Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great help for ODP Students
I have found this book really useful, in both my written uni work and my placement as a good book to keep in your pocket or bag for reference. I have yet not to use it in an essay it is a good starting point and with further reading suggestions aid greater depth of research.

I would recommend it to all ODP's both qualified and students.
Published on 10 July 2010 by Fudgeasorus

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars useful
Having just started working in this environment I wanted to get my hands on a comprehensive text to support my learning whilst settling into the theatre environment. This book is comprehensive and gives a short explanation to how things are done in most situations or types of surgery. It gives an explanation and a nod to the evidence underpinning various procedures and...
Published on 30 Dec 2011 by moonkatt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great help for ODP Students, 10 July 2010
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice (Oxford Handbooks in Nursing) (Paperback)
I have found this book really useful, in both my written uni work and my placement as a good book to keep in your pocket or bag for reference. I have yet not to use it in an essay it is a good starting point and with further reading suggestions aid greater depth of research.

I would recommend it to all ODP's both qualified and students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars useful, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice (Oxford Handbooks in Nursing) (Paperback)
Having just started working in this environment I wanted to get my hands on a comprehensive text to support my learning whilst settling into the theatre environment. This book is comprehensive and gives a short explanation to how things are done in most situations or types of surgery. It gives an explanation and a nod to the evidence underpinning various procedures and practices which has helped me gain a better understanding of the theory practice link in this environment.The short chapters cover the basics of each topic and have references to further reading for readers to explore in further depth. I'd recommend this to a new starter to the perioperative environment and to students as it's handy whilst first finding your feet, however for experienced staff a more in depth text would probably be needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the student nurse and student doctor, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice (Oxford Handbooks in Nursing) (Paperback)
Obviously, in a book as small as this, it can only scratch across the surface of the subject, but what a lot of information is packed into a pocket-sized book. I would seriously recommend it to both nurses and doctors starting out on the 'rounds'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book for students and qualified ODP's and nurses, 26 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice (Oxford Handbooks in Nursing) (Paperback)
This book is another in the Oxford Handbook series, it will just about fit into a pocket and its full of relevant information about the technical and caring skills required to work in the perioperative environment. It passes the 'Ronseal Test' and I think that it would be useful to both the qualified practitioner and student. Because of the way it is written though it does not support the idea of an 'holistic approach' to care of the perioperative patient. It should be seen as a quick reference guide used in practice supplemented by more holistic approaches. It does though give the most up to date references that were available when it was published. A good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll love this book!, 23 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice (Oxford Handbooks in Nursing) (Paperback)
If you've never had an Oxford handbook then I would thoroughly recommend them. If you already have one then I don't need to, they speak for themselves.They are an excellent series. Great size for carrying with you at work or study these little gems explain every aspect of thier subject.

The oxford handbook of perioperative practice is a must for anyone starting out in the operating department. I use it regularly as a reference for practice and a way of consolidating the knowledge and practice learnt during the day. Great little book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book, 8 Nov 2010
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice (Oxford Handbooks in Nursing) (Paperback)
Really good reference book for ODPs and great size too for taking to my placements. Its well written and covers most core information. For studying you will obviously need further books to get more detailed knowledge, but this one is a good starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very detailed but compact text that can easily be kept to hand in the perioperative environment., 19 Mar 2010
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice (Oxford Handbooks in Nursing) (Paperback)
Like all Oxford Clinical Handbooks, this guide to Perioperative Practice is very detailed and squeezes a great deal of information into its small, wipe-clean dimensions. Useful, I think, to Registered Practitioners rather than to students, who would benefit more from an overview text than from the level of detail presented here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy!, 4 Nov 2009
By 
H. Mace "ODP 2 b" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice (Oxford Handbooks in Nursing) (Paperback)
This is a very informative book with loads of useful helpful information. Great as a quick reference which does not go into too much depth. Great for student ODP's. On the downside - I have spotted a spelling error! This is a great book at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As someone completely new to the Perioperative environment it's fantastic!, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Ms. J. Dunne (Jersey, C.I.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice (Oxford Handbooks in Nursing) (Paperback)
This book is small enough to take with you into Theatre and keep it to one side!! Each page is full of the most helpful and clearly written information - everything you ever wanted to know and need to learn about working in the perioperative environment. As an HCA it suited me perfectly, obviously every chapter does not apply to my role, but overall the book is just the best thing to have to hand. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A+, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice (Oxford Handbooks in Nursing) (Paperback)
Fantastic little book and its small enough to carry round without too much of an issue. Brilliant for ODP students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice (Oxford Handbooks in Nursing)
24.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews