Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helps you think about experimental design in a logical and scientifically sound way
I really liked this book.

It's easy to read, and can be read at leisure (I find it hard to concentrate on some text books). Its quite small, making it attainable to read the whole book, and it will improve the way you approach experimental design.

I'm a PhD student, so have designed a few experiments in the past. This book really pin points what you...
Published on 19 July 2011 by black_cat

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars light introduction
a short and basic introduction to experimental design. it does not talk about cross-sectional/longitudinal studies and other speciifc issues but it gives a good reference list
Published on 17 April 2013 by Gigi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helps you think about experimental design in a logical and scientifically sound way, 19 July 2011
I really liked this book.

It's easy to read, and can be read at leisure (I find it hard to concentrate on some text books). Its quite small, making it attainable to read the whole book, and it will improve the way you approach experimental design.

I'm a PhD student, so have designed a few experiments in the past. This book really pin points what you should be thinking about and why in a clear concise way. Its good at emphasising why you should take time to do certain things, and also what you should do if those things just aren't feasible. It also gives examples to illustrate points.

Is it essential? Probably not. I'm sure most people in science are aware of the key concepts, but this book reminds you of them, which is important.

Is it helpful? Definitely. It helps focus all the things you know about, but don't quite have a full grasp on.

Will it help you design better experiments? I'd say yes, and if, for whatever reason, you can't follow its advice, it will prepare you for the types of criticism you will face.

Who is it best suited for? I'd say people doing a life science degree, master's course or beginning a PhD could benefit from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a useful book, 12 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. J. M. Love (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very useful book, easy to follow, does not cover everything, but that aside, it is simple, easy to follow and my students do like this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying for your course and beyond, 8 July 2012
By 
K. Mackay (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this very informative and well-written .

I read it straight through as I wanted an overview of the subject to prepare for a course but you could dip in and out easily; it's very well laid out, with clear headings, subheadings, examples and boxed definitions in the margins.

If you're at all awed by the topic of experimental design this book will cut it down to size for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great study tool, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived on time & in perfect condition due to considerate packaging. It explains the concepts of experimental design in clear, plain English. I would recommend this for life science students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this book because unlike others it does not focus on the statistics of experimental design,
instead its easy to read and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 July 2011
By 
Mark (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This is an outstanding book on experimental design. You won't get a better written book by clever and user-friendly authors. Fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars light introduction, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Experimental Design for the Life Sciences (Paperback)
a short and basic introduction to experimental design. it does not talk about cross-sectional/longitudinal studies and other speciifc issues but it gives a good reference list
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very clear, 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must for those dealing with data from biological systems. Etc., etc., etc., etc.,etc., etc. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and so forth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not helpful, 14 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as suggested by my prof. It is not useful and I would not recommend it. I have never used this book during my bioscience degree. I wont recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Experimental Design for the Life Sciences
Experimental Design for the Life Sciences by Nick Colegrave (Paperback - 6 Feb. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews