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Aid, 16 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book as it is the recommended reading at University this year for my EU course. It's essential to anyone thinking of purchasing that it's this edition that you buy as the previous ones don't include the Lisbon Treaty; essential to any post 2009 law course!

The book's helpful, well constructed. Organised fantastically and even well referenced if you're keen enough to do reading on top of this. Each chapter concludes with an evaluation which proves really useful for essay writing which for EU is usually analytical. The book appeals to the learner and is constructed perfectly to help you construct a legal argument.

It's not cased in flowery, eloquent language, it's pretty straight to the point, but a lot of legal terminology is used.

Overall, immense revision aid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars P. Craig and G. de Burca, EU Law, 3 Feb. 2004
This review is from: EU Law, 3rd Ed (Paperback)
The best textbook on the topic. It is well laid out, accesible and comprehensive. Definitely worth buying if you are studying EU law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremly comprehensive although very chunky, 28 Aug. 2009
This review is from: EU Law, 3rd Ed (Paperback)
Okay so it's very chunky, but it has absolutly everything. It is easy to understand but due to its sheer volume you really have got spend some time reading it. I only used this book and Understanding European Union Law by Karen Davis(which is a fantastic book)to get a 2:1 for the exam. If I would have read the 'EU Law' In greater depth I know I would have got a first.

This truly is the encylopedia of EU law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

EU Law: Text, Cases and Materials
EU Law: Text, Cases and Materials by Grainne de Burca (Hardcover - Jun. 2002)
Used & New from: £50.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews