Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful!
I like all these Oxford science dictionaries. Mine are v dog-eared from constant grabbing from my side when reading through heavy textbooks. They're great because the entries can be extensive without being too long-winded. Well cross-referenced too. Once you look up one thing you'll end up looking up far more!
Published on 20 Jan 2007 by R. E. Beckett

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Dictionary of Zoology
I am a first year student doing a science degree and am not overly impressed with this book. Doesn't appear to be very compehensive. Have had to refer back to the old faithful 'Henderson's Dictionary of Biology' for quite a few zoological words that should be in it but are not.
Published on 4 Mar 2009 by N. Ayling


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful!, 20 Jan 2007
By 
R. E. Beckett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I like all these Oxford science dictionaries. Mine are v dog-eared from constant grabbing from my side when reading through heavy textbooks. They're great because the entries can be extensive without being too long-winded. Well cross-referenced too. Once you look up one thing you'll end up looking up far more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant dictionary....certainly not comrehensive, 7 Dec 2008
By 
H. Beaton (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a wonderful dictionary, and I will sometimes end up reading it like a book! I gave it 4 stars however basically because there do appear to be quite a few words which are completely absent where their presence would have been appreciated. However it is great, it will not be the last zoology dictionary you ever need to buy, but despite that it is worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but lacks some detail, 22 Mar 2012
By 
Pui Yu (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Zoology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
To be honest, I'd rather give this a 3.5/4 score. This is a good book to have for any enthusiast or student studying zoology or animal-related subjects. However, some definitions lack detail, whereas, the more familiar definitions have more. For example, the definition for scutes is, 'an enlarged bony, dermal plate or scale'. although this definition is correct, it would be nice if it had some examples for this, such as the species which have them i.e sea turtles. Another definition I found to be lacking in detail is the term 'trophallaxis', which was defined as, 'food sharing'. Trophallaxis is the food sharing of individuals within the same community via mouth-to-mouth. The absence of the key words 'mouth-to-mouth' and 'community' make the definition very lacking and useless.

Apart from the lack of detail, the book is nicely presented, with some pictures and extras at the back of the book. It is indeed beneficial for students as it explains the main theories and describes a lot of the biological processes within the body. However, I wouldn't rely solely on this dictionary to research the word thoroughly. It will be good for quick referencing as it doesn't go into too much detail and gives a summary of some concepts.

I think this book would have been much better as a reference if the individual animals species were removed and if the taxonomy was separated from the rest of the more general definitions to prevent confusion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Reference Book for Vetinary Medicine, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Zoology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
Bought this for my Grandaughter, who is interested
in Vetinary medicine for her future career.
She was very pleased with the book & finds it very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful!, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Zoology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
I have just finished college and starting university this year and this is a must for all students and students to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Zoology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
Arrived on time and it is in amazing condition.... exactly what I wanted and needed, worth the money as it has everything in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Zoology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
I am taking an animal care course and wish to go on to study zoology when I am older. This book really helps me with my study and is just generally interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Zoology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
Perfect for anyone studying zoology though it would be more useful if it gave the origins of the greek/latin names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must have for animal studies students, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dictionary of Zoology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
My daughter is a college student studying Animal Management. This was recommended to her by one of her lecturers and has made desiphering online journals that much easier. She often quotes it in her assignments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Dictionary of Zoology, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent service, product arrived promptly and was well-packaged. I would use this site again when looking for similar items in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dictionary of Zoology (Oxford Paperback Reference)
A Dictionary of Zoology (Oxford Paperback Reference) by Michael Allaby (Paperback - 22 Jan 2009)
Used & New from: £4.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews