Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nothing new
Slightly disappointed with the 8th edition. Virtually nothing new compared to 7th, irritating colors, a few useless photos, a few extra pages here and there.

The 7th edition is probably the best medical book know to mankind. If you own this already, its IMHO not worth upgrading to 8th Ed.
Published on 25 Mar 2010 by Schiefix

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars poor quality
Pictures very blurred and of poor quality. CT and MRI reports can not be red becouse of poor quality. It also has poor colour s
Published 8 months ago by Emma


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nothing new, 25 Mar 2010
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
Slightly disappointed with the 8th edition. Virtually nothing new compared to 7th, irritating colors, a few useless photos, a few extra pages here and there.

The 7th edition is probably the best medical book know to mankind. If you own this already, its IMHO not worth upgrading to 8th Ed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must-have item, 5 April 2010
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
I had the 5th edition and it used to sit on my shelf in its monochrome state. I got the 8th and I haven't been able to put it down. It seems to have everything I need for finals and beyond. Particularly the examination tips at the beginning. A whole chapter devoted to proper chest/abdo/vascular/neuro systems plus explanations of findings. I am very glad I opted for the 8th edition rather than the 7th as there seem to have been quite a few additions. I don't know how I coped without this for so long. Get it! Even if you have the 7th... get another one for bedtime reading. It's one purchase you won't regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Few mistakes, essential info at the flip of a page, 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
This is the one book you'll see almost every junior doctor and med student using, often on a daily basis. Buy it. Buy the mini version, too. I wore out both copies of mine on the wards during clinical years, and it's good for revising topics just before the exam. This is not meant to be a primary text, but is a necessary component of a doctor's kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
Love this book. Everything I need to know for my placements. Got delivered on time and no complains what's so ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best medical book you will buy as a student, 23 Feb 2014
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
I am a medical student at Imperial College in London and this book is truly an invaluable resource. Pretty much every single sentence is an important fact to learn and I sincerely believe if you know this book's contents you will be absolutely fine in medical school all the way till finals. I personally like to spend some of my free time to quickly read up on upcoming or important subjects and it really helps and makes you look a lot smarter when you spend an extra ten to twenty minutes to read the extremely concise paragraph on the relevant condition.
The examinations chapter is just as good as many of the larger medical textbooks and to be honest there is little extra information found in these books and I highly recommend carefully reading every single word in this section if you are in the OSCE year. There are also interesting anecdotes which are intermittently dispersed throughout the book and make or a pleasant break and these are the sections which I often remember the most as in clinical medicine is the anecdotal experiences of those few patients to whom you really made a difference who make the best learning experience.
So in all a highly recommended purchase. I also think the oxford handbook of clinical specialties is excellent for further rotations eg obs and gyne, paeds and gp but this book is easily the best oxford handbook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford handbook of Clinical Medicine, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
Exactly what it says on the cover. Brilliant! full of lots of vital information and learning in a handbook easily transferable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cant live without it!, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
Bought this for my son who is a third year medical student. Has it with him all the time and frequently refers to it. He tells me he would definately recommend to other medical students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good information, poor cover, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
The Oxford Clinical Handbook is a great text book with the majority of general medicine information you could need for undergraduate medicine. However, the edition sent out is the Asian edition that does not have the semi-hard cover (that helps the book to lie flat without being forcefully held down) and the ribbons that allow you to mark pages that is seen with other editions. Apart from that, great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is gud ya?, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
It's a classic and ubiquitous medical reference piece, handily sized, colorful and informative. Long may it reign and get medical students out of a bind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks) (Paperback)
Excellent review book! Concise and easy to use. Very convenient to carry during rounds. Good easy to follow algorithms for patient management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks)
Used & New from: 9.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews