Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A collection of Quotes that are Appropriate and Wish we could deliver
This seventh edition of the 'Oxford Dictionary Of Quotations' is a true collection of the 'who said that?'. Much more,it is readable in itself. The 'quotations' are extracted from poignant and often historically vital verses. Where else would we find Confucious, Plato, Lenin and Lennon, with Maurice Chevalier? The latter's answer to "How does it feel to be seventy two?",...
Published on 18 Feb. 2012 by ACB(swansea)

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but the Chambers Dictionary of Quotations is Better
I compare the two a little further in a review of the Chambers Dictionary of Quotations. The Chambers version has been much more satisfying than the last edition of the Oxford. This new edition still seems short of the coverage of the Chambers, and retains a slightly less browser-friendly format.
Published on 2 Jun. 2011 by Simon Esposito


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A collection of Quotes that are Appropriate and Wish we could deliver, 18 Feb. 2012
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
This seventh edition of the 'Oxford Dictionary Of Quotations' is a true collection of the 'who said that?'. Much more,it is readable in itself. The 'quotations' are extracted from poignant and often historically vital verses. Where else would we find Confucious, Plato, Lenin and Lennon, with Maurice Chevalier? The latter's answer to "How does it feel to be seventy two?", replied "Considering the alternative it's not too bad at all". There are numerous pearls of wisdom in this book. This is not in the least a feast for intellectuals. It is a companion to be a true reference and friend. There are many sections of authors, biblical characters, and more update personel. I do not subscribe to the criticism that the content is not modern. Wise words remain so whenever uttered or written. What is left to be said?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buy This As A Present For A Book-lover. They Won't Be Disappointed, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
I like this book. I use the quotes to introduce Dinner Toasts, Speeches in any Public Forum and when I write letters of criticism. I mean we all know the greats and the best wits (Wilde springs to mind for example), but I also like to use it to refer to quotes I always knew were on the tip of my tongue but in the process I come across more quotes and more and more for example I like the quote about the Court I have just read:

"Say to the court it glows
And shines like rotten wood;
Say to the church, it shows
What's good, and doth no good:
If church and court reply,
For thou must give the lie. "

Walter Ralegh (The Lie; 1608).

This is very very useful if you are in the nature of speaking in public either occasionally or more frequently. You won't be disappointed with its treasury of quotes and if you try using some of the more pertinent to the subject you are speaking or writing about it will grab the attention of the recipient and make them think (hence the utility).

It make a good present in any event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quotations, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
I am really into this type of book and I cannot fault it. Very happy to add this to my small collection.Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
The definitive work, you won't need more than this. Easy to find what you are looking for, which is not the case in other similar dictionaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BOUGHT FOR A FRIEND, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
Which she loved and is constantly praising this version whenever we meet - to the put that I may have to get a copy for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference, 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
Enjoy the pleasure of dipping in for a quote. Whatever the occasion, or just browsing you can find a quote to suit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great novelty present..., 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
Does what it says on the cover. Bought this as a novelty present and is a great coffee table talking point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
Milo Doyle (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
I bought one and was so delighted with it that I bought 3 more for Christmas presents - which were very well received. It is so easy to use and full of wisdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
Mine was constantly being borrowed, so the recipient (and I) were both delighted that they were able to have a copy of their own - particuarly as it is a more recent edition than mine! Maybe I shall become the borrower now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book, 30 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (Hardcover)
This book is a gift for my son, who uses words in his professional working life;he will find it irreplaceable and fascinating.

It is beautifully presented, arrived in perfect condition and on time. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Dictionary of Quotations
Oxford Dictionary of Quotations by Elizabeth Knowles (Hardcover - 10 Sept. 2009)
Used & New from: £9.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews